Can you overclock DDR4 on a laptop?

Discussion in 'Memory' started by Luke212, Feb 7, 2018.

  1. Luke212

    Luke212 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    Messages:
    9,137
    Location:
    Sydney
    I recently bought an i7-8700 (non-k metabox/clevo) laptop with 1x16gb ddr4 2400.

    if i add another 16gb ddr4 2133 CL13 http://www.kingston.com/dataSheets/HX421S13IB_16.pdf, can i overclock it to 2400 to match the other one? since its CL13 i assume its got some headway at slower CLs at 2400 maybe?

    are these settings normally enabled in laptop bioses?
     
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2018
  2. TehCamel

    TehCamel Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,993
    Location:
    Melbourne
    no, the mainboard downgrades it to the slowest speed.
     
  3. dasa2

    dasa2 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    581
    Location:
    Northern VIC
    2133c13 could well be faster than the 2400 if its c17
    give it a go and see what happens with xmp
    run aida64 so you know how much difference the settings you change make assuming there is any settings available
     
  4. TehCamel

    TehCamel Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,993
    Location:
    Melbourne
    it'll work better with tokenring too
     
  5. OP
    OP
    Luke212

    Luke212 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    Messages:
    9,137
    Location:
    Sydney
    think outside the (white)box cameltoe
     
  6. dasa2

    dasa2 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    581
    Location:
    Northern VIC
    crude and not perfectly accurate but its a good guideline
    [​IMG]
     
  7. OP
    OP
    Luke212

    Luke212 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    Messages:
    9,137
    Location:
    Sydney
    in the end i have no ddr settings in bios so it just clocks both at CL15 2133
     
  8. HobartTas

    HobartTas Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Messages:
    605
    I think most laptop manufacturer's block off CPU and RAM overclocking options as a matter of course because those devices are thermally constrained even running at stock speeds and the last thing they want is people overclocking them and then hassling manufacturer's that "their laptop has a problem", really the only thing you can do is replace the memory for the fastest speed the machine natively supports and then go for tighter timings but the price tends to go through the roof for that just as it does with normal desktop RAM with low timings.
     
  9. trackhappy

    trackhappy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,345
    Location:
    Caboolture, QLD, 4510
    Generally you can't overclock anything on a laptop. And even if you could, you shouldn't. Thermals are designed pretty much to within an inch of their life, if you're at all interested in preserving the longevity of the device to any meaningful degree, the biggest part in doing that is keeping the machine, and its components, as cool as possible.

    To answer your question, and correct me if I'm wrong, but no, you can't up one stick of RAM to match the other. The opposite happens, the faster stick runs at the same rate as the slower one. There are also very few workloads I can think of where the actual *speed* of the RAM matters. Games, maybe, but on a laptop, you're just not going to see the difference, for thermal reasons outlined above. Unlike a lot of things in this world, the *quantity* of the RAM is what gives you the biggest gains, not the quality. I will pick more over faster any day of the week.
     
  10. evilasdeath

    evilasdeath Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,677
    also check the rams full speed list

    often they have multiple profiles usually faster speeds but higher cas latencies
     
  11. dasa2

    dasa2 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    581
    Location:
    Northern VIC
    shame i rather enjoyed tuning the ram up in our intel nuc
    it had a nice array of options for frequency and timings
     

Share This Page