BIOS does not detect fans

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting Help' started by mixsetup, Aug 11, 2017.

  1. mixsetup

    mixsetup Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,604
    Location:
    Wynyard Tasmania
    Hi there I have a 990fx extreme9.
    In the BIOS it shows the CPU fan which my water cooling pump is connected to.
    All other fans are not being detected.
    As a result the AXTU software that came with the board does not detect them either
    Other software such as AIDA64 and HWMONITOR don't detect them either.
    Other fans are radiator fans connected to a hub which is connected to the Chassis Fan header.

    Antec Spot Cool 100 to cool VRM is connected to the power fan connector(which is not listed on the AXTU software).

    Any idea why the BIOS does not detect the other fans?
     
  2. ipv6ready

    ipv6ready Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    North Sydney
    have you tried eliminating the hub, and direct mounting the fan to the motherboard
     
  3. terrastrife

    terrastrife Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    18,207
    Location:
    ADL/SA The Monopoly State
    Are teh headers in the hw monitor page set to disable or ignore?
     
  4. OP
    OP
    mixsetup

    mixsetup Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,604
    Location:
    Wynyard Tasmania
    The 3 on the radiator which are connected to the HUB are PWM and show up in software for me to control.

    CPU which my pump is connected to shows up in Bios thats fine.
    Other spot cool connected to power fan is not showing in software or BIOS.

    In the Bios under HW monitor it has the list of fan headers.

    It says CPU for the pump 4500
    the rest it says N/A for all of them.
     
  5. ipv6ready

    ipv6ready Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    North Sydney
    The spot cooler might not be pwn ie 4pin hence not show up in bios
    The bio prob won't not show fans in a fan hub

    Hence asking have you tried the fan connected individually connected to motherboard
     
  6. terrastrife

    terrastrife Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    18,207
    Location:
    ADL/SA The Monopoly State
    can you select n/a and see if that might be the option for it to be disabled? Usually it should say 0RPM, but if it's saying n/a it might be disabled.

    Also some boards don't detect low RPM well, disable fan control on those headers and restart.
     
  7. Bold Eagle

    Bold Eagle Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,733
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I agree with this - try connecting fans direct to the mobo and then review in BIOS.
     
  8. OP
    OP
    mixsetup

    mixsetup Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,604
    Location:
    Wynyard Tasmania
    Hi so in the BIOS I can select auto,full or manual for each fan but not the power fan.

    I changed and tried each option and nothing came up but it did let me control them with software within Windows and thats what I needed.

    Thank you for your help.

    Oh tried plugging fans in to motherboard and one came up so it doesn't like the hub.
     

Share This Page