Build Log: Bye Bye NBN, HELLO 4G!

Discussion in 'Networking, Telephony & Internet' started by Yoodaa, Jan 7, 2019.

  1. OP
    OP
    Yoodaa

    Yoodaa Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,690
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Yeah I thought I had mounted into high areas not valleys of colour bond otherwise you have major water issues. Did pics show otherwise? Got a spare NH already, and I don't think removing case will help much after pulling one apart. Case is basically needed for lcd etc. Plus without battery the back of the pcb is exposed anyway under the stickers as she's already cooler
     
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2019
  2. xc351

    xc351 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Messages:
    2,491
    Yea mate 1 pic did.

    To easy Maybee drill the case out abit more even if it’s not for cooling I’d be afraid it will insulate.

    Now you got it down pat I guess u just watch for improved hardware or similar.
     
  3. izablue

    izablue Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2019
    Messages:
    15
    I am here as a result of seeing your link in the Whirlpool thread. I too am chasing a reasonable 4G speed.

    My step 2 used a different method. I went to http://web.acma.gov.au/pls/radcom/site_proximity.main_page

    When you enter your address a location marker will appear - it can be dragged to another location if desired - as well as transmitter sites. These are not labelled so a bit of trial and error is required to find the correct tower(s). Maybe visit oztowers first to locate the towers.

    If a site is clicked a pop-up window will appear giving a lot of information.
    At the bottom of this window is [Elevation Profile]. Clicking this will produce a profile from the tower to your location.
     
    alt064 likes this.
  4. chip

    chip Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2001
    Messages:
    3,693
    Location:
    Pooraka Maccas drivethrough
    I usually use the ACMA site too, it's a fantastic tool. It's got the details for every transmitter license, often a viewshed estimator, and for a lot of the transmitters I've been interested in it even had radiated power pattern estimates
     
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2019
  5. OP
    OP
    Yoodaa

    Yoodaa Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,690
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Mate that's bloody awesome. If ok with you ill add this method to the original post as its much much easier! And it's Australian!.
     
  6. izablue

    izablue Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2019
    Messages:
    15
    No problem. Glad you liked it.
     
  7. ae00711

    ae00711 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Messages:
    1,395
    how'd you get a non-selected device to work again?
    I recently purchased the 500GB plan with the B525, and although it's the fastest internet we've ever had (80D 30U), it's the f**king flakiest - the internet has dropped out like.. 30 times, that's no exaggeration. I'm so f**king sick of pointless restrictions! JUST LET US USE A MODEM OF OUR CHOICE FFS
    I've done a sim swap, no change, Monday I ring again and complain..again
    I can induce/repeat a drop-out at will - just pile up 2-3 downloads, and bye-bye internet!
     
  8. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    6,443
    Location:
    4109
    the problem is optus. go to another provider that is likely more expensive and get better service ...
     
  9. chip

    chip Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2001
    Messages:
    3,693
    Location:
    Pooraka Maccas drivethrough
    IIRC the OP is using what Optus call Mobile Broadband, not their Wireless Broadband product. Even though they're both LTE data services, it's a bit of artificial product segmentation. Mobile telco marketing people will amongst the first against the wall, come the revolution.
     
    ae00711 likes this.
  10. ae00711

    ae00711 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Messages:
    1,395
    yeah, na, telstra? FUCK OFF
     
  11. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    6,443
    Location:
    4109
    Yer na, superior mobile network
    Hands down
     
  12. koopz

    koopz Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,034
    Location:
    Qld
    NBN fibre helps us grow.


    Telstra CAN network is the old legacy story that is taught to *some* kids.


    It's just a story now.
     
  13. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    6,443
    Location:
    4109
    I deal with 100,000+ remotely read sites daily (across all of Australia).
    Big T has the best performance vs Optus and/or Voda
    Regardless of the retail and consumer facing parts of their business, they have the better performing network.

    And side note for ae00711 your abusive PM made me laugh. Did the bad internet man make you cry ?
     
    MrSnuffy likes this.
  14. wanna_

    wanna_ Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    363
    Just gone through the same process with trial and error.

    I read somewhere antennas 3 and 4 inside the M1 only work for 2600Mhz band. The normal antenna ports does the rest of the bands.

    Current peak download is 50Mbit at 115dbm on 2600. I've ordered a cable to do the mod, can you see if you get any improvement if you lock to 2600 and use antenna3+4?

    Surprisingly more noise on a higher band provides better speeds. 700mhz is around 90dbm but only 25mbit.
     
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2019
  15. hairy

    hairy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    593
    I looked at Telstra but they just don't have the quota that optus does.
    optus 500gig Telstra 90.
    even asked Telstra if I could pay extra for a custom plan and they said no.
     
  16. s4mmy

    s4mmy Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    2,142
    Location:
    Melbourne
    This is the biggest annoyance with telstra. People would pay it if they could but they just don’t offer the big data or custom plans. They must make too much of the $10/1gb when people go over their cap.
     
    hairy likes this.
  17. OP
    OP
    Yoodaa

    Yoodaa Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,690
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Hi mate i got no improvement doing the mod what so ever sadly but 2600 is not my strong point so I'm not surprised. I've left it all hooked up so if I do go to Telstra one day, it'll rip.

    Post your results! Cheers
     
  18. Grom Hellscream

    Grom Hellscream Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    3,119
    Location:
    SE QLD
    I also wouldn't be surprised if that's also how they keep performance reasonable. Charge so much you don't get people congesting the network with big data transfers.
     
    MUTMAN likes this.
  19. Copie

    Copie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    13,656
    Location:
    Newcastle
    They are very inflexible when it comes to consumer plans, business however they are more flexible if you have the cash behind you. They do however offer unlimited at 199/month, which you can get the Xs Max 512 which is worth 1800 used, bringing the cost down significantly.

    Exactly.
     
  20. s4mmy

    s4mmy Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    2,142
    Location:
    Melbourne
    That SIM however can’t be used in anything but a phone and you can’t pool data with other devices which again sucks!
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: