Asrock DeskMini A300 Series

Discussion in 'Portable & Small Form Factor' started by bart5986, May 14, 2019.

  1. bart5986

    bart5986 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Messages:
    3,960
    Location:
    Brisbane
    https://www.asrock.com/nettop/AMD/DeskMini A300 Series/

    I had this arrive from Newegg a week ago and I finally set it up how I want it and thought I would share.

    This is basically a mini case, motherboard, PSU and Wifi/BT module, you add your own CPU, memory and HDD.

    Specs
    CPU: Ryzen 2400G
    Memory: 16gb G.SKILL Ripjaws 3200mhz
    HDD: 1TB QVO Samsung (storage) + 120gb Kingston (OS)
    OS: Windows 10

    Installation took a while due to everything being small and fiddly.

    The AMD Ryzen cooler fits once you take the shroud off, but asrock also give you a smaller cooler.

    The memory was a bit of a waste as I just can't get the system stable at 3200mhz, only 3000mhz, most likely a motherboard limitation.


    I purchased it as a HTPC and found it works perfectly, the main reason I got something with this much power is for having a user friendly setup for Plex + Emulation through an easy console like interface.

    I'm using Launchbox with Dosbox/NES/SNES/N64/Gamecube/Wii/PS1/PS2. Wii U performance is only 50fps/60fps but I'm expecting that to improve once Cemu supports Vulkan.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: May 14, 2019
  2. T1tan

    T1tan Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    5,950
    Location:
    2605 / caaaaanbwa
    That's pretty snazzy. Reckon it's a good Hyper-V server for a low use home lab? How many SSDs can you fit in there?
     
  3. kogi

    kogi Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,682
    Location:
    2031
    want, but can no longer find it on newegg
     
  4. OP
    OP
    bart5986

    bart5986 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Messages:
    3,960
    Location:
    Brisbane
    You can fit two SSD's. It also has two M2 slots.

    Perfect for anything as long as you don't need an external GPU.
     
    Last edited: May 28, 2019
    T1tan likes this.
  5. T1tan

    T1tan Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    5,950
    Location:
    2605 / caaaaanbwa
    I went and bought myself an Deskmini A310 from ebay UK. Fingers crossed it arrives. It's intel based.

    To those interested, newegg does have them, but only to the USA audience. The powerbricks appear to be 110v only (just by reading the specs) which is probably why they're not for sale to AU. The UK one however is 240v, I assume, will confirm if it ever arrives.

    I was looking at my options and the A310, which appears current, was $310 delivered. Getting older parts easily here in canberra is a pain in the arse so I didn't want to settle for an older model.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    bart5986

    bart5986 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Messages:
    3,960
    Location:
    Brisbane
    The connector cable for the A300 is easily swapped with one of those three prong laptop cables. The brick itself is 100-250v so you can use it in Australia.

    I got my A300 from Newegg US using Australia posts shipping service and a coupon, other services will be cheaper though.
     
    Last edited: May 31, 2019
    T1tan likes this.
  7. T1tan

    T1tan Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    5,950
    Location:
    2605 / caaaaanbwa
    Good to know!

    I would have bought your model if I didn't think there was a voltage difference. Bummer, but live and learn. I'll be buying a second one in the next year anyway so maybe that's where I'll source mine. That said, the British shop has already shipped and I'm expecting it within 10 days for free shipping.

    Edit: it arrived on the 6th.
     
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2019
  8. waltermitty

    waltermitty Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2016
    Messages:
    1,039
    Location:
    BRISBANE
    newegg has stock of these now
     
  9. T1tan

    T1tan Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    5,950
    Location:
    2605 / caaaaanbwa
    Just an FYI, I have the deskmini 310 (the Intel version of above) acting as my home VMware server. Really impressed with how easy it was to build.

    Recommend an extended Phillips head driver as there are two screws close to the case wall securing the motherboard. Motherboard removal is required to secure HDDs to the back of the motherboard plate .

    My system:
    - i5 9400, stock fan
    - 32gb ram
    - 1tb qvo, 256mb nvme (will add another 1tb or 2tb qvo if required).
    - VMware esxi
    - 16gb microSD (will become the VMware esxi boot drive when I get a PC that can write to it)
     
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2019
  10. Bold Eagle

    Bold Eagle Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    9,695
    Location:
    Brisbane
    That looks pretty good but what a dust magnet.........why isn't the case mesh fine enough to help filter the dust?!?

    What are temps and fan noise like?

    I have a NUC (NUC5PPYH) for our HTPC and find it is very fit for purpose. The fan was noisy during a summer and I stripped it down, applied a quality TIM and it has been quiet ever since.
     
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2019
  11. WallySimmonds

    WallySimmonds Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    152
    Looking into these (or will go down the Inwin Chopin path). Anyone got stock atm?
     
  12. waltermitty

    waltermitty Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2016
    Messages:
    1,039
    Location:
    BRISBANE
    I ended up buying from eBay UK but holy shit this is the best SFF PC I have ever owned!
     
  13. OP
    OP
    bart5986

    bart5986 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Messages:
    3,960
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Just thought I would let you guys know that this supports the 3400G as well.
     
  14. T1tan

    T1tan Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    5,950
    Location:
    2605 / caaaaanbwa
    So my 310/Intel one powers two monitors quite happily. Not 3.

    I will be going the Chopin route for 3 for my next desktop.
     
  15. Bold Eagle

    Bold Eagle Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    9,695
    Location:
    Brisbane
  16. Ratzz

    Ratzz Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Messages:
    9,056
    Location:
    Cheltenham East 3192
    Wifey has a Wraith Stealth on her ISK 110, also with the shroud removed. It also has no filters, I solved that issue by simple slapping a magnetic 120mm Demci filter directly over the fan. Works a treat, and to clean it simply lifts off since its external.
     
    Bold Eagle likes this.
  17. T1tan

    T1tan Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    5,950
    Location:
    2605 / caaaaanbwa
    Last edited: Jul 24, 2019
  18. Bold Eagle

    Bold Eagle Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    9,695
    Location:
    Brisbane
    That is a simple, cost effective and meaningful solution.
     
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2019
    Akh-Horus likes this.
  19. Bold Eagle

    Bold Eagle Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    9,695
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Just a heads up you do know daisy chaining one of the DP's is specifically the input and the other must be the output for it to work. That is, on the monitor for a standalone usage you can use either DP on the monitor as the input but for daisy chaining it must be something like DP1=input, DP2=output to next device. Assess your monitors manual.
     
  20. richard0296

    richard0296 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    2,545
    Location:
    sydney

Share This Page

Advertisement: