Brocade 5140 (IBM SAN40B) vs Cisco MDS 9148

Discussion in 'Business & Enterprise Computing' started by gdunkley84, Dec 5, 2012.

  1. gdunkley84

    gdunkley84 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2002
    Messages:
    247
    Location:
    Perth, WA, 6164
    Hey guys,

    We are looking to replace existing SAN switches in the beginning of the new year and just want to know if any of you have any comparison between the smallish Brocade/IBM and Cisco offerings. We are looking at the two following models.

    Brocade 5140 (IBM SAN40B) vs Cisco MDS 9148

    Any comments and critisism would be great.

    Garrick
     
  2. obi

    obi Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Messages:
    127
    Brocade.

    I'd love to tell you why... but it's mostly preference. Found the management of the Brocade nicer.
     
  3. username_taken

    username_taken Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    1,352
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    I'll vote for the cisco. The CLI on the Cisco is waayyy better than brocade.
     
  4. OP
    OP
    gdunkley84

    gdunkley84 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2002
    Messages:
    247
    Location:
    Perth, WA, 6164
    We currently have older IBM 2005-B64/Brocade 4900? which I know how to use. Does zoning on the Cisco differ much?
     
  5. Munity

    Munity Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Messages:
    363
    Dont know what you have brand wise, but ive found our dell san/switching solution to be excellent, and cheaperish then other quotes we got too.
     
  6. Jase

    Jase Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    196
    Location:
    Sydney 2081
    The zoning and management of Ciscos is quite different to Brocades.

    There are numerous pros/cons for Cisco vs Brocade, however it mostly ends up equal.

    If you are used to Brocade switches, you should probably stay with Brocades. Unless you want to learn something new...

    edit: also the 5100 series is previous generation ASIC so either get it at a good price or look at the 6150
     
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2012
  7. The_Derro

    The_Derro Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2001
    Messages:
    547
    Location:
    Sydney
    (Disclaimer: Work @ Cisco)

    Have you looked at the Nexus 5500's? Unified Ports so they can run in FC or 10GE mode. Gives you a bit more flexibility than a straight up FC switch.
    No idea on the cost difference.. I'm guessing the 5k would be more expensive, but it might be worth a look.
     
  8. username_taken

    username_taken Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    1,352
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Nexus 5ks are pretty well priced for what they do. We run them in all our datacenters and use FC/FCoE through them in our dev environment. very good kit.
     
  9. OP
    OP
    gdunkley84

    gdunkley84 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2002
    Messages:
    247
    Location:
    Perth, WA, 6164
    Cheers for the replies.

    So with Nexus 5K's Can we use our existing FC cards and cabling and just simply replace and configure, or do we have to go down the line of repalcing cards with 10gb and do FCoE?
     
  10. username_taken

    username_taken Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    1,352
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    You can use your existing FC cards and just configure the ports in the nexus to FC mode ( and insert a FC gbic) and then start to buy FCoE for anything new.
     
  11. Nikoy

    Nikoy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,972
    Location:
    Perth WA
    Bingo thats why we got the Nexus 5k's and we can then utilise stuff liek Fc tape drives that are not FCoE yet.
     
  12. Iceman

    Iceman Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    6,647
    Location:
    Brisbane (nth), Australia
    Yeah if you're going to deploy from scratch, strongly look at TCO of the the nexus stuff. I manage a few MDS 9xxx series of varying age and the maintenance is getting exy.

    There are some swings and roundabouts though, the latency is apparently higher than with pure FC and most storage networks have a far higher reliability than sanfc networks.. Whether that's the hardware or your network admins is up to you to determine but converging them tends to bring risks.

    Not to mention many SAN's..
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: