Best RAM manager

Discussion in 'Windows Operating Systems' started by zeuss, Aug 15, 2002.

  1. zeuss

    zeuss Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    275
    Location:
    Hawthorn East, Melbourne
    I'm looking for a program that will free up physical (and possibly virtual) memory in winXP. I know theres a few around but I'm interested in some recommendations.
    cheers,
    ZeUSS.
     
  2. Prosper

    Prosper Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Messages:
    612
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    Geez, I've got 512 meg, and I _need_ a pagefile, or three. When idle, the system uses about 80meg of real memory, and the two folding threads alone eat 100MB of pagefile. I'm not putting that in real RAM. Plus, I use a lot of digital imaging and video stuff that makes a half-gig totally inadequate - it's not unusual to see photoshop wanting >200MB RAM. Then get into video...

    The winNT's memory manager is really good, and using a pagefile can really increase performance, because it only pages out unused or rarely used chunks of RAM.
     
  3. CerealKiller

    CerealKiller Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2001
    Messages:
    5,776
    Location:
    Sydney King
    I've got 512MB RAM and don't really need a pagefile but I have one anyway. I've applied a few tweaks and what not and boot into windows with around 60-70Mb (this includes CoolMon, VET A/V, WinAmp) loading upon start up. I have the fully graphical UI (as in after XP install I didn't change any visual themes other than the colour and wallpaper).
    I have a 1.25Gb page file which I can turn off but I have it there, not exactly sure why though.
     
  4. nux

    nux Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    16,780
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Where can you tweak the pagefile size/location in XP?
     
  5. Kaji

    Kaji Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2001
    Messages:
    4,766
    Yea, you don't need to have a pagefile, but if you suddenly run out of RAM to store stuff, it better be there :D
     
  6. PersianImmortal

    PersianImmortal Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    9,059
    Location:
    Canberra
  7. Leopard

    Leopard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,642
    Location:
    Brisbane 4005
    I thought 512MB would be enought for most things, and it is.
    Until I loaded up some Tilted forum pages, and saw my mem usage soar to a max of ~ 850MB :eek:
    With all my apps loaded up now it takes around 200MB of RAM normally, though I did have it down under 55Mb when I first started.

    Lotsa things normal run at startup:
    eg:
    folding
    AV
    vid card proggie
    MBM
    firewall monitor
    eudora
    irc
    logitech cordless
    nvidia apu
    the list is pretty long now ;)

    best solution - buy more ram!
     
  8. Tigger

    Tigger Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    816
    Location:
    1/2 Way from Melb & Bend
    We use ram booster for some box's in our office.
    To combat a ram leak problem in their main program.
    Doe's the tick by killing those dead ram cycles as soon as they appear.

    Tigger
     
  9. Tech Guy

    Tech Guy (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2001
    Messages:
    504
    I use cacheman and have had great success with it, all thought I surpose it depends on what OS you use, ME is terrible at managing its own ram...

    as wee speak cacheman on my machine is FREE RAM: 358.2 Mbytes, Paging file usage: 72.9 Mbytes, thats with about 6 items in the back groung such as my multimedia keyboard driver, cacheman, another task manager, ICQ, MSN, ASUS probe, etc, etc...

    i have 512mb of ram...
     
  10. chaosx123

    chaosx123 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2001
    Messages:
    1,812
    Location:
    Perth
    Don't forget to disable unnecessary XP services. Link here.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: