Boxee Box for pre-order, $199US

Discussion in 'Audio Visual' started by TrennaHowar, Sep 15, 2010.

  1. dukkie

    dukkie Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,750
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Just grab yourself one of these HERE and use the modded firmware.

    Save yourself a fair bit also!.
     
  2. KRiSX

    KRiSX Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Messages:
    7,991
    Location:
    North-west Sydney
    sorry but i had one and hated it... modded firmware or not i refuse to buy another one... lol
     
  3. dukkie

    dukkie Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,750
    Location:
    Melbourne
    each to their own :)
     
  4. Frankeh

    Frankeh (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    396
    Boxee is still in its box and only spent one night playing GT5 FML :(

    I sincerely hate November, December and January; family this, family that. I just want to play with my toys already!

    But on a related note...

    Boxee is released for sale tomorrow!! (1st Dec) with resellers apart from Dick Smith and Harvey Norman.

    I think I need to fake my own death just so I can get some alone time
     
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2010
  5. KRiSX

    KRiSX Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Messages:
    7,991
    Location:
    North-west Sydney
    huh? u can't buy em yet?
     
  6. Frankeh

    Frankeh (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    396
    Only from Dick Smith, Officeworks and Harvey Norman; as of tomorrow they will be for sale elsewhere too.
     
  7. Frankeh

    Frankeh (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    396
    I'm going to make an unboxing and demonstration video tonight for it, check back tomorrow afternoon.
     
  8. KRiSX

    KRiSX Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Messages:
    7,991
    Location:
    North-west Sydney
    if u could confirm 1080p mkv support i'd be very grateful :)
     
  9. OPM881

    OPM881 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,652
    Location:
    Cairns
    I know the software does support it, I have tested this myself. Not sure about the box though, although I would see no reason why it wouldn't.
     
  10. KRiSX

    KRiSX Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Messages:
    7,991
    Location:
    North-west Sydney
    yeah i know the software does... like i just said above i've been using xbmc and boxee for a long time

    its just the hardware i'm concerned about... a 1080p mkv with DTS audio can take a fair amount of power... so hopefully its up to the task
     
  11. Frankeh

    Frankeh (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    396
    Find me a legal* download of that and I'll test it.

    Or at least something that appears legal ;)
     
  12. dukkie

    dukkie Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,750
    Location:
    Melbourne
    The boxee hardware is more than capable of handeling the 1080p mkv content as its using intel's new Atom CE 1400

    check out this review HERE @ Anandtech
     
  13. FatBoyNotSoSlim

    FatBoyNotSoSlim Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2002
    Messages:
    14,088
    Location:
    SE Melbourne
    I know of at least one computer store selling them already, so it doesn't seem like D-Link is taking the retail only approach seriously.


    One of the big review sites (Andard/Ars/Bittech/etc.) have a video source pack to try out a bunch of different codecs and video tests. In fact in the Boxee announcement they were using it to show it off. 1080P MKVs aren't a problem.
     
  14. OPM881

    OPM881 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,652
    Location:
    Cairns
    Im still waiting for local content before I even think of re-installing the boxee software on my htpc, let alone buying a boxee box.
     
  15. kbekus

    kbekus Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2001
    Messages:
    1,234
    Location:
    Pascoe Vale, Melbourne
    so given they're for sale at more vendors now, anyone know of a Melbourne supplier?
     
  16. Frankeh

    Frankeh (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    396
    There is ABC iView and playing with my Boxee box last night most of the content on it worked.

    Connected to my NAS and it took a few hours to identify the 5TB of media, got all the box art, descriptions and organised everything for me. Lovely.

    1080P MKVs work and so do DVD images with menus
     
  17. FatBoyNotSoSlim

    FatBoyNotSoSlim Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2002
    Messages:
    14,088
    Location:
    SE Melbourne
    CitySoftware have them on their shelves in their retail store.
     
  18. SCORPTEC

    SCORPTEC Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,074
    Location:
    Melbourne
  19. OPM881

    OPM881 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,652
    Location:
    Cairns
    Yea but the big players(netflix and hulu) dont work. And the ABC iView app isnt official, so it is prone to breaking and is really a patchwork fix for it to work now.
     
  20. Frankeh

    Frankeh (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    396
    While not official it works.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: