1. OCAU Merchandise now available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion here.
    Dismiss Notice

Can I use this travel adapter OS?

Discussion in 'Electronics & Electrics' started by BGH, Apr 7, 2016.

  1. BGH

    BGH Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,353
    Location:
    You stay classy Melbourne
    When travelling I usually just take one power adapter and a small powerboard and then make sure any devices using it rated 110v – 240v.

    However I recently saw one of these

    http://www.gadgetguy.com.au/product/belkin-travel-surge-protector/

    cheap so I picked it up as it is pretty small and saves a bit of dicking around.

    Even though it is sold with 5 international power plugs (including the US), on the device it says

    I/P 220-240 VAC
    O/P 220-240VAC

    which implies to me that it only accepts input voltages of 220-240v.

    Do you think it will be ok to use in the US and Central America? If not, why the hell would they include a US plug for a device that doesn't work on US voltages?
     
  2. 2xCPU

    2xCPU Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,328
    Location:
    Saigon
    It's not a transformer. ie. the output = the input.
    As the output socket is au/nz/cn which is expected to be ~240V, it's reasonable to spec. it like that.
    Will it work on 110V? - Sure, but you'll only get 110V out.
    If your laptop charger copes with 110V, it'll work fine.
    Just don't expect something that "needs" 240V to work.

    2.
     
  3. mtma

    mtma Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,343
    Well the main bit is meant to have a USB outlets on it, so if the main body is labelled as 220-240V in that's a bit strange for what is meant to be a travel adapter.
     
  4. OP
    OP
    BGH

    BGH Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,353
    Location:
    You stay classy Melbourne
    Usage will be charging phones/tablet via the USB ports. Charging camera (which supports 100 - 240v) via outlets.

    Not too concerned about the AU outlets (my camera charger supports 110v as I said) but just a bit concerned the circuitry that converts to 5v for the USB outlets will support 110v.
     
  5. 2xCPU

    2xCPU Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,328
    Location:
    Saigon
    It does look a bit strange, but I guess they (belkin) are just trying 'not' to make it look like it's turn 110V into 240V.
    The USB will have a SMPSU and almost nothing since AT PSUs haven't been able to cope with 90~250V input.

    You could send an email to belkin tech support.

    2.
     
  6. RobRoySyd

    RobRoySyd Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    8,162
    Location:
    Sydney
    I can find nothing about the power needs for the USB outlets however this unit does seem to be manufactured in different variants, I think you can get one with US sockets in it. It would therefore make a lot of sense for the USB power supply to be universal. Even if it's not it's rare to encounter issues with magic smoke escaping running 240V gear on 110V. Worst case the USB ports will simply not work.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    BGH

    BGH Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,353
    Location:
    You stay classy Melbourne
  8. splbound

    splbound Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2004
    Messages:
    537
    Location:
    London / Sydney
    Want to be certain? I would contact Belkin support via the website.

    if I would take a gamble, my money would be on the USB ports working fine in the USA.

    Or see if you can find someone\someplace with an AU to US inverter to test it there.
     
  9. RobRoySyd

    RobRoySyd Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    8,162
    Location:
    Sydney
    The picture doesn't reveal anything new really :(

    How can Belkin sell something seemingly intended to be used in the USA that is according to their labelling not designed to work on the USA's 110V?
    Nowhere does Belkin even make a feeble effort to say which countries it is suitable for use in.
    A phone call is in order because no matter what Belkin say something is not right with this product.
     
  10. A Gringo

    A Gringo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    149
    underneath the round pin it looks lie it says 120V/240V at 10A
     
  11. OP
    OP
    BGH

    BGH Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,353
    Location:
    You stay classy Melbourne
    It certainly does, just to add to the confusion.
     
  12. Sphinx2000

    Sphinx2000 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2001
    Messages:
    8,931
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I believe 240v power in the USA is a thing now, or some parts of it? :confused:
    Most appliances handle 110-240 now.
     
  13. theSeekerr

    theSeekerr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,305
    Location:
    Broadview SA
    The US, in their infinite wisdom, use centre-tapped transformers throughout their power distribution network to create a "split-phase" 240V network.

    This is essentially the same thing as having two 120V phases 180 degrees opposed, but you can't call it two-phase for technical reasons I only half recall and won't try to explain.

    So yes, you can get a 240V outlet installed in the US. I believe most houses have them now for ovens and other high-power devices, since it's much safer to run half the current.
     
  14. 2xCPU

    2xCPU Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,328
    Location:
    Saigon
    Sort of.
    It uses two sides of a split phase. Think of it as two phases 180° apart.
    Sure it gives you 220V, but it's not common.

    2.

    Edit: yeah - what he said.
     
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2016
  15. RobRoySyd

    RobRoySyd Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    8,162
    Location:
    Sydney
    No, the USA has 220/240V split phase system. In that system there's two actives and one neutral. The phase-phase voltage is 220/240V and phase-neutral is 110/240V. The centre tap is grounded. Only used for 15A outlets for moderate loads e.g. machinery. Not something one would commonly find.


    Except the gadget we're discussing here has a label that indicates it cannot.
     
  16. OP
    OP
    BGH

    BGH Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,353
    Location:
    You stay classy Melbourne
    FYI this thing worked fine in the US.
     
  17. 2xCPU

    2xCPU Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,328
    Location:
    Saigon
    Can't say I'm surprised, but thanks for the update and confirmation.

    2.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: