AVG Users: Beware of Latest Update!

Discussion in 'General Software' started by BuuBox, Dec 2, 2010.

  1. BuuBox

    BuuBox Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Messages:
    9,254
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Latest update puts Windows 7 64bit (at least) into a BSOD loop.

    Annoying. :upset:
     
  2. OP
    OP
    BuuBox

    BuuBox Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Messages:
    9,254
    Location:
    Melbourne
  3. Dark_Merlin

    Dark_Merlin Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    134
    Location:
    2280 NSW
    Is this legit? My computer hasn't updated yet, how mainstream is this?:wired:
     
  4. Jon187

    Jon187 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Messages:
    726
    Location:
    Maroubra, NSW
    Hmmmmm - this may get my system.

    Thx

    J
     
  5. _the_duke_

    _the_duke_ (Taking a Break)

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Messages:
    5,179
    Location:
    Hey Dadelaide
    Thankfully I switched over to Microsoft Security Essentials ages ago.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    BuuBox

    BuuBox Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Messages:
    9,254
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Unfortunately I bought AVG Internet Security (although when it was cheap $25 for 3 PCs) so have somewhat invested in it.

    Ended up having to reinstall, rather annoying.
     
  7. Jon187

    Jon187 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Messages:
    726
    Location:
    Maroubra, NSW
    I've taken the steps suggested in the link but have yet to reset.

    I'm scared to....
     
  8. Alby1976

    Alby1976 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2002
    Messages:
    1,494
    Location:
    Mt Isa, again....
    System retore point created.
     
  9. looktall

    looktall Working Class Doughnut

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2001
    Messages:
    24,408
    doesn't seem to be any issues with my 32 bit version of W7.

    the latest update that it received came today about 2pm (WST).
     
  10. Linkin

    Linkin Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    6,326
    Location:
    Sydney
    Didn't another update a few months ago do the same thing with AVG? I remember McAfee had a similar update that broke windows as well...
     
  11. ttv8

    ttv8 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Messages:
    447
    Location:
    BNE
    happened to me today,wish I knew about it before, oh well, went to a system restore point from yesterday sometime
     
  12. OP
    OP
    BuuBox

    BuuBox Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Messages:
    9,254
    Location:
    Melbourne
  13. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    57,122
    Location:
    brisbane
    haha, awesome.

    stupid AVG
     
  14. foxmulder881

    foxmulder881 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Messages:
    5,884
    Location:
    Gold Coast, QLD OS:Linux
    It was limited to 64bit according to /.
     
  15. Falls

    Falls Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    3,287
    Location:
    Gun Cat @ Bikini Atoll
    My 64bit vista install seesm unaffected. Will check tho.

    f.
     
  16. foxmulder881

    foxmulder881 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Messages:
    5,884
    Location:
    Gold Coast, QLD OS:Linux
    The latest update of AVG 2011 is bullshit. I tried to replace my Dad's AVG 9.0 install today with the latest package and it refuses to install on a Windows drive that uses any other letter other than drive letter C:

    WTF! I installed ClamAV instead with no hassle.
     
  17. Smoke87

    Smoke87 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6,196
    Argh, a client with XP just called through. They purchased the 2011 update and bam, BSOD whenever a scan is run.
     
  18. LostBenji

    LostBenji Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    6,077
    Location:
    Up a tower somewhere....
    Microsoft Security Essentials

    It has been out a while and more than proven to be a better option for free AV. More effective and won't cripple a system like AVG. Certainly doesn't leave the mess either.
     
  19. kingjam

    kingjam Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,168
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    I haven't run the update, this gives me the impetus to uninstall it as I've been meaning to do for a while.

    It used to be a good product but its become bloated over the last couple of years. & what the hell is with the annoying popups.

    If I wanted annoying, shit software I would have used Symantec.
     
  20. martymoose

    martymoose Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    211
    Location:
    Coomera,AU
    yup its bloated
    had heaps of cust problems
    i changed to AVAST
     

Share This Page