1. OCAU Merchandise is available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion in this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

ASROCK BIOS UPDATE

Discussion in 'Newbie Lounge' started by TrevorDeMooy, May 23, 2022.

  1. TrevorDeMooy

    TrevorDeMooy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    232
    Location:
    Mackay QLD 4740
    Hi All,

    I am a complete noob when it comes to BIOS updating.

    I want to buy a RYZEN 5000 series CPU and I have the board below and want to know, can I just update straight to the 3.60 BIOS version for RYZEN 5000 series support or do i need to do each one from my current BIOS version?

    https://www.asrock.com/mb/amd/b450m steel legend/
     
  2. jjjc_93

    jjjc_93 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3,971
    Location:
    Perth
    You just update directly to the BIOS version you want, no need to flash all the others in between.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    TrevorDeMooy

    TrevorDeMooy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    232
    Location:
    Mackay QLD 4740
    Legend, will have a crack tonight... I have always been scared of updating the BIOS so fingers crossed
     
  4. Elmf

    Elmf Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,772
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Correct me if I'm wrong but some need steps don't they? Or was this just older motherboards?
     
  5. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    68,463
    Location:
    brisbane
    pretty rare, even older boards to have to not be able to just go to the latest release.
     
    Elmf likes this.
  6. t8y

    t8y Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    4,732
    Location:
    adelate
    most manufacturers usually state whether X bios is a requisite to install first.
    often those ones are non-reversible - and again, most manufacturers will state this on the download page.

    i note 2.50 and earlier on your board has the latter of those conditions (non-downgradable)
    none state anything about skipping to the latest from base/first release.
    probably ignore that advice about the all-in-one driver unless you've literally never updated chipset driver, though can't hurt to double check that first anyway before doing anything :)
     
    Elmf likes this.
  7. OP
    OP
    TrevorDeMooy

    TrevorDeMooy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    232
    Location:
    Mackay QLD 4740
    Thanks for the help guys, will try get around to this on the weekend.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: