BSOD on brand new system

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting Help' started by Tazor, May 2, 2012.

  1. Tazor

    Tazor Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,528
    Location:
    Canterbury, 3126
    I've just put together a new build and the system kept blue screening as the windows logo was appearing. I tried defaulting bios, and so fourth but there wasn't a whole lot I could do considering there is nothing installed on the system. I ran a safe mode install and the system crashed on the "disk" file. Does this mean there is an issue with the copy of windows I am using? Any help would be much appreciated, I'll see if I can copy down the code that comes up.

    Cheers

    Tazor
     
  2. garetz

    garetz Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    896
    Location:
    2217
    I've never heard of an install causing problems unless you are doing a upgrade from a previous OS. More than likely its hardware related. Unless of course the install you are using is not an official disk, or an iso.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    Tazor

    Tazor Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,528
    Location:
    Canterbury, 3126
    It's an OEM copy I've had for quite a while now, never had any issues with them before. What components could be faulty? What would cause BSOD? RAM?
     
  4. Creekin

    Creekin (Taking a Break)

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    10,109
    is this the same rig we are talkin about the pump? :Paranoid:
    could be heat related if ur loops dead
    or uve killed it installing a block

    but sounds like ram to me
    are u attempting a fresh windows install from a known good cd to a known good hdd?
     
  5. OP
    OP
    Tazor

    Tazor Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,528
    Location:
    Canterbury, 3126
    Different system, brand new. I've used both OEM disks about 3 times, never had an issue. I have no way of telling whether the HDD is any good, I can't really tell... The loop in my other system is working great, just has a noisy pump.
     
  6. Creekin

    Creekin (Taking a Break)

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    10,109
    download seagate seatools to test the hdds..
    u can get a bootable version on a compilation disc like UBCD
    or the win version to test it on another pc..

    have u tried with 1 stick of ram at a time or diff ram?
    also try diff psu
    first 2 things to do everytime it gets weird
     
  7. OP
    OP
    Tazor

    Tazor Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,528
    Location:
    Canterbury, 3126
    I'm going to do one stick at a time and swap them out with my main rig's ram. will also do PSU, hopefully one of these will work, cheers Creekin.
     
  8. O-B-E-L-I-X

    O-B-E-L-I-X Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    896
    Location:
    SYD, Matraville
    Bent pins in the CPU socket...faulty PSU?
     
  9. joshpond

    joshpond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    592
    Location:
    Townsville
    What are the items?

    Try changing the mem or running memtest as well first.

    Josh
     
  10. plasticbastard

    plasticbastard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,005
    Location:
    Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha
    Use basic troubleshooting steps, strip out everything but the bare essentials and add them back in one at a time to see which is causing the BSOD. I'd start with just one stick of RAM and test each RAM stick individually, then add them in together one at a time.
     

Share This Page