1. OCAU Merchandise now available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion here.
    Dismiss Notice

B.sci major - Comp sci or math?

Discussion in 'Programming & Software Development' started by Littledragon, Oct 15, 2017.

1. Littledragon

Littledragon Member

Hi everyone,

This question is ideally directed to people who actually hire people in the software industry - or failing that, people who just work in the software industry.

I've been studying an electrical eng major but I've recently decided it's not my thing - and also if I majored in comp science or mathematics I would finish quicker and be in significantly less debt. I've just done a subject in C programming, and I quite 'enjoy' it, or at least find it satisfying and I think i'd be happy to program as a job. Problem is I also like studying mathematics and think I would really quite like to study an applied math major, with the goal of working in 'automation'/data science, or designing the code for such types of programs (more math modelling orientated). I've gone online and looked for such jobs and noticed there isn't too many at the moment, at least in Australia. There are some but I suppose not a huge glut, at least on seek.com.au.

There are however a TON of software engineering jobs, mainly to do with Java, SQL, things like this. Often these adverts will state a 'bachelor's degree in comp science, engineering, IT or related discipline' is required, as well as experience in different things. My question is, if I studied applied math, and picked up 3-4 comp science subjects, would I get hired in these software roles? Or is more really about having strong knowledge skills in coding, that you'd get more from a comp science major/practicing more code. I'd essentially start applying for these roles if I couldn't get into that data science type of role.

For me, 'related discipline' would include math, but i've got to ask hah!

Thanks for any responses!