Bigpond + Windows 7 = email client conundrum

Discussion in 'Networking, Telephony & Internet' started by Un_OC, Nov 1, 2009.

  1. Un_OC

    Un_OC Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,507
    I recently built a comp for my parents. It went ok. Windows 7 installed fine, I got office on it, set up all the other programs fine.
    Just a couple of problems, one was the lack of a movie editor, a feature that had bee taken away and secondly the ack of email.


    The email is why i end up here. I ended up getting windows livemail, as it hit my brain first and it is free, and small, and easy to use.


    Only problem is that my parents use Bigpond for thei email (i.e. notgoingtoposttherealaddressontheinternet@bigpond.net.au).

    I, having used gmail, hotmail etc personally, I'm not too sure on how to work with these emails. I tried adding the settings but it keeps giving me a generic can't do it answer. After searching http://www.google.com/search?q=wind...-au&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8&startIndex=&startPage=1 and getting no answers, I haev turned to the might of the OCAU comunity to solve this conundrum.



    Using either Windows Live mail or outlook (pref the earlier), what settings must one enter to be able to recieve bigpond email on their computer?
     
  2. CAPT-Irrelevant

    CAPT-Irrelevant Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    4,527
    Location:
    Sydney
    Movie Maker and Mail come with the live essentials package which also comes with msn/live messenger. This has been acknowledged for months, you make it seem as if you've only just noticed >_>

    Regardless of whether you're going to use mail or outlook, you'll need bigpond's pop3 and smtp settings.
     
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2009
  3. OP
    OP
    Un_OC

    Un_OC Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,507
    I did just notice. I haven't been following windows 7. I use vista.

    Does anyone know the settings. I thought they were mail.bigpond.com and mail.bigpond.com
     
  4. TheWedgie

    TheWedgie Salty

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2002
    Messages:
    2,756
    Location:
    South Australia
    bigpond.com, Help, Bigpond's email settings

    12 keystrokes, two clicks.
    Biggest mistake people make is missing the @bigpond.net.au or @bigpond.com on the end of the username.

    Also, I fixed your typo in the thread title :)
     
  5. OP
    OP
    Un_OC

    Un_OC Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,507
    aha, thanks so much.


    I have all that done correctly.

    Incoming (POP3) mail server: mail.bigpond.com

    Outgoing (SMTP) mail server: mail.bigpond.com

    Username: Your full BigPond email address (e.g. username@bigpond.net.au or username@bigpond.com)

    Password: Your email password


    Secure Password Authentication (SPA) should be unselected or unticked, if you're asked.



    Maybe because it's a @bigpond.net.au as opposed to the @bigpond.co,m their different? I have tried change com to net.au, but still nothing.


    Thanks, any other suggestions?
     
  6. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    128,651
    Location:
    Canadia
    I can confirm a cable internet connection here, using the @bigpond.net.au address and using the above settings (mail.bigpond.com for incoming and outgoing) absolutely fine.
     
  7. TheWedgie

    TheWedgie Salty

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2002
    Messages:
    2,756
    Location:
    South Australia
    Do you get any kind of error?
    Can you log in to webmail ok?
     
  8. OP
    OP
    Un_OC

    Un_OC Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,507
    Yeah.
    Webmail has ok.

    And it is now working.

    I'm not quite sure how I fixed it though. I ended up changing teh username from username@bigpond.net.au to just username. ANd thentried to sync. When it failed I type username@bigpond.net.au into the username box and it worked.

    For some reason the username field that appeared when I clicked sync needed to be @bigpond.net.au while in account settings it was just username.

    how very odd.

    Thanks for all the advice.



    Next problem. Which may be a bit harder. The reason for the change of computer is that the old is broken, and being a factory comp it doesn't have standard parts and can't be replaced. The HDD is fine. And so i'm wondering weather I can tkae the address book from Outlook Express (and maybe any saved emails) and put them into Windows live mail.

    Outlook express files are obviously sitting their in the old computer. Ill take the HDD out and put it in the new tomorrow to take the data off. Yes, the HDD is a normal HDD. Unlike the motherboard which is broken. And the computer ran XP home if that makes a difference.

    New is obviously windows live mail on 7.

    Thanks, it would really make a difference to my parents. And while I can put a comp together, I have never really used anything other than webmail.
     

Share This Page