1. OCAU Merchandise is available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion in this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

Best router for Share House QoS

Discussion in 'Networking, Telephony & Internet' started by NSanity, Feb 24, 2017.

  1. OP
    OP
    NSanity

    NSanity Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    18,648
    Location:
    Brisbane
    What makes you feel like that?

    Also mind posting a sanitised showrun?
     
  2. splbound

    splbound Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2004
    Messages:
    538
    Location:
    London / Sydney
    When I was configuring the thing for fq-codel there was a post on the Ubiquiti forums regarding the limits for the ERL3 on fq-codel to be about 80-90Mbits, due to the processor speed. Not sure if this has been improved as I have not kept up with it.

    Not sure what you mean by showrun? Did you mean my configuration?
     
  3. PabloEscobar

    PabloEscobar Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    14,678
    Can't you just provision a service on one of the unused ports for your own needs? Fuck the House mates?
     
  4. OP
    OP
    NSanity

    NSanity Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    18,648
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I'd heard it was good for 250mbit, but they weren't really specific with regards to QoS method being used.

    ya.
     
  5. splbound

    splbound Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2004
    Messages:
    538
    Location:
    London / Sydney
    I think that is the number more for the Edgerouter Pro I think I read that it could FQ-Codel at around 300Mbps.
     
  6. Smokin Whale

    Smokin Whale Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,188
    Location:
    Pacific Ocean off SC
    Oh hey, someone quoted me :)

    Gargoyle is great, but in my experience TP-Link C7's top out around the 60mbit mark with a handful of QOS rules applied. Yes, the UI looks "dated" but it's so it can fit in tiny flash storage. It's extremely easy to use. It's OpenWRT underneath so you can SSH into it if you want, but you probably don't need to.

    NSanity did you ever try the edgerouter? Curious what you end up with. I do wonder what the real-world speeds would be with it.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    NSanity

    NSanity Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    18,648
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I asked reddit if i should get an 8 or a 3.

    The pro is unnecessary - same cpu, and I don't need SFP's.
     
  8. fredhoon

    fredhoon Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2003
    Messages:
    2,978
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Have you looked at Mikrotik Routerboard?

    The Hex is cheap, should have plenty of CPU grunt and the "Quick-start" part of the web interface is user friendly enough for a gamer once you've finished setting it up.

    I don't know what its max routing throughput is with QoS applied though sorry

    [edit] it doesn't support codel/fq_codle/cake sorry, a bit behind the times
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2017
  9. nicholasporison

    nicholasporison Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    Messages:
    180
    Location:
    Melbourne(Vic), Australia
    check LinITX
     
  10. Joe Public

    Joe Public Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Messages:
    891
    Leave dickhead housemates where they are and spring for another connection and dedicate it to gaming?

    I think you can run 4 NBN connections simultaneously in different ports on the modem.
     
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2017
  11. Copie

    Copie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    14,710
    Location:
    Newcastle
    If its FTTP you can have upto 4 seperate RSP supplied connections from the NTD (as in 4 seperate internet connections and they dont have to be the same RSP)
     
  12. holdennutta

    holdennutta Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    8,144
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I have an ER3-Lite running my 100/40 FTTP NBN and it's been rock solid.

    I'm a barbarian and literally have no idea what I'm doing with the thing let alone setting up QoS but I can speak to its reliability over the last 2ish years.
     
  13. OP
    OP
    NSanity

    NSanity Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    18,648
    Location:
    Brisbane
    So I've bought *everything* for my new home network *except* a router/gateway.

    2x UAP AC Pro's
    2x Unifi 8
    1x Unifi 8 PoE+ 150w

    Still can't really decide between the Edgerouter 8/Pro or the USG Pro.

    USG Pro is lagging behind the ER for vyatta, but the USG pro can run all the unifi gear....

    Definitely need more than the ER-Lite for the fq_codel filtering though...
     
  14. Skitza

    Skitza Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    3,774
    Location:
    In your street
    You might as well go the EdgeRouter but just build your own with Sophos UTM home edition and qos the shit out of them :)
     
  15. chip

    chip Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2001
    Messages:
    3,984
    Location:
    Pooraka Maccas drivethrough
    CoDel isn't a silver bullet for a saturated up link. Set their switchports to 10mbit half duplex in the switch and mtu to a very small number in the router
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: