[WORKLOG] Build From 2011. Updated : Nov 2015

Discussion in 'Extreme and Water Cooling' started by kot0005, Nov 24, 2011.

  1. phat larry

    phat larry Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    Location:
    Hinchinbrook,2168
    Like to see how those EX rad's perform :thumbup:
     
  2. eukaryote:)

    eukaryote:) Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,418
    Location:
    Melbourne
    They perform pretty good
     
  3. OP
    OP
    kot0005

    kot0005 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    682
    Location:
    melbourne
    Silver coil, 95%silver, 5% copper bought it from a metal shop in melbourne CBD for $6, half a meter.
    [​IMG]

    Loop assembly:

    After a lot of struggle and getting a minor scratches on the rad (just the paint) I Figured that it wont fit on the top side of the case and the screws provided are not long enough, so I had to use 8 3.0-3.5mm screws to mount the fans to rad first and then use normal Fan mounting screws for the fans + rad.
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Bleeding and leak testing:
    [​IMG]

    Got a Dual Bitspower 30cm cold cathode Uv Tubes to go with the other UV stuff.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Cpu block assembly:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  4. Dr Evil

    Dr Evil Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,855
    Location:
    Perth
    GPU to Res tubing... :Paranoid::Paranoid::Paranoid:
     
  5. Dr Evil

    Dr Evil Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,855
    Location:
    Perth
    Hahaha:lol::lol:
     
  6. OP
    OP
    kot0005

    kot0005 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    682
    Location:
    melbourne
    more assembly trials:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Finished and running
    From [​IMG]

    TO Finished product.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    With UV lights on
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Lights off Shots:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    The tubes kink a bit but i guess the 1/2 ID makes up for it? not sure Comment on the loop setup as well plx, its my 1st time.

    Lo0p sequence is :
    Res -> Pump->Bottom 54mm x 240mm Rad with Pull Fans->Gpu Block->Back 120mm x 35mm Rad with Push pull->Cpu block In-> Top 35.5mm x 240mm Rad with Push Fans-> Into Res.
     
  7. YoSiMeTe_SaM

    YoSiMeTe_SaM Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,038
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    I'm a tad lost for words.... + 1 on the effort :thumbup: For a first time effort, not to bad, does look like spaghetti though...
     
  8. phat larry

    phat larry Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    Location:
    Hinchinbrook,2168
    nice job :thumbup:

    now post those temps up!!! :p
     
  9. OP
    OP
    kot0005

    kot0005 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    682
    Location:
    melbourne
    Temperatures (AMBIENT TEMP IS 21C) and
    Fan setup: (refer previous post)

    The back Rad Pull fan is always at 100%(1500 rpm) and Push fan is always at 400Rpm when the temp is below 35c and 1400Rpm at 45c.

    I hooked all my bottom and top rad fans to the Chassis fan controll system.It has 1-6 speed settings.
    Setting 1 (lowest fan speed) with my Storm trooper case fan controll buttons:
    Bottom Rad has 2 Pull + 1 Push fans and top has 2 Push Fans.

    ALL my Rads are 20FPI (around 25-28 Decibels at Full speed /Setting 6 not dead silent but its really quite and the sound is barely audible) its not even close to a Table fan on the lowest speed.

    Pump Motor is always on setting 3 which reads as ~3333 RPM.

    Here are the Idle temperatures: (Lowest Fan Speed/Setting 1)
    [​IMG]

    For some reason I cant SS the load temperatures Running Fur mark burn in test. The ss Turns out to be a black screen but the temperatures on full load are a bit weird in regards to the fan speed.

    ALL Temperatures are while running Both CPU and GPU stress Tools at the same time.
    Load temperatures: (Lowest Fan speed after 10 Minutes)

    Prime 95 ON i5 2500k @ 4.5175 Ghz @ 1.28V

    +

    Fur Mark 1920 x 1200p with 8 x MSAA, Dynamic Background( NFI what it is),Burn-in,Post Fx,Windowed Mode,2 GPU's.

    GPU1: 99%/GPU2: 94%

    Temps: 62C on CPU, 30C On Chipset/System.
    48C on GPU1/45C on GPU2.

    With Full Fan speed/Setting 6 After 10 Minutes:

    CPU: 60C
    GPU1: 47C/GPU2 :45C
     
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2011
  10. OP
    OP
    kot0005

    kot0005 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    682
    Location:
    melbourne
    Used something else and got the SS's to work.

    Load Low Fan Speed/Setting 1:
    [​IMG]


    Load Highest Fan Speed/Setting 6:
    [​IMG]

    Let me know if the SS's are too big..

    NOT MUCH OF A TEMP DIFF! AM CONFUSED!!!
     
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2011
  11. OP
    OP
    kot0005

    kot0005 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    682
    Location:
    melbourne
    Also Made a few mods..

    Removed the G Force logo from the card and Sticked it on to the waterblock with a neopropane pad.
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Cable sleeving attempt first time for the lolz..

    Tried to stick the heat shrink with some Hot glue using my Glue gun but it got all messed up..

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2011
  12. miicah

    miicah Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    6,015
    Location:
    Brisbane, QLD
    It's an attempt I guess :S
     
  13. OP
    OP
    kot0005

    kot0005 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    682
    Location:
    melbourne
    opened up my two PCI cables as well, the 6 pin ones but am not sure if I wana sleeve them cuz the 590 needs 8 pin PCI plugs and I cbf removing them..

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Researched a bit about sleeving on these forums and decided to do it :)
    The staple pin method worked out well for me to pull off the pins from the PCI plugs.
    I have a second cable as a reference for the pins so nothing to worry about because I removed them all lol.

    The Sleeve is UV blue bought 3 packs of them...
     
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2011
  14. auApex

    auApex Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,355
    Location:
    Melbourne
    lol

    Once again the screenshots DOMINATE the screen! :shock:

    Looking good mate. What's holding the pump in place? Double-sided tape? Something more permanent would be good! Also, does your case have a window? If so, can you take some (small) shots with it on?

    Your temps look good, particularly the graphics card. The GPU temps weren't even when I installed my block as one wasn't making correct contact with the block. You definitely don't have this problem.
     
  15. OP
    OP
    kot0005

    kot0005 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    682
    Location:
    melbourne
    Nah I screwed it in with 2 screws, that duct tape is holding the thremocol that i used under the bracket.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Nah no window :( has a long side panel double layer mesh though. Would be nice if coolermaster released sidepanels for this with a window because its their flagship CM storm case.
     
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2011
  16. OP
    OP
    kot0005

    kot0005 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    682
    Location:
    melbourne
    oh and power switch on back side of the case for the UV tubes + the io panel
    [​IMG]

    frosnt panel [​IMG]
     
  17. ICEW0LF

    ICEW0LF Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    660
    Location:
    Canberra
    pffft bugger off. there is nothing wrong with Arctic Silver other then it being hard to spread

    anyway good to see you got rid of that antec cooler

    you might want to get some high purity silver - dont know how well that copper blend will work. This is the stuff you want
     
  18. VeritronX

    VeritronX Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    628
    Nice work, looks good and runs relatively cool.

    OT: I notice you have an MSI mobo, have you noticed anything odd about it's voltage control? My P55-GD65 stays at full voltage all the time as soon as you change anything in the tuning section, and with Load Line Calibration on the voltage goes UP when it's under load, and sits alot higher than the setting in bios eg: 1.34v set in bios, 1.38v idle 1.42v under load.
     
  19. leithals

    leithals Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    694
    Location:
    Central Coast 2257
    That's what LLC is meant to do. Depends what setting you have it on of course and what OC you have, but generally it adds a bit more volts to aid stability.
     
  20. Nerdbox87

    Nerdbox87 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    388
    Location:
    Melb
    Not true, LLC should not over-volt your CPU beyond the specified vcore set in BIOS (within a small margin anyway). It simply reduces vdroop (ie voltage drop under load to a level significantly below the BIOS setting).

    What the above is experiencing is crap and should not occur


    Edit: i.e high level of LLC with a bios setting of 1.34v should result in say a 1.35v idle and 1.34v (or very close to) load.

    Think if all LLC did was increase voltage, it would serve no function. You'd just set the bios setting higher as required..




    Also - OP -> is that duct tape I see mounting that pump? gone a little ghetto there (love it)

    Could use a few angled fittings to tidy up the tubing, also that res needs to be leveled off (its like looking at a crooked painting).

    Great stuff though :)
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2011

Share This Page