Broken USB-C plug! Is this fixable?

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting Help' started by Sankari, Oct 19, 2021.

  1. Sankari

    Sankari Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    31,730
    Location:
    Adelaide, SA
    Forgot my Logitech StreamCam was still plugged in when I moved my PC. It broke the plug and unfortunately I can't just use a new cable because it's hardwired.

    [​IMG]

    Is this something that can be fixed if I find the right person, or should I kiss my webcam goodbye? I don't want to lose it, this is the best webcam I've ever owned!

    :upset:
     
  2. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    67,355
    Location:
    brisbane
    borderline based on the value of the cam vs the job.
     
    Sankari likes this.
  3. havabeer

    havabeer Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,878
    turf it
     
  4. Eimi

    Eimi Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    3,721
    Location:
    Melbourne, VIC
    For a $200 camera, I'd look at getting it repaired. Also maybe inquire with Logitech if they have a replacement cable that can be installed. As they may use a non-soldered connector inside the camera, which means you might be able to disassemble the camera yourself and replace the whole cable. I can't find a teardown for the StreamCam anywhere though

    Edit: there might a future guide on iFixit - https://www.ifixit.com/Answers/View/676251/Logitech+Streamcam+webcam+USB-C+plug+repair
     
    Sankari and power like this.
  5. garfield2k

    garfield2k Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    688
    Location:
    Melbourne
    according to that link its easy to open so maybe open the camera up and see how many wires? if 4/5 then can get connectors to replace the damaged end. if 10+ then maybe get a sacrificial cable to splice it in the middle and hope the colours match up - bit dodgey but not many other options. kmart have a cheap usb c 3.1 cable thats cheap enough to sacrifice.

    another option is to solder to this if usb 3 - but the plug end will be bulky
    https://core-electronics.com.au/usb-type-c-plug-breakout-usb-3-0.html
     
    t8y and Sankari like this.
  6. hippyhippy

    hippyhippy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    8,849
    Location:
    Sydney
    Open the cam... I'm sure it's soldered onto the board of the cam... just solder another cable onto it... or maybe its a plug on the board
     
    t8y, spludgey and Sankari like this.
  7. OP
    OP
    Sankari

    Sankari Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    31,730
    Location:
    Adelaide, SA
    Thanks guys, I'll take a shot at opening it up. If the cable plugs into the board, I might be in luck.

    Found this image, definitely a plug, though I'm not familiar with the configuration:

    [​IMG]

    Now I just need a guide that tells me how to open the damn thing.
     
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2021
  8. Eimi

    Eimi Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    3,721
    Location:
    Melbourne, VIC
    The plug appears to be a JST GH connector. ( An example: https://au.rs-online.com/web/p/wire-housings-plugs/1755606/)
     
    t8y likes this.
  9. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    67,355
    Location:
    brisbane
    wow, super basic - I thought that connector was the other end for whatever dumb reason.
     
  10. OP
    OP
    Sankari

    Sankari Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    31,730
    Location:
    Adelaide, SA
  11. Eimi

    Eimi Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    3,721
    Location:
    Melbourne, VIC
    No worries. I recognised it from my hexarotor's flight controller. It has the same connectors. You just need to know how many pins the original connector is and can either make up a cable yourself or get someone else to make one. Hopefully Logitech has spares though, from what I've seen looking for a teardown, it seems to be a common issue with the StreamCam.

    Logitech should of just made the cable USB-C to USB-C in the first place. Throwing away a working camera simply because the cable is damaged is a waste
     
  12. OP
    OP
    Sankari

    Sankari Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    31,730
    Location:
    Adelaide, SA
    Yeah this is a common problem because they made the cable too short and hardwired it. A real dick move, considering it's such an expensive webcam.

    I was fortunate enough to pick mine for $150 (second hand, 3 months old) before the pandemic sent prices through the roof, but that's still $150 I don't want to throw down the drain if I can avoid it.
     
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2021
  13. OP
    OP
    Sankari

    Sankari Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    31,730
    Location:
    Adelaide, SA
    I've found a teardown photo, so I now know that I have to try and crack it from the front.

    [​IMG]

    Unfortunately no matter how carefully I manoeuvre a pry tool inside the edge of the housing, I can't persuade it to part from whatever's holding it inside. It will flex outwards but always snaps back in place as soon as I move to another edge.

    Suggestions?
     
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2021
  14. OP
    OP
    Sankari

    Sankari Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    31,730
    Location:
    Adelaide, SA
    I've got the front open nearly all the way, but there's something still holding it on at one corner.
     
  15. Eimi

    Eimi Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    3,721
    Location:
    Melbourne, VIC
    You might need two tools to carefully pry it up away from the clips
     
  16. Eimi

    Eimi Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    3,721
    Location:
    Melbourne, VIC
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2021
  17. qwertylesh

    qwertylesh Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Messages:
    8,995
    if you do replace it, maybe get a m-f usb-c cable too, so that you have more length next time and more likely to damage the extension cable (easier to replace) than the hardwired one.
     
    Sankari likes this.
  18. OP
    OP
    Sankari

    Sankari Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    31,730
    Location:
    Adelaide, SA
  19. Eimi

    Eimi Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    3,721
    Location:
    Melbourne, VIC
    From what I read in that teardown, there is a screw inside the camera that can only be accessed by going through the cable port. Although it was translated by Google so may be a little bit unclear, but if you look at the photo above you can see a screw inside
     
    Sankari likes this.
  20. OP
    OP
    Sankari

    Sankari Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    31,730
    Location:
    Adelaide, SA
    Thanks, I will get a torch and look more closely.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: