Bigpond rolling 100Mbit Cable nationwide

Discussion in 'Networking, Telephony & Internet' started by [KEi]SoVeReIgN, Nov 23, 2011.

  1. iinsom

    iinsom Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    5,868
    Location:
    The Riff
    Im hoping i can get 100mbit cable in my area (already have access to 30mbit or w/e it is) and id just need a new router yeah?
     
  2. ppantel

    ppantel Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Messages:
    153
    Location:
    Brisbane, QLD, Australia
    wow that sounds great. so that means i need a new speedtouch coax modem that supports version 3?
     
  3. FiShy

    FiShy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Messages:
    9,682
    triple derp?
     
  4. hystericalme

    hystericalme (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Messages:
    904
    When Telstra removed the need to bundle (trap) in order to get 100mbit, I signed up but a few months later, I downgraded to the 30mbit plan because it was extremely rare to max out the connection even using platforms such as Steam. Sure, you'll get fast transfer rates from Game Arena and 100000x threading on usenet but that's about it.

    They also take your signing up as an opportunity to automatically opt you into their email spam known as Bigpond Offers which you can't unsubscribe from unless you "manage your preferences". There is no 1 click unsub.

    They also dns hijack to capture typos and invalid domain names so they can redirect you to their shitty ass search engine with their suggestions.

    I was lured in by idea of 100mbit but once my 12 month contract is up, I'm outta there.
     
  5. TheWedgie

    TheWedgie Insert Custom Title Here

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2002
    Messages:
    3,085
    I agree. I always wished the mobile carriers would just turn off their towers in the areas that bitch about new mobile towers.

    Don't want a new tower? Enjoy your blackspot, shitheads.
    Although part of that plan would also include publicly naming the people that sign petitions against new infrastructure, so everyone else knows exactly who the NIMBY morons are.
     
  6. brad89

    brad89 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    601
    Location:
    Sydney
    Unfortunately you are mistaken. Bigpond also uses EuroDOCSIS3 - and no, that doesn't make it 400/108

    You will need a compatible modem that will be provided to you by Bigpond. The current models are the Cisco EPC3925 and the Netgear CG3100 but this could (fingers crossed) change in the future.
     
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2011
  7. FiShy

    FiShy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Messages:
    9,682
    change the dns then
     
  8. iinsom

    iinsom Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    5,868
    Location:
    The Riff
    Er, is this only on the 100mbit because i dont get dns highjack or bigpond offers on the 30mbit service??
     
  9. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    11,617
    Location:
    Melbourne
    a landing page for invalid DNS lookups is hardly a hijack. the vast majority of the non-computer geek population would find it a plus, and the nice big "sorry, we could not find <munged domain>" is hardly trying to disguise it.

    as for directing to a search engines with possible suggestions... where would you suggest it direct the request, and what do you think a search engine does?

    your screen name is aptly appropriate.
     
  10. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    157,619
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Certainly is, I'm excited! :leet:

    Great news. I hadn't actually heard of this yet. A lot of conjecture but that has been all to date.
     
  11. Auriga

    Auriga Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    1,195
    Location:
    Warnbro, WA
    Rubbish.

    I've personally seen Telstra HFC in the ground and connected in large parts of these southern suburbs:

    Yangebup, South Lake, Bibra Lake, Como, South Perth, Winthrop, Bateman, Leeming, Bull Creek.

    That's not counting any northern ones either or ones I haven't seen or noticed.

    As far as a know Optus never had an underground HFC option in Perth and our power poles would never support the weight or wind loads, so they never bothered.
     
  12. drizzy

    drizzy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2001
    Messages:
    314
    Location:
    Hobart Tas -> London UK
    What Duideka said about contention. Virginmedia in the UK have been offering 100/10, 50/5, 30/3 and 10/1 here for a while on their DOCSIS3 network and jitter/latency is shithouse. It's just not up to the task - especially on the upstream side of things.
     
  13. MatterHorn

    MatterHorn Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2002
    Messages:
    1,599
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Don't get too excited, I'm on 100mbps cable and rarely get over 5MB/sec through usenet or a download manager using multiple connections. I also live in a suburb with heaps of oldies, so can't imagine them leeching at all :lol:

    And as Duideka said there's just not the bandwidth to back all these connections up :Pirate:
     
  14. K O J A K

    K O J A K Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Location:
    Perth, W.A

    Most of the northern coastal corridor was wired as far as I know, which is a hell of a lot of people. Not to mention the numerous HFC networks they built or aquired in greenfield estates.
     
  15. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    157,619
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    I'm currently able to get around 4.3Meg/s so I'd expect a reasonable boost from that.
     
  16. martino

    martino Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,225
    Like I said, Telstra HFC covers just under 125000 houses in Perth.
     
  17. iinsom

    iinsom Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    5,868
    Location:
    The Riff
    I max my connection out on torrents and EA (Wtf) so im pretty excited :D
     
  18. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    11,617
    Location:
    Melbourne
    bear in mind that it's still contended residential internet that we pay absolutely bugger all for, and even less in the UK. check out this page. http://shop.virginmedia.com/broadband/compare-broadband-packages.html 30Mbps for under $40AUD a month with no bundle, although I note that apparently the definition of "unlimited" is a bit different than Australia's, and I notice they practice traffic shaping, especially P2P.

    you simpy can't expect commercial grade service for those prices, or if you do, you will be disappointed.
     
  19. brad89

    brad89 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    601
    Location:
    Sydney
    What does "Virginmedia in the UK" have to do with Optus/Bigpond in Australia?

    Disable NAT, plug in via ethernet, download a couple files (using your DM) from Aarnet (unmetered) and if that doesn't double your speed, you're doing it wrong.
     
  20. MatterHorn

    MatterHorn Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2002
    Messages:
    1,599
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Aarnet is no problem downloading at 10MB/sec, I'm talking about international speed (usenet amongst others). Seeing as nearly anything worth downloading is located outside of Australia that's the speed I'm concerned with.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: