Asrock z77 no inboard display

Discussion in 'Video Cards & Monitors' started by Hooli, Aug 14, 2019.

  1. Hooli

    Hooli Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2019
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Victoria
    Hi guys. Picked up a board cheap to muck around with. So I hooked it up on the bench and I got 5 beeps with no post. After abit of googling I put in a gpu and it worked. OK so I figured bios must be configured to run display from Pci lane and not on board, however I can't find such a setting to enable on board. I've tried i7 2600 i5 3570k.
    I'm guessing on board video is gone?

    Motherboard is asrock z77 pro4-m
     
  2. demiurge3141

    demiurge3141 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Messages:
    2,255
    Location:
    Melbourne 3073
    Got a board with same issue, turns out a couple of pins in the socket were broken.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    Hooli

    Hooli Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2019
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Victoria
    Hmm I checked the socket aswell. Couldn't spot a single damaged 1. Might need a closer look
     
  4. OP
    OP
    Hooli

    Hooli Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2019
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Victoria
    That's weird might be bios
    Under North Bridge
    Primary Graphics adapter.. PCI Express is the only thing listed
     
  5. nope

    nope Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    3,384
    Location:
    nsw meth coast
    had same issues intermittantly with a older one like urs i bought off here turns out thermal paste dried out (7+ years old) and cpu shifted in socket, reseated + new paste = happy try t hat if u already have maybe try another mobo/cpu or a gpu ?
     
  6. OP
    OP
    Hooli

    Hooli Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2019
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Victoria
    All gpus work
    all CPUs work in different board
    Just no integrated graphics.. Oh well I'm using a gpu anyway
     
    nope likes this.
  7. nope

    nope Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    3,384
    Location:
    nsw meth coast
    weird. idk
     
  8. Punch Bunny

    Punch Bunny Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2001
    Messages:
    1,579
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I just realised I have a system with almost the exact same hardware (i5 3570k, Asrock z77 Extreme4-M). Currently got a dGPU installed, and I'm only seeing "PCI Express" as Primary Graphics Adapter. I've certainly ran this system with the iGPU before though - once I get the kids to bed, I'll rip the dGPU out and see what I can see.

    Update: well, I'm bewildered. When I remove the dGPU and stick the HDMI cable into the motherboard connector, I get 5 angry beeps and that's it. I tried resetting the CMOS, and switching to a DVI cable. No love. I've most definitely run this motherboard and CPU using the integrated graphics in the past, so I have no idea what is going on with this thing now :upset:
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2019
    nope and terroristone like this.
  9. nope

    nope Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    3,384
    Location:
    nsw meth coast
    lmao see my display pic intel reee
     
  10. Xepper_Pepper

    Xepper_Pepper New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2019
    Messages:
    139
    Location:
    Qld, Sunshine Coast
    To be sure it's not a bios setting, you could reset BIOS to defaults.
     
    nope likes this.

Share This Page

Advertisement: