1. OCAU Merchandise is available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion in this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

Asus Maximus Extreme VIII will not detect new Aorus Extreme 1080Ti

Discussion in 'Video Cards & Monitors' started by Shags, Jun 9, 2017.

  1. OP
    OP
    Shags

    Shags Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,797
    Location:
    Melbourne
    They did :)

    It is absolutely bizarre but now that I've confirmed two new cards work perfectly fine - it was definitely an issue isolated to the Gigabyte Card when used with my Motherboard/CPU - it's a shame that this can happen to consumers.
     
  2. Dangerous1

    Dangerous1 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2013
    Messages:
    250
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Thanks for posting your experience, this is good information to know :thumbup:
     
  3. OP
    OP
    Shags

    Shags Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,797
    Location:
    Melbourne
  4. OP
    OP
    Shags

    Shags Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,797
    Location:
    Melbourne
    And another:
    https://www.reddit.com/r/buildapc/comments/6f26ao/gigabyte_1080_ti_not_found_by_asus_motherboard

     
  5. Sledge

    Sledge Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2002
    Messages:
    9,421
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Amazing !!
     
  6. OP
    OP
    Shags

    Shags Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,797
    Location:
    Melbourne
  7. Bastard Child

    Bastard Child RIP

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    3,621
    Location:
    Crooklyn 3012
    Gigashit for a reason (they're shit).
     
  8. Court Jester

    Court Jester Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    3,634
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    who says its a gigabyte issue could be an issue with the asus board :) ive got 3 x asus boards under RMA atm that says thaey are not perfect (and only 1 gigabyte)
     
    Last edited: Jun 29, 2017
  9. OP
    OP
    Shags

    Shags Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,797
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Yeah - I've no idea which part is to blame at this stage
     
  10. Roscosity

    Roscosity Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2015
    Messages:
    198
    Location:
    Sydney
    Yeah and seems the problem is not isolated... so may just be a compatibility issue between these two models
     
  11. OP
    OP
    Shags

    Shags Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,797
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Another two cases
    Today 03:47 PM #18
    Wheezy
    [​IMG]
    New ROGer Array Wheezy PC Specs Join DateSep 2016Reputation10Posts6


    This is so disappointing. I built a system last year with an Asus Maximus VIII Extreme and a Gigabyte WIndforce OC 1080. The combo works great! Had a time limited coupon for NewEgg and decided to purchase the Gigabyte Extreme Waterforce 1080ti as an upgrade.

    The card arrived and wouldn't work. Undetected by the BIOS. I also jumped through all the hoops of driver removal tools, bios updates, bios rollbacks. At each step I also swapped the original Windforce card back in with zero issues. I couldn't figure it out and decided, card is probably DOA (no other systems at the house to test with). Replacement finally showed up two weeks later *side note, newegg can suck it. All excited, took my time, mounted the radiator, dialed in the dual power supply cables. With anticipation high, I fire up the machine "Display Port: No Signal Detected" - instant gut sinking feeling and lots of profanity.

    Went through built in display port connection into bios, no card detected. Lots more profanity and just shut it down and walked away before having a HULK SMASH session.

    So, here are another TWO cases of the Gigabyte Extreme 1080ti NOT working with the ASUS Maximums VIII Extreme. [​IMG]
     
  12. Bastard Child

    Bastard Child RIP

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    3,621
    Location:
    Crooklyn 3012
    Happy two month anniversary without an answer!

    You going to buy gigashit ever again?
     
  13. OP
    OP
    Shags

    Shags Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,797
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I don't expect an answer really from either vendor - it would have been outstanding for at least one of the two to reach out and investigate the issue but I know how the world works, for such an isolated issue between two rare components neither is likely to spend any resources on investigating - it's a race to the bottom.
     
  14. Roscosity

    Roscosity Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2015
    Messages:
    198
    Location:
    Sydney
    Hey Shags,

    Unfortunately, you are in a sense correct
    I did forward the information on to the relevant people, such as our product designers, tech support, and driver developers

    It seems that there were some similar cases across the world in other regions as well... however, I haven't seen any progress from our tech team in terms of looking for a solution...

    I'm stuck in a similar position of not being able to really chase it up, and lacking the technical know how to try and devise a solution myself
     
  15. OP
    OP
    Shags

    Shags Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,797
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Appreciate the honest follow up thank you
     
  16. radz74

    radz74 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Messages:
    547
    I wonder if the new bios would make a difference.

    Improvements include:

    4.Improved VGA cards and storage device compatibility
     
  17. Deano_20802

    Deano_20802 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    Messages:
    443
    Location:
    Tas
    Thanks for the follow up mate!

    I'm keen to see if this helps.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: