ATI CAT 8.4 Released

Discussion in 'Video Cards & Monitors' started by TaroT, Apr 17, 2008.

  1. TaroT

    TaroT Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,708
    Location:
    Hazelbrook nsw 2779
  2. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    142,970
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Probably going to happen more and more for the XP camp...../sigh

    Thanks for the info, just did a fresh install on an ati pc last weekend.
     
  3. terrastrife

    terrastrife Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    18,595
    Location:
    ADL/SA The Monopoly State
    The floppy drive may fail to read or write under Vista on a Dell XPS410 system. Further details can be found in topic number 737-31148

    what an amazingly random known issue :)
     
  4. OP
    OP
    TaroT

    TaroT Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,708
    Location:
    Hazelbrook nsw 2779
    it should have read your dell may fail to work cause they is crap :p

    i have installed and run them on 2 out of my 3 systems and so far so good(as in it has not exploded yet)
    as for performance running 3dtoos 06 on all high quality without AA the scores a re reasonable but nothing jump in the air worthy.

    i,ll try my evil ut3 bench and see how that goes`

    ok aftera couple of quick runs
    all high and no AA 67fps up 3 odd (1680 1050 by the way)
    4x box AA 31 fps up about 2 fps

    so all in all better but again no need to write your mama
     
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2008
  5. everlast247

    everlast247 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    255
    Location:
    Wollongong
    Tried it. Uninstalled it.

    For XP uses with crossfire it doesnt work.

    For everyone else I hope its good.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    TaroT

    TaroT Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,708
    Location:
    Hazelbrook nsw 2779
    really?
    thats 2 3870's ?

    anyone with a 3870x2 try it out.
    my mate has one and his scores are better and it is working so far.

    might have to boot into vista and see how it works in there :)

    oh well at least lost planet and 3dmark got fixed...you know...the 2 most played games in the world :lol:
     
  7. DiGiTaL MoNkEY

    DiGiTaL MoNkEY Inverted Monkey

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    26,896
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria
    One thing to note is that ATi Catalyst 8.4 now supports a RAdeon HD 3850 X2 in the set up files.

    ATI Radeon HD 3850 X2" = ati2mtag_RV630, PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_9513
     
  8. fly8oy

    fly8oy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    tryed it with crossfirex 3870x2 + 3870 and still no improvement 3dmark crashes half way, cod4 crashes on start and when it does start i get the flickering screen when flash bang again. oh well im back on xp with 8.2
     
  9. OP
    OP
    TaroT

    TaroT Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,708
    Location:
    Hazelbrook nsw 2779
    how about with just the 3870x2?
    is it crossfirex causing the issue because as i said my mate has a 3870x2 and no problems so far(apart form the goose getting the sata data cable stuck on the fan so it overheated and forgettign about the other core and overclocking it so it crashed...cops...:p
     
  10. [LoL]

    [LoL] Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    Messages:
    434
    Location:
    Melbourne, 3056
    Seems 8.2 is still the latest driver set I can manage to get working with my 3870's crossfired in XP without getting extreme graphic corruption in games

    Pity, I like the new image aspect options :(
     
  11. XtremeNissan

    XtremeNissan Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Messages:
    221
    Location:
    BALDIVIS 6171
    just finished building my system tonight
    phenom 9850 and a asus 3870x2
    used the 8.4 cats
    vista x64 ultimate
    13,500 3dmarks, one run thru only, straight after installation of sp1, no tweaks or optimisations or changing any settings, all hardware stock clocks speeds.

    dunno if this helps anyone, i never used any of the older cats.
     
  12. hvalac

    hvalac Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,206
    Location:
    Parmelia, W.A, 6167
    i find moving from 8.2 -8.4 i'm getting new graphical glitches with assassins creed in certain spots and i'm also getting around double the performance
     
  13. OP
    OP
    TaroT

    TaroT Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,708
    Location:
    Hazelbrook nsw 2779
    that helps
    my friend has that chip and that card(not asus though) and said that that was what he got BUT he also said with the older 9500 phenom he was getting 14000...so no ifriggen dea what he is up to :)

    so is that double on assasins creed or other games as well.
    (real mixed bag these drivers)

    also for me in vista 64 a definate boost in ut3 with playable frames up a good 10+ in most areas.
     
  14. everlast247

    everlast247 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    255
    Location:
    Wollongong

    I didn't think XP support crossfireX? I thought it was Vista only.:confused:
     
  15. Dezza Bot

    Dezza Bot Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    4,609
    Location:
    Central Coast, NSW
    Should work with Vista. My understanding was anything up to 3 gpus would be fine (sli or xfire), but more than 3 gpus and you'd start running into problems due to how xp handles framebuffers.

    I must try 3870x2+3870 in my rig soonish since a single x2 doesn't feel fast enough for me.

    So is there any real benefit here for xp32 users? Or is 8.2 still the go here?
     
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2008
  16. MichaelMR2

    MichaelMR2 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    Messages:
    1,134
    Location:
    Sydney
    I've yet to see a good XP Vs Vista benchmark writeup (SLI V's SLI) for most of my favorite games, having said that the basic view I've taken is that you'd NEED to go triple/quad SLI to match the normal SLI frames you'd get in XP couse XP Rules :) Especially with SP3 that's due in a few days.
     
  17. Wolfje

    Wolfje Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Messages:
    937
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I hope this release fixes some performance issues with my 3870x2. Will try tonight and see how it performs.
     
  18. hvalac

    hvalac Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,206
    Location:
    Parmelia, W.A, 6167
    yeh it was double with assassins creed and cod 4 seems about the same maybe a few fps better havnt tried any other games. i'm using vista ultimate 32bit w/sp1
     
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2008
  19. OP
    OP
    TaroT

    TaroT Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,708
    Location:
    Hazelbrook nsw 2779
    i,ve used sp3 (oem released) and it bjorked 12 systems to the point of not being able to boot.
    personally i will be waiting a bit thanks.
     
  20. fly8oy

    fly8oy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    oh fogot to say im dual booting xp and vista ultimate 32 bit. k ive disabled crossfirex and 3dmark06 runs fine, about the same score as 8.3 drivers, and can play cod4 but screen still flickers alot.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: