ASUS Launches Xonar DX PCI Express x1 7.1 + Driver support for EAX 5.0

Discussion in 'PC Audio' started by DiGiTaL MoNkEY, Feb 29, 2008.

  1. WangNiNjA

    WangNiNjA Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,228
    Location:
    SW Sydney
    Hey guys, can anyone explain what's actually happening when I choose more than 2 channels when using a 2.1 setup?

    Are there actually more channels going through, or is the software emulating the extra channels?
     
  2. BarryThePenguin

    BarryThePenguin Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    432
    Location:
    Sydney
    The extra channels are actual physical channels. You can't 'emulate' extra channels to 2 channel speakers.

    With the Xonar range, Dolby Virtual Speaker emulates surround sound through reflection and reverb. It doesn't add extra channels though.
     
  3. AbRASiON

    AbRASiON Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Messages:
    1,115
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I am buying one of these babies after years of hassling people on the internet for wasting their money buying a soundcard, I should put my money where my mouth is.
    (I have 1000$ worth of amp and speakers and I still say that it's more important to buy good speakers / amp BEFORE a soundcard)

    Anyhow, hope it plays ok in Windows 7 64bit - anyone know?
     
  4. 3Tone

    3Tone (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,335
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I was running one on win7 x64. Early drivers were shit as but newer ones are fine.

    I agree with you tho. SCs are a waste of money IF YOUR GOING DIGITAL to your amp.
     
  5. AbRASiON

    AbRASiON Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Messages:
    1,115
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I'll be doing analog to a Yamaha RX-540 receiver, Dansdata recommended M4 speakers on the amp.
     
  6. 3Tone

    3Tone (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,335
    Location:
    Melbourne
    with analog you will need some sort of digital to analogue conversion so in that case a sound card is definitely worth it.

    Why not try digital to the amp??? I'm running the on-board realtek 889 via optical to an Integra DTR-5.6 and it sounds amazing.
     
  7. AbRASiON

    AbRASiON Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Messages:
    1,115
    Location:
    Melbourne
    What? You won't get 5.1 without a dolby encoder doing onboard.
     
  8. 3Tone

    3Tone (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,335
    Location:
    Melbourne
    No you let your amp do the decoding. You're basically passing the digital signal to the amp and it does the work.
     
  9. AbRASiON

    AbRASiON Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Messages:
    1,115
    Location:
    Melbourne
    No, you're suggesting I pass a digital signal to the amp to do the decoding however I don't want to, I want the card convert digital to analogue, that's the whole point, it's apparently very good quality.
     
  10. 3Tone

    3Tone (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,335
    Location:
    Melbourne
    What I'm saying though is that there is NO difference in sound quality doing what I suggested. In fact using the amps decoder and DACs it will be better quality.

    I have had the Xonar DX, sold it, and am back using the onboard sound card and it sounds the same.

    Save your money. You're just doubling up for nothing.

    EDIT: The DACs on your amp will be better than on DX.
     
  11. Vladdo

    Vladdo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    8,591
    Location:
    Laverton, Melbourne
    Please then suggest a way to enable 5.1 sound over coax/spdif..
     
  12. AbRASiON

    AbRASiON Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Messages:
    1,115
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Different amps from different manufacturers do ALL KINDS of filtering and shaping and crazy cool stuff for 5.1 movies or chamber mode and all this crap which frankly, I don't want. (for games)

    I don't need an EAX reverb filled crazy effects filled digital signal passed to my amp to then fiddle with the signal again and add more effects.
     
  13. 3Tone

    3Tone (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,335
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Vladdo: I assume you're running Windows 7? Then should not have to do anything but set your digital output as default.

    If you're playing movies through media player, use Shark007 Windows 7 codecs and select SPDIF passthrough.
     
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2010
  14. AbRASiON

    AbRASiON Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Messages:
    1,115
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I have onboard Realtek Audio.
    I am the biggest proponent you can find of soundcards being un-necessary, IF you're silly enough to not have decent speakers first.

    You can not output 5.1 in GAME digital audio over coax or optical using 99% of onboard solutions as they do not do live DD encoding.

    If I have a fairly expensive amp / speakers (for a PC) then a soundcard is somewhat of a good idea
     
  15. Vladdo

    Vladdo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    8,591
    Location:
    Laverton, Melbourne
    Since when does any onboard audio ever handle native 5.1 sound through coax/optical?

    The big drawcard for this card is that it encodes all 5.1 sound into DTS/DD 5.1. If you're watching a movie in 5.1, the sound is already compressed into a DTS/DD stream, but for native, uncompressed sound it needs to be encoded into a 5.1 stream otherwise all you will EVER get is 2 channel sound.
     
  16. 3Tone

    3Tone (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,335
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I have no experience with games and 5.1 so you could be right. I only use 2.0 in my games and usually through headphones.
     
  17. AbRASiON

    AbRASiON Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Messages:
    1,115
    Location:
    Melbourne
    That's kind of obvious - no offence intended but I'm a soundcard 'hater' and I know what uses they do have.
    Doing it digitally to a DTS encoder is doubling up on your effects on the audio - perhaps on 2.1 is ok but 5.1 is kind of specialised stuff
     
  18. 3Tone

    3Tone (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,335
    Location:
    Melbourne
    LOL specialised? Are you serious? Why do all the professionals then use stereo only for games? Because 5.1 in games is a load of shit. No offence intended of course.
     
  19. BarryThePenguin

    BarryThePenguin Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    432
    Location:
    Sydney
    This makes no sense. I'm trying to understand all this bickering...

    AbRASiON wanted to know if this card works on Win 7 64-bit. Yes it does, I'm using it right now, analogue stereo.

    3Tone is making the point that "SCs are a waste of money IF YOUR GOING DIGITAL to your amp." I agree with him here, even realtek chips onboard can send a 5.1 DDL signal.

    Vladdo, if you are going to send a 5.1 DDL signal to a receiver, an onboard chip will do the job; such as Realtek's ALC882D ALC888DD and ALC888H, they do DDL encoding.

    AbRASiON isn't using digital though, he is getting the card for its 5.1 analogue out. 3Tone needs to get his facts right before telling people to "Save their money."
     
  20. 3Tone

    3Tone (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,335
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Who's bickering???
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: