Battlefield: Bad Company 2

Discussion in 'PC Games' started by Frontl1ne, May 23, 2009.

  1. Bastard Child

    Bastard Child RIP

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    3,624
    Location:
    Crooklyn 3012
    I got it from CD wow for $24 with free post, but if you decide to play Vietnam you'll have to buy it off EA's digital download.

    Steam can't see the DVD install and doesn't allow Vietnam to be purchased.
     
  2. Flavzz

    Flavzz Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    181
    Location:
    Adelaide
    ok, whats the deal with CD wow then? Its a legit copy?
     
  3. Bastard Child

    Bastard Child RIP

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    3,624
    Location:
    Crooklyn 3012
    Everything on and in the box is English, this is the rating sticker http://www.pegi.info/en/index/

    Be sure to check the price of EA's Vietnam vs. buying BC2 + Vietnam from steam
     
  4. aussie-revhead

    aussie-revhead Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    19,927
    Location:
    St Clair 2759
    Guys, Im probably nit picking here but would you choose a single 570 or 480 for BC2 on a 1920x1200 screen? higher vram vs more cuda cores really. I think the reviews I saw put the 570 higher but whether this is due to the higher factory core clock or not isnt certain. My son seems to play happily with his GTx460 albeit on a 1680x1050 screen. What do you think?

    :thumbup:
     
  5. 3Tone

    3Tone (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,335
    Location:
    Melbourne
    If you don't want to go a GTX580, I would go for a 6970/6950 unlocked. BC2 runs better on ATi cards.
     
  6. aussie-revhead

    aussie-revhead Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    19,927
    Location:
    St Clair 2759
    OK cool, I was thinking about those too. I would happily keep the 580 than lose money on it but I need the cash.

    Edit: This says 6970 is a tiny bit behind 480 and 570 at 1920x1200, only two 2fps between the three and I guess the prices are pretty close too (used prices included). Also looking at that linked page I need a 480/570/6970 with my screen to get close to the fps my son has with his 460 at 1680, the 580 would nearly equal him.

    :thumbup:
     
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2011
  7. millsy

    millsy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13,588
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Yeah it's UK stuff in general so a lot cheaper. I got mw2 from there for 60 back when it was new, activated on steam fine, shipping can suck sometimes though
     
  8. 3Tone

    3Tone (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,335
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Could well be. I noticed the improvement on a 27" Dell.
     
  9. shadowman

    shadowman Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2003
    Messages:
    2,757
    Location:
    Perth
    I've purchased from CD WoW before and they have been legit, they include all the normal stuff usually.

    You can buy it off Steam for US$19.99 if your able to use a proxy and a credit card, thats how I purchased it. I used the Chrome extension Switchy! with a free Canadian proxy and an HSBC credit card and it worked fine.

    On another note, what are Vietnam servers like currently? I'm checking through 3FL/Internode/Bigpond game server listings and looks like no one is playing Vietnam. I really wanna play it, but not sure if its worth buying it.
     
  10. Bastard Child

    Bastard Child RIP

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    3,624
    Location:
    Crooklyn 3012
    Peak times are after dinner, but a ping of 250 to a US server is not noticeable :thumbup:
     
  11. shawns_maggot

    shawns_maggot Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    363
    Location:
    Mudgee - 2850
    Anyone else having constant disconnects from server over the last month or so?

    I've updated punkbuster manually and automatically to no avail. About to try reinstalling.
     
  12. OP
    OP
    Frontl1ne

    Frontl1ne Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,886
    It's a shame that players don't try to fill up empty servers. IMO 3FL/Hypernia have the best servers. GameArena is laggy and games.on.net is just 24/7 rubberbanding. Not sure what happened with them, internode used to host the best BF2 servers.

    I've been playing the past week and a half or so and just cannot seem to win many attackers games. Any tips? I have a squad of four friends to work with, all on VC. But man, it's tough pickings trying to win an attacking game. Everyone's just so damn good at camping the objectives :o
     
  13. millsy

    millsy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13,588
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I have found internode to have absurd pings/choke for servers in the last few years, even if you're with them, I just don't bother anymore
     
  14. Brett

    Brett Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    3,945
    Location:
    Perth NOR
    Google-clan atacama/heavy 24/7 ftw.
     
  15. lothloriel

    lothloriel Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    3,235
    Location:
    Sydney
    Agree; me and my mate always try and fill up the emptier servers; we primarily play on clan servers because the trolling by 12 year olds is generally in check.

    For attacking, nothing beats buggy/vehicle charge + everyone as assault with 40mm smoke. I do it all the time with my friend and if we try we always manage to get through; and even if we dont make it then we get the rest of our squad through. 4 of you coordinated with smoke would be perfect. Save your lives and tickets for any MCOM buildings that can be destroyed, and just have 3 of you with rockets and 1 assault supplying ammo.
     
  16. ol-skool

    ol-skool Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    934
    Now with a gtx 580 on 30" monitor at high everything and dx11, i feel like playing this game once again.
     
  17. n2o

    n2o Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Messages:
    3,194
    Location:
    West Sydney
    i play mainly on the 1000 tickets servers, points galore to be had
     
  18. shiny1

    shiny1 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2003
    Messages:
    3,076
    Location:
    Rikku's G-String
    Yeah 1000 tickets are awesome. The first time I got over 100 kills in a single round. Lots of points!
     
  19. bjornzzz

    bjornzzz Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    454
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Are there any 1000tickets + fast respawn servers?
     
  20. n2o

    n2o Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Messages:
    3,194
    Location:
    West Sydney
    yeah and there are only 2 1000 ticket servers that i know of, both have fast spawn
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: