Best ADSL2+ Modem/Router (wired) for TPG?

Discussion in 'Networking, Telephony & Internet' started by darkodin, May 30, 2008.

  1. darkodin

    darkodin Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    62
    Location:
    Blacktown
    I am finding out the hard way that my old Billion BiPac 5102 just won't cut it, second day of adsl2+. Looking to upgrade, hoping to get out of it for around 100 bucks or under. I am using Ethernet cables, so no wireless routers. Anyone have any recommendations please?

    Cheerz
     
  2. Sleepy Dude..

    Sleepy Dude.. Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,669
    Location:
    Parramatta,NSW Status:MIA
    i'd go for the Netgear DG834 (About $70). but thats just me. Expect Multi-Fanboy posts all through this.
     
  3. Doc-of-FC

    Doc-of-FC Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2001
    Messages:
    3,286
    Location:
    Canberra
  4. CAPT-Irrelevant

    CAPT-Irrelevant Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    6,036
    Location:
    Sydney
    Any decent modem/router equipment under $100 is non-existant.

    Up your budget abit more and you'll more than likely get somewhere.

    eg. the cisco 877 is probably one of the most reputable ones today and it costs over $300 (but also depends on where you get it from).
     
  5. kogi

    kogi Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,623
    Location:
    2031
    Where is it failing you?

    The most recommended modems for high connection torrent use.

    Billion 74xx series
    Dynalink RTA1025W (lowest I've seen is $88)
     
  6. Doc-of-FC

    Doc-of-FC Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2001
    Messages:
    3,286
    Location:
    Canberra
    you forgot the king of the hill, the cisco 877 ;)
     
  7. OP
    OP
    darkodin

    darkodin Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    62
    Location:
    Blacktown
    Day one: ripping along at around 720kbs, but got drop outs

    Day two: 180kbs, less drop outs

    TPG told me that I had a "low noise ratio" or something like that, I am not into modem jargon.

    Anyone use TPG ADSL2+, what modem do you use and what speeds do you get?
     
  8. OP
    OP
    darkodin

    darkodin Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    62
    Location:
    Blacktown
    Netcomm NB6Plus4 is what TPG sell themselves and support, anyone know anything about these?
     
  9. random78s

    random78s Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2002
    Messages:
    243
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Personally I would recommend the billion 74xx (that's what I use - TPG ADSL2+)
    I have heard good things about the Dynalink - cheap but not nasty.
     
  10. Andres

    Andres Motor Admin

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    7,947
    Location:
    Sydney
    I've got the same Billion 5102s as you and on ADSL2+ can get 1000kb/s downloads from the right sources. Works find for torrent type usage too.

    I'd be inclined to check that something else isnt' the issue before you start throwing money around.

    No point asking other people what there speeds are as it is highly dependant on the distance from the exchange. Does TPG have different 'profiles' I know with Adam you can swap speed for stability.
     
  11. OP
    OP
    darkodin

    darkodin Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    62
    Location:
    Blacktown
    Gday Andres

    Would you be able to post up some of your settings please?
     
  12. Andres

    Andres Motor Admin

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    7,947
    Location:
    Sydney
    [​IMG]

    Using the 5102s. Have had much higher, but recently moved further away from the exhange. I think the 5102s is up to the task?

    (posted the setting via PM)
     
  13. OP
    OP
    darkodin

    darkodin Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    62
    Location:
    Blacktown
    Cheerz all, You are right Andre, played with settings etc and it was something on my machine slowing it down.

    All good now.

    [​IMG]
     
  14. NismoR31

    NismoR31 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,065
    Location:
    Sydney
    i use a billion 7404VGP-M on tpg adsl2+ and it flies
     
  15. karnage112

    karnage112 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,613
    Location:
    Sydney
    Could you perhaps tell me the settings you use for TPG? (not the private ones obviously)

    I got the 5102 too and it keeps on disconnecting. I am relatively close to the exchange. When i have 1 computer connected to the internet it is rock solid but when there is more, it drops out like no tommorow

    I didnt really configure much, basically just entered in the username and pw.

    But yea, on the verge of getting a new modem but saving a few $ wouldnt hurt. Think the issue is something about the 5102 not being able to handle multiple connections effectively due to the slower CPU or whatever is inside it (read it on WP)
     
  16. Andres

    Andres Motor Admin

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    7,947
    Location:
    Sydney
    Good to hear - hopefully it saved you a few bucks! :thumbup:
     
  17. lavi

    lavi Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,004
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I have one and i'm grinning like an idiot :)

    BUT

    i will not recommend it to anyone that don't know anything about networking, better go buy the ceapest junk you can and put a VTEC sticker on it, because to get the best out of a Cisco you need to understand it
     
  18. ma77

    ma77 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    527
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Yeah they're a good router, just a rebranded Dynalink RTA1025W (Netcomm own Dynalink these days.).
     
  19. Shood

    Shood Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    311
    Location:
    Sydney, Menai
    WHAT ABOUT FOR WIRELESS APPLICATION>
     
  20. Pengoz

    Pengoz Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2003
    Messages:
    4,320
    Location:
    Hell
    Dynalink RTA1025W owner here.

    This modem has been and still is going strong for me for awhile now.

    First was in Melbourne on TPG ADSL2+, I would still get drop outs as my internal wiring of the rental was shithouse. From all the modems I tried, it was able to maintain a connection measured in days and sometimes weeks compared to others which were measured in hours.

    I'm now in QLD on OptusNet ADSL1 sharing the net to my computer (wired) and 2 other laptops (Vista & MacBook) and have not needed to reboot it at all.

    Typical usage is: Bittorrent (heavy), Misc P2P (Limewire; moderate), Web browsing, media streaming.

    Uptime would be longer if I didn't have to power it off due to re-arranging furniture, but here it is: Online Time 20 days 19 hours 57 mins 13 secs
     

Share This Page