1. OCAU Merchandise now available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion here.
    Dismiss Notice

Basic PC 5 1600 AMD build

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Hardware' started by Kookooburra, May 11, 2020.

  1. Kookooburra

    Kookooburra Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    4,895
    Location:
    Brisbane
    hi i wanted to build a system around the AMD 5 1600 6 core.

    Which affordable mobo and ram make sense?
    I haven't been following the latest round of HW that much....

    I already have GPU, SSD and CD player.
     
  2. adamsleath

    adamsleath Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    18,424
    Location:
    Sunnybank Q 4109
  3. OP
    OP
    Kookooburra

    Kookooburra Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    4,895
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I think that would do the trick, so it's probably just a question of ram.
    I only want 8gig i can always add more later if necessary.

    I might also get the Thermaltake v200....it has a 500w ps built in...$160.

    So far...
    CPU $165
    Mobo $150
    Case+ps $160
    Ram...????
     
    Last edited: May 11, 2020
  4. philquad

    philquad Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,265
    Location:
    nelson bay
    ive done this same uote over 10x now
    cant seem to beat it, add the ryzen cpu Screenshot_2020-05-12 Cart_Umart com au Australia's No 1 Computer Store .png
     
    Kookooburra and adamsleath like this.
  5. OP
    OP
    Kookooburra

    Kookooburra Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    4,895
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Okay...this will most likely be the final spec.

    CPU...AMD 1600 6 core...approx 200
    GPU...AMD...470
    Mobo...$150 gigabyte 450 ATX
    Ram...8gig 2666....55
    Case...cougar nx3300+500w...$100
    SSD....240gig
    DVD...LG
    W10......165
    WD 3t....130
    ------------------
    Approx $795
    SSD and DVD=80
    GPU=300

    So I guess if someone built something similar with everything it would cost about $1200
    I only want this to last 18mths-2yrs at which point I'd be inclined to go large, games and job permitting..

    Thx to those who helped out....
     
    Last edited: May 13, 2020
    adamsleath likes this.
  6. Kelvin

    Kelvin Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,675
    Other ways of getting windows 10 cheap.... got an old windows 7 key.. usually works. Else some of those grey market keys could save you a few bucks..
    I suggest going cheap on the case (reuse the old one and the power supply as well)
    Go with 16gb of ram.(2x8gb). getting a matching stick later can be a pain in the butt..

    you might want to consider the new 3300x or 3100.. if mainly gaming.. could well be a good 10-20% faster for gaming.. but only four core..Eight threads..

    might be worth looking at the whirlpool forums for more advice as well..


    hmmm.. for your $700 upgrade .. you are getting 6 core Ryzen 2000 cores . half the ram you had before and a nice case!! And a full priced windows 10 pro license..
     
    Kookooburra likes this.
  7. philquad

    philquad Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,265
    Location:
    nelson bay
    so what is the actually difference between say rz5 1600, rz5 2600, rz5 3400 < only has 4 core. & price of course
     
  8. OP
    OP
    Kookooburra

    Kookooburra Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    4,895
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Actually the 3300x seems like a killer chip, but not sure about availability including mobo....and I think its only compatible with the new 550 or 570chipsets.

    My case and ps are 7yrs old, and I have a funny feeling one or more of my sata cables has died.

    I agree the w10 seems high and that's attached to a hw purchase.
     
  9. asho444

    asho444 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1,607
    Location:
    Sunny Coast
    It will work with a bios updated b450.

    You can get a win 10 key off eBay for 5 to 10 dollars. Even if they deactivate it you can do this 16 times until its a problem. This is how I bought my key and it's been working fine for over a year.

    Also that case will most likely have terrible airflow and noise due to the front panel being glass
    https://www.pccasegear.com/products/35380/thermaltake-litepower-gen2-650w-power-supply
    https://www.pccasegear.com/products/50039/cougar-mx330-g-air-mid-tower-case-black
     
    Last edited: May 13, 2020
  10. OP
    OP
    Kookooburra

    Kookooburra Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    4,895
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Last edited: May 13, 2020
  11. OP
    OP
    Kookooburra

    Kookooburra Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    4,895
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Ah ha, the 3300x is $220 on pre order.
     
  12. philquad

    philquad Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,265
    Location:
    nelson bay
    YOUD GUESS THE WD IS 7200

    i dont mind the odd cougar, growl
    used a few psu's not a problem
     
    Last edited: May 13, 2020
    Kookooburra likes this.
  13. demiurge3141

    demiurge3141 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Messages:
    2,017
    Location:
    Melbourne 3073
    Probably better off getting an 1600AF for $170.
     
  14. OP
    OP
    Kookooburra

    Kookooburra Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    4,895
    Location:
    Brisbane
    They're hard to get...
     
  15. adamsleath

    adamsleath Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    18,424
    Location:
    Sunnybank Q 4109
    https://www.mwave.com.au/product/am...ghz-cpu-processor-wraith-spire-cooler-ac34133

    ..are they out of stock at the local umart? :p

    https://www.umart.com.au/AMD-Ryzen-...Hz-CPU-with-Wraith-Stealth-Cooler_55110G.html
    theyre in stock near me.
    depends what youre using it for.

    why not a 3100?
    or 3600 for than matter.
    you gets what you pay for. if its a 1-2 year buy just get a 3100. the cost difference is bugger all over that period. but i do know what its like on a tight budget :D
    ill never look back from a 6 core. next upgrade for me id really like an 8c/16t, but if 6/12 is covering 99% of games and apps for me, and into the short / medium term future im golden.
    7700 is so 3 years ago ...

    moar cores youll get the best of all worlds.

    in two plus years or so ddr5 should be just about ready for pc.
     
    Last edited: May 13, 2020
  16. asho444

    asho444 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1,607
    Location:
    Sunny Coast
  17. philquad

    philquad Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,265
    Location:
    nelson bay
    i know what you mean, all this extra time i been spending on here annoying you guys lately, my cpu if half as thick as it was last year, i need to put some copper shims on the die to bridge the gap
    & facebook, well its killing my ssd, will a nvme ssd handle it better ?
     
  18. adamsleath

    adamsleath Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    18,424
    Location:
    Sunnybank Q 4109
    3000G ftw!
    and that spec you did before. just for the fetish. cheaper than a smart phone.

    id like a simple 3d sketch up program just for a little play designing.
     
  19. OP
    OP
    Kookooburra

    Kookooburra Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    4,895
    Location:
    Brisbane
    https://www.umart.com.au/AMD-Ryzen-...cessor-with-Wraith-Stealth-Cooler_43539G.html

    What about this nub?
    How dare you speak disparagingly about my local umart,lol.

    I use umart,gamedude and computer alliance.

    If it wasn't for the plandemic, I'd have gone for 12 cores on CPU and 450-$550 on the motherboard etc.
     
  20. adamsleath

    adamsleath Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    18,424
    Location:
    Sunnybank Q 4109
    me too. havent been to gamedude though since the last recession
    computeralliance is just down the road from me.

    at least the umart at milton has just about everything in stock most of the time.

    the 2600 is the same as the 1600af isnt it? except the af is on 12nm.
     
    Last edited: May 13, 2020
    Kookooburra likes this.

Share This Page

Advertisement: