Bad at Programming - Need to Improve

Discussion in 'Programming & Software Development' started by avexdevil, Apr 22, 2005.

1. avexdevil

avexdevil Member

This thread may seem a little awkward but here's my situation. I've always had an interest in computers, and wouldn't hesitate to try anything new that's related to computers. Even in high school, IT would be my strongest subject and I scored fairly impressive marks for most of my assignments. So it seemed a wise decision for me to choose to do a Computer Science degree when I got into uni. Well this is my first year, and I'm barely scrapping the first semester. I realise that I'm terribly weak in programming, we do haskell and java as core units for the course. The last few tests I did were horrendous, getting a 10/20 for my midsem test and only being able to do 3/6 questions for an inlab programming test. It seems as though my aptitude for 'computers' in general hasn't do me good at all.
    For all you experienced programmers out there, I was wondering whether you could give me any tips as to how I can channel my interest in computers to programming. Any tips to improve would definitely be most welcomed.

Last edited: Apr 22, 2005
  2. xsive

xsive Member

There's no magic formula. The best way to learn how to code is to er.. code :p

3. flightcrank

flightcrank Member

^^ i second that, i leart more on my own than i did at uni. i was in the same siuation as yourself, i advise also to team up with a class mate, hang out own some n00bs in cs:s and then do some coding !

Last edited: Apr 23, 2005
  4. Logistics

Logistics Member

As already said only way to learn is code, code and more code.

Download some java source code of something small/medium size but interests you and investigate the code, see how it works.

Then think how you can improve even if it's just a button click and start writing it all from scratch :)