1. OCAU Merchandise now available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion here.
    Dismiss Notice

CANON 7D

Discussion in 'Photography & Video' started by FB008, Aug 30, 2009.

  1. Xang

    Xang Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,044
    After shooting with the 7D for almost a year now, I've never had the mode dial switch by accident. Never considered that it might be an issue for others. Offering it as an upgrade can't hurt though.
     
  2. cvidler

    cvidler Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    13,525
    Location:
    Canberra
    I wish it had a ISO reset.

    I muffed up an entire shoot because it was still set to a high ISO. :upset:
     
  3. cbb1935

    cbb1935 Guest

    I just leave it on Av / Tv and auto ISO where relevant. Seems to be pretty good at picking the right ISO level.

    Oh I had another 2 questions too.

    1. I noticed the built in flash on the 7D, when it flashes it strobes. Any way to turn that off so it's a single flash?

    2. When the flash does work, I notice at the bottom of all photos there is an area the flash seems to miss. Does that sound right? The 400D's flash used to go *BANG* and light up everywhere.

    E.G

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Had to crop last one as girlfriend was asleep on the daybed.
     
  4. theDarkHorse

    theDarkHorse Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    2,233
    Location:
    Sydney
    Looks like a lens hood is shadowing the onboard flash to me. Either that or an extended zoomed in lens.

    Also, I'm pretty sure the strobing is the onboard flash being used as an AF illuminator. Which is annoying as shit. External flash not an option? (Why doesn't Canon just put in a normal AF illuminator like, oh I don't know, every other camera maker?)
     
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2010
  5. Goobers

    Goobers Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,484
    Location:
    Sutherland Shire, NSW
    pre shot strobing is the auto focus assist, you can turn it off in one of the menus, as for the shadow, nothing you can do about it other than get an off camera flash, built in flash = ghey with lens bigger than 50mm1.8 or smaller, and even then, you can have a hood on.
     
  6. Tomee

    Tomee Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2002
    Messages:
    4,375
    Location:
    Melbourne
    what lens were you using?
    seems the flash is getting blocked by it
     
  7. cbb1935

    cbb1935 Guest

    Would have been either 24-70 F2.8, or 10-20mm Sigma.

    Pretty sure that was the 10-20 on at that time.
     
  8. Mynamewastaken

    Mynamewastaken Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    975
    Location:
    Brisbane
    It's typical with a wide angled lens. Happens with both my 16-45mm and 24-70mm.
     
  9. cbb1935

    cbb1935 Guest

    Resolved by using a better flash like a 430EX or something?
     
  10. cvidler

    cvidler Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    13,525
    Location:
    Canberra
    Yes because the flash head is higher above the body.
     
  11. theicemagic

    theicemagic Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    Messages:
    3,946
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    I just can't see the point... I never bump it, and it's always on M anyway... I just don't see its worth even 50 bucks.
     
  12. richard0296

    richard0296 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    2,555
    Location:
    sydney
    tis in the canon 7d thread.
     
  13. dche5390

    dche5390 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,446
    Location:
    Sydney
    I used to nudge the flappin' dial and it gave me the shits. Hate that consumer-grade dial.
     
  14. White Rhino

    White Rhino Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    2,217
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Have to agree with icemagic. The only time I ever accidentally/unintentionally changed the mode dial is when removing my camera from my when when fully/overpacked; bit of a squeeze getting into/out of the bag.

    White Rhino
     
  15. bueller

    bueller Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Messages:
    2,123
    Location:
    Perth
    Oh man I @#%@% HATE those child locked dials! You've either gotta do it very awkwardly with one hand or use both hands just to change modes - not a fan.

    Thats the thing I love about my 5D, I only have to nudge the dial with my thumb while i'm shooting, don't even have to take my eye from the VF.
     
  16. sir_bazz

    sir_bazz Team Papparazi

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    9,759
    Location:
    Mentone, Vic.
    Merged the new thread into this one.
     
  17. NismoR31

    NismoR31 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,205
    Location:
    Sydney
    that wasn't at Tokoriki in Fiji was it? Looks very similar to where we stayed! The room is a different layout but the furnishing is identical
     
  18. cbb1935

    cbb1935 Guest

    Sure was :) Beautiful place. Spend 6 nights there recently :)
     
  19. NismoR31

    NismoR31 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,205
    Location:
    Sydney
    awesome. we spent 4 nights there on our honeymoon in may & absolutely loved it :)
     
  20. Sycotek

    Sycotek Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    203
    Location:
    Perth WA, 6107
    Hi guys, just got my 7D wondering if anyone has tried out the yamcha/generic grips and/or are there any good ones compared to the canon original?

    And side effects for using the 3rd party ones?
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: