1. OCAU Merchandise now available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion here.
    Dismiss Notice

Battlefield 3 OCAU servers

Discussion in 'PC Games' started by mr_s, Aug 30, 2011.

?

Interested in paying $15 for a reserved slot?

  1. Yes

    58.7%
  2. No

    41.3%
  1. MadcatDJ

    MadcatDJ Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    579
    Location:
    Wagga Wagga
    cheers cal, wouldnt bother with going through logs, sounds very painful. I like the idea of changing up the rotation though, just go something random and change it up every couple of days or so

    I dont want to take siene, bazaar out of the rotation as there would be players who like those maps/people who havent played them yet, maybe put them at the back of the rotation for a couple of days
     
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2011
  2. trevor68

    trevor68 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    4,326
    Location:
    Canberra
    what AmB said, crashing happens on FULL 64p servers. Since reducing the slot count for ours it has not crashed once. Also reduced rubber banding alot too. :)
     
  3. Baboy

    Baboy (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,843
    Location:
    NW NSW-Australia
    No need for apologies.

    Im sure everyone here knows there is problems with the server situation as there is with the game.

    You can only do what you can at this early stage.Your effort is appreciated Im sure by us all.

    :thumbup:

    Isnt there someone else here who can help u with the server setup and changing settings ,that knows about this stuff also?
     
  4. CalBoy890

    CalBoy890 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    326
    Location:
    Tasmania
    Great really? So we pay for a 64 but to actually make it playable you have to limit it too 56? Gahhhh. Sounds horrible. Might have to enable that for the mean time once the two other servers come out. Thanks for the information guys.
     
  5. CalBoy890

    CalBoy890 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    326
    Location:
    Tasmania
    Oh it's not that there isn't enough time to do things. It's just waiting on things from DiCE. Setup is pretty much done we are just waiting on 100000 things to be fixed like VIP and good server code :D
     
  6. Mikio

    Mikio Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    428
    Location:
    South Of Heaven
    ur efforts are much appreciated to bro :thumbup:
     
  7. Fai

    Fai Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    834
    Location:
    Melb
    Yeah don't worry mate. A bit of time for dice to sort out a few things and it'll be sweet. Looking forward to it :)
     
  8. clammin18

    clammin18 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    57
    Location:
    Graceville, QLD
    I am trying to get myself a slot on the OCAU Server 1 so i am able to play with a couple of mates as they have already got a slot on server 1.
    Does anyone have a spare slot they would like to sell to me?
     
  9. trevor68

    trevor68 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    4,326
    Location:
    Canberra
    Sure, Cal only needs to holler, we have the same server with GameServers, and others with I3dnet so I'm happy to help.

    The I3dnet guys keep me up to date with whats happening serverwise on MSN, so I regularly post updates on AusBattlefield which Cal can also read.

    I'm also a friend of Phogues, so if you use Procon for administration, were pretty up to date with happenings there too.

    Can also setup streaming to PBBANS if you wish.
     
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2011
  10. brettmo86

    brettmo86 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,967
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Sounds like you guys are on the ball and doing everything you can to sort the issues out :)

    Big thanks again to CalBoy and the rest of the admins for all your hard work :thumbup:
     
  11. CalBoy890

    CalBoy890 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    326
    Location:
    Tasmania
    I'll let you know if there anything that I need help with :thumbup:

    Is streaming to PBBANS fully supported yet? I've read around the place that it causes huge lag spurts etc sometimes? If it is fairly stable I'll definetly hit you up :)
     
  12. CalBoy890

    CalBoy890 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    326
    Location:
    Tasmania
    Thank you guys for understanding and being willing to wait! Was a big team effort glad it's all slowly working out.
     
  13. trevor68

    trevor68 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    4,326
    Location:
    Canberra
    Yup, its fine and never has affected any server in history, the bandwidth it uses is miniscule. People just love to blame PB for all sorts of things really. :lol:

    15 caught already.

    http://www.pbbans.com/mbi-overview-bf3-ov41.html
     
  14. darth_wolf

    darth_wolf Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,663
    just referencing pb bans against battlelog

    whats a multihack?

    *their stats arnt even that good :S*
     
  15. CalBoy890

    CalBoy890 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    326
    Location:
    Tasmania
    I'm talking purely BF3 servers though. I've read on the game server forums that people were complaining about rubberband issues when it was applied. Works fine on your servers then? I release it works though :p

    Sorry for not explaining what I meant clearly enough.
     
  16. clammin18

    clammin18 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    57
    Location:
    Graceville, QLD
    All 3 servers are full :(
    Does anyone know if we are going to get a fourth OCAU server?
    Hopefully we do
     
  17. trevor68

    trevor68 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    4,326
    Location:
    Canberra
    64P servers are both unstable, and rubber band, thats DICE for you, not PB.

    BTW PB cannot be disabled currently, the variable does not exist, musta been misplaced along with the reserved slots one somewheres. :rolleyes:

    http://www.pbbans.com/

    scroll to bottom of page, slideshow of 37 examples, the worst in there are multihacks, or just search youtube for bf3 hacks, they are no doubt posted by now.

    Streaming "lagging" a server is actually UNpossible, but I'm not gonna bother explaining why, or defend it, I'm used to all the misnomers after six years of streaming 100's of servers.

    Sharing a large Master Ban List is actually one of the tools that still keeps PB slightly useful. On its own it default trim, it does surprisingly less than you might think. :p

    Your choice in the end, just saying its an option, and a doddle to setup.

    http://www.pbbans.com/automated-streaming-setup.html
     
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2011
  18. CordlezToaster

    CordlezToaster Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,077
    Location:
    Melbourne
  19. trevor68

    trevor68 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    4,326
    Location:
    Canberra
  20. azza13b

    azza13b Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    79
    Location:
    Hills District (NSW)
    Bookmarked to my toolbar, great site well done :).

    Plenty of Bf3 resources there for any other noobs like myself.
     
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2011

Share This Page

Advertisement: