ASP.net declaring a SQL connection across multiple pages/ascx files

Discussion in 'Programming & Software Development' started by ACodingFettish, Jul 9, 2007.

1. ACodingFettish

ACodingFettish Member

I'm wondering what the other ASP.net guys around here do in terms of defining SQL connections.

In classic ASP I'd make a headers file and have the connections there, and do an include.

It doesnt seem to be so simple now, I've just been declaring the connection in each page separately, which is really a mess. (I'm just starting out asp.net though so just working on getting stuff working at all)

I tried declaring it in my master page, though all my ascx web part files can't use the connections in them that way (or is there a way to get it to work?)
    I tried caching the connections but for some reason caching on my web parts page only works some of the time.
    I could declare them as session variables I guess? But there would be a better way wouldnt there.

interested in tips :thumbup:

2. mordy

mordy Member

thats an easy one, create an object in your App_Code folder which holds ur db object, you can make it static if you want to retrieve it from ur pages without object instansiation.

3. Elyzion

Elyzion Member

My connection string is in my web.config file.

I don't put anything database related in the App_Code folder. Only code relating to that part of the project.

I have a Business layer which is the layer between the website and the database.

4. bugayev

bugayev Whammy!

One method I've seen is to create a class of type Page , and then have each aspx page inherit from it. Page contains common attributes like the database connection (which is static), and from there can be accessed by all the children.

5. Elyzion

Elyzion Member

The problem is if you change the connection string you have to recompile the project. (same goes for mordy's suggestion of App_Code)