Beta testers wanted - free stuff given away

Discussion in 'Programming & Software Development' started by Spludge, Jun 14, 2003.

  1. Spludge

    Spludge Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,130
    Location:
    Auburn
    Hi Guys,

    We've been working on a new version of AusPC and want to release it later this month. Current site goes through 1.1Gb / day in traffic, so we had to up the DB server to 3GHz 800FSB P4 w/2Gb of RAM.

    http://203.16.243.240/ is the development site.

    Looking for people to test the site out and report any bugs they find, just like we did late last year. Please try to break it and place heaps of orders - we'll select some of the less-than-$50-ones at random and actually fulfill them for free....

    Use the following cancelled AMEX credit card for test purposes:

    3760 027475 71000 05/05.

    Post any bugs you find here, please.

    Things we know about:
    Search not working yet
    forgotten password link is turned off

    Things to fix:
    date stamp for last updated time
    proforma only printing part of the page
     
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2003
  2. snoopie

    snoopie Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,147
    Location:
    Sydney
    Wow, if you truly select at random you could be up for some seriously big orders.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    Spludge

    Spludge Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,130
    Location:
    Auburn
    We'll, random orders with a weighting of those less than $50 then
     
  4. snoopie

    snoopie Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,147
    Location:
    Sydney
    I guess i'd better clear my cart and start again then :p
     
  5. t_rex

    t_rex Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    4,018
    Location:
    3031 Melb
    When you have to commit the order, theres no commit order link or button :)
     
  6. OP
    OP
    Spludge

    Spludge Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,130
    Location:
    Auburn
    It's under the "where did you hear about us" box in a blue bar. Was it below the fold for you - ie did you have to scroll - if so, what resolution?
     
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2003
  7. t_rex

    t_rex Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    4,018
    Location:
    3031 Melb
    Ah, its loading now, it wasnt loading up before at all :p

    I have to scroll at 1024x 768 res.
     
  8. D_Web

    D_Web Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2001
    Messages:
    1,538
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Sunny Qld
    Is the 'Buy' button meant to increment the number of items on the item page or in you trolley at the checkout?
     
  9. t_rex

    t_rex Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    4,018
    Location:
    3031 Melb
    little bug

    Where you input a comment and where you heard from........
    After you goto the next page, it mixes them up.
    eg.
    Comments: good shop :p
    Where did you hear about us? : A talking dog

    On the next page it displays it as

    Comments: A talking dog
    Where did you hear about us? : good shop :p
     
  10. OP
    OP
    Spludge

    Spludge Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,130
    Location:
    Auburn
    It increments every time you click it in the site - it's not meant to be visible in the checkout - i'll fix that.
     
  11. snoopie

    snoopie Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,147
    Location:
    Sydney
    * AC-LAPKCDM20 and AC-LAPKCDM40 appears 3 times on the accessories page.

    * You can submit blank suggestions?
     
  12. biffidus

    biffidus Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    Messages:
    607
    Location:
    Melbourne, where Hopper and his pigs crossed.
    is there meant to be a button to click so you can login on the main page, or is just by pressing enter?

    (i think a button is better)
     
  13. OP
    OP
    Spludge

    Spludge Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,130
    Location:
    Auburn
    t_rex: got it - it is storing them correctly, but the boxes are titled wrong - fixed.


    D_Web: fixed the buy button now

    "AC-LAPKCDM20 and AC-LAPKCDM40 appears 3 times on the accessories page" - yes, this is intentional - many products are suitable for multiple categories

    "is there meant to be a button ..." - there used to be, pressing enter works though. we took the button away to get some space back.

    "* You can submit blank suggestions?" - pressing the button returns the message but does not actually send any email message to us. email is sent if there is any text there.
     
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2003
  14. snoopie

    snoopie Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,147
    Location:
    Sydney
    TNT Category in dropdown doesn't contain any products.
     
  15. OP
    OP
    Spludge

    Spludge Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,130
    Location:
    Auburn
    Must have deleted all the TNT cards - it's not supposed to show the category if there is no product in it - i'll fix it.
     
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2003
  16. snoopie

    snoopie Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,147
    Location:
    Sydney
    "forgot password" accepts a blank email address.
     
  17. trotkiller

    trotkiller Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2002
    Messages:
    259
    Location:
    KĂžbenhavn, Danmark
    the "Accessories" section doesn't work
     
  18. D_Web

    D_Web Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2001
    Messages:
    1,538
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Sunny Qld
    Scales fine on this 17" at 1152x864, but on my laptop at 1024x768 the suggestions box on the front page makes it scale & not fit in the window. I suppose this is also a function of the number of poll options etc, and it could just be me :)
     
  19. OP
    OP
    Spludge

    Spludge Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,130
    Location:
    Auburn
    Feel free to log in and play around with the Member Area - you can change all aspects of your order there
     
  20. snoopie

    snoopie Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,147
    Location:
    Sydney
    Ummm... somehow one of the links lead me to the live site and it looks like i've placed my mock order there.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: