ASUS M4A89GTD-PRO REVIEW

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Hardware' started by Uncle-Fester, May 28, 2010.

  1. Uncle-Fester

    Uncle-Fester Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Messages:
    826
    Location:
    Perth W.A
    I recently received the ASUS M4A89GTD-PRO from ASUS Australia, It has been awhile since playing with an AMD setup and i must say it was great fun, reminds me of the old days when AMD were the kings. AMD was also very generous with giving me a AMD 555 cpu and KINGSTON donated a set of Hyper X 2000 c9 duel channel kit of memory. This new ASUS board is packed with extras USB 3 and SATA 6 RAID, Turbo unlocker and the biggest bonus the new feature called CORE UNLOCKER with a simple flick of a switch next to the ram sots you instantly unlock up to 4 core's from your duel core AMD CPU, No need to play with bios to unlock your cores anymore.

    OVERVIEW:

    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]



    KINGSTON DDR 3 HYPER X 2000 C9 DUAL CHANNEL MEMORY:


    [​IMG]



    SPECIFICATIONS:

    CPU

    * AMD Socket AM3 ;Phenom™II /Athlon™II /Sempron™ 100 Series Processors, AMD 140W CPU Support, AMD Cool 'n' Quiet™ Technology, Supports 45nm CPU

    Chipset

    * AMD 890GX/SB850

    Memory

    * 4 x DIMM, Max. 16 GB, DDR3 2000(O.C.)*/1333/1066 Memory
    * Dual Channel memory architecture

    Expansion Slots


    * 2 x PCIe 2.0 x16 support ATI CrossfireX (dual x8 speed)
    * 1 x PCI Express 2.0 x4
    * 2 x PCI Express 2.0 x1
    * 2 x PCI

    VGA

    * Integrated ATI Radeon™ HD 4290 GPU
    * Multi-VGA output support: HDMI, DVI-D and RGB ports
    * Supports HDMI with max. resolution 1920 x 1200 (1080P)
    * Supports DVI with max. resolution 2560x1600 @60Hz
    * Supports RGB with max. resolution 2560x1440 @75Hz
    * Support H.264, VC-1, MPEG-2, DirectX10.1 and OpenGL2.0
    * Support Shader Model 4.1, Universal Video Decoder (UVD) 2.0
    * Max. UMA Memory Size: 512 MB
    * 128MB DDR3 1333 sideport memory support
    * Hybrid CrossFireX support

    Storage

    * SB850 Chipset
    6 xSATA 6.0 Gb/s supports RAID 0,1,5,10
    * JMicron® JMB361 PATA and SATA controller
    1x Ultra DMA 133/100 for up to 2 PATA devices

    1 x External Power eSATA 3.0 GB/s port

    Audio

    * ALC 892 8-Channel High Definition Audio CODEC
    - BD Audio Layer Content Protection
    - Support 192khz/24bit True BD Lossless Sound
    - DTS Surround Sensation UltraPC
    - Supports Jack-Detection, Multi-Streaming, and Front Panel Jack-Retasking
    - Optical S/PDIF Out ports at back I/O
    - ASUS Noise Filter

    LAN

    * Realtek® 8111E Gigabit LAN controller featuring AI NET2

    Rear Panel I/O Ports

    * 1 x DVI
    * 1 x D-Sub
    * 1 x HDMI
    * 1 x S/PDIF Out (Optical)
    * 1 x IEEE 1394a
    * 1 x LAN(RJ45) port
    * 8 -Channel Audio I/O
    * 1 x PS/2 Keyboard (Purple)
    * 1 x Power eSATA
    * 4 x USB 2.0/1.1 ports
    * 2 x USB 3.0 ports

    Internal I/O Connectors

    * 4 x USB connectors support additional 8 USB ports
    * 1 x IDE connector
    * 1 x IEEE 1394a connector
    * 1 x CPU Fan connector
    * 1 x Power Fan connector
    * 6 x SATA 6Gb/s connectors
    * 1 x Chassis Fan connector (4-pin)
    * 1 x Chassis Fan connector (3-pin)
    * 1 x S/PDIF Out Header
    * 1 x Core Unlocker Switch
    * 1 x Turbo Key II Switch
    * 1 x MemOK! Button
    * Front panel audio connector
    * 1 x COM connector
    * 1 x Clear CMOS jumper
    * 1 x 24-pin ATX Power connector
    * 1 x 8-pin ATX 12V Power connector
    * System Panel

    BIOS

    * 16 Mb Flash ROM , SPI, AMI BIOS, PnP, DMI2.0, WfM2.0, SM BIOS 2.5, ACPI 2.0a, Multi-language BIOS, ASUS EZ Flash 2, ASUS CrashFree BIOS 3

    Accessories

    * 1 x Ultra DMA 133/100 cable
    * 2 x Serial ATA 3.0Gb/s cables
    * 2 x Serial ATA 6.0Gb/s cables
    * 1 x Q-Shield
    * 1 x VGA Switch card
    * 2 in 1 Q-connector (USB, System panel; Retail version only)
    * User's manual

    TEST RIG:
    ASUS M4A89GTD-PRO MOTHERBOARD
    KINGSTON HYPER X 2000C9 DDR3 MEMORY
    ASUS GTX 285 MATRIX GPU
    CORSAIR HX1000 PSU
    AMD PHENOM X2 555
    WD 160GB HARD DRIVE


    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]


    OVERCLOCKING:


    The best stable overclock on this AMD Phenom X2 555 was 4013GHZ with 3 cores enabled, unfortunate i couldn't get 4 cores stable with an overclock but i was pretty happy with 4ghz from 3 cores. I was hoping i could get more from the RAM but the best i could get it to run at was 1856mhz with c9 seems to still be some memory clocking issues on AMD.


    BENCHMARKS:


    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]



    ROUND UP:


    I found this board to be great fun and playing with AMD again is a good refresh, overclocking on this board was extremely simple i also tested the auto AI TURBO overclock feature with gave me an instant stable 3.6ghz, I could not fault this board apart from the memory clocking i would have liked to achieved 2000MHZ + from this setup but it just did not seem possible.

    PRO'S:

    PRICE
    SATA 6
    USB 3
    TURBO
    CORE UNLOCKER

    CON'S:

    MEMORY CLOCKING


    BIG THANKS TO MATT FROM ASUS AUSTRALIA FOR THE MOTHERBOARD, KINGSTON FOR THE MEMORY AND AMD FOR THE CPU.

    UNCLE FESTER.
     
  2. MrSmoke

    MrSmoke Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,368
    Location:
    NSW, Blue Mtns NizzleBiX
    lol looks like a gigabyte board with all that blue :p
     
  3. Goughy

    Goughy Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Messages:
    197
    Say it with me... DUAL CORE :D

    Computers cores do not duel :leet:
     
  4. OP
    OP
    Uncle-Fester

    Uncle-Fester Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Messages:
    826
    Location:
    Perth W.A
    HAHAHAHA if only they did . sorry mate for the typo :)
     
  5. genesis

    genesis Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    458
    Location:
    NW, Tasmania
    Nice setup...

    Is the RAM set-up in the right slots? ?

    I could be wrong but should they be in alternate slots ?
     
  6. OP
    OP
    Uncle-Fester

    Uncle-Fester Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Messages:
    826
    Location:
    Perth W.A
    Yes that picture was done just as i was setting up and did put the ram in wrong :)
     

Share This Page