1. OCAU Merchandise is available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion in this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

Building a home - Cabling plan

Discussion in 'Networking, Telephony & Internet' started by her0, Apr 14, 2014.

  1. OP
    OP
    her0

    her0 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    414
    Location:
    Sydney, NSW
    So far i've received two general quotes from two registered cablers.

    16 points + patch panel + 6RU data cabinet = roughtly $2200 when installed during the construction stage (frames + roof up) all up

    And another who mentioned that it will be a minimum of $3000 PLUS labour and parts.

    massssivveeee difference. :sick:

    Anyone had experience with negotiating with builders to allow to bring in your own cabler while in the construction phase?
     
  2. cvidler

    cvidler Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    16,363
    Location:
    Canberra
    What's the 3k for then?
     
  3. OP
    OP
    her0

    her0 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    414
    Location:
    Sydney, NSW
    No idea, that's exactly how they've e-mailed me.

    Safe to assume i won't be going with them either way.
     
  4. Copie

    Copie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    14,711
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Yep. I built with Macdonald Jones, and told them outright that i was going to have a sparky come in and run data wiring on the weekend before they plasterboarded the house, no worries they said (well they did argue a bit on it but i told them unless they are paying the bills they can GTFO)

    Whilst i was there i put in heaps of electrical point backplates as well, so if i wanted more GPO's it would be as easy as punch a hole, run off the existing GPO and add the front plate.
     
  5. kesawi

    kesawi Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    1,634
    Location:
    Brisbane
    OP, if you wanted to, you could also grab some scrap cat 5 or other cable for free somewhere and run it down from the ceiling in the walls so that it can be used to pull through any future services.

    I did that recently in our bedroom reno and now have a few extra holes thanks to the plasterers cutting out the holes in the wall on the basis of makiing it easier for the sparky to find them :)

    The backplates don't need to go in for a GPO as there are specific plates available for retrofitting to the plasterboard at a later date.
     
  6. Elmf

    Elmf Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,820
    Location:
    Melbourne

    Try getting to the bottom of a stud wall in a built house mate.
     
  7. Elmf

    Elmf Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,820
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Yeah that has no purpose whatsoever, it is an absolute ease and sometimes easier to just put a plaster clip in, which works to the same effect..:Paranoid:
     
  8. OP
    OP
    her0

    her0 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    414
    Location:
    Sydney, NSW
    Thanks Copie, i guess i'll go hardass on them too.

    (and suck up to the site supervisor :thumbup:)
     
  9. andyroo54

    andyroo54 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,902
    Location:
    Xanthia
    Yeah actually it's quite hard without a massive drill bit..
     
  10. silenthunter

    silenthunter Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2002
    Messages:
    2,634
    Location:
    Amsterdam, Netherlands
    Ah what? Why would you not just use actual string for the trailing pullstring?
     
  11. Elmf

    Elmf Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,820
    Location:
    Melbourne
    It can be quite hard WITH a massive drill bit lol:D
     
  12. clonex

    clonex Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    24,977
    Location:
    north pole
    Run the cabling you think you going to need it or drill holes and drop some 25mm conduit.
    Its more time consuming to do afterwards tho not overly hard to pre drill hole for auger but you going to need a 1400-1500mm auger bit which aint cheap to reach nogs.
    ive come across a few pre-fab frames that had the flat side 70mm(70x35) facing out instead of usual flat.
    Made sense for buka rod on structual walls but not for ones that arent structual/no tie down.

    Beats paying for roof cavity tax later :D
     
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2014
  13. kesawi

    kesawi Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    1,634
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Because I had a shit load of old cable sitting around that i didn't have to pay for, it was recommended by my cabler, rope degrades if you don't use the right stuff.
     
  14. ChinoPD

    ChinoPD Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Messages:
    13,092
    Location:
    Canberra
    Subscribing. I will be building a 3 bedroom place and I'm able to work with the builder/electrician when it's ready for cabling. The suburb is NBN ready which I'm extremely grateful for. I'm not sure yet where but I need a small place with enough ventilation to install at least a 24 port switch so that cabling throughout the house is efficient. I'm looking at 2 ports per bedroom, 4 in the study, and 4 in the lounge. so that's about 12. Possibly more. Same goes with power points, lots of power points. :thumbup:
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: