Cant import Bootcamp (Win10) into Vmware Fusion

Discussion in 'Apple Desktop Hardware/Software' started by mitchamus, Jan 8, 2018.

  1. mitchamus

    mitchamus Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Messages:
    178
    Location:
    Elizabeth bay - Sydney
    Hi All

    So i have built (rebuilt) my win10 build on Bootcamp and all went well... started process in OSX and then finished off in the windows OS and the rebooted back into OSX via the usual way holding down option

    now, i run Vmware Fusion (Version 8.5.9 (7098239) and when i try to setup a VM and install from bootcamp, i get the following message (VMware Fusion could not find any Boot Camp volumes on this Mac.)

    now, when i goto About This MAC, i can locate the bootcamp partition, howver it says its at 0% of 125gb (which indicates it cant see anything on thet partition)

    whats happening and how can i resolve?

    Version of MacOS is 10.13.2 (17C88
    Macbook is a MacBook Pro (13-inch, 2016, Four Thunderbolt 3 Ports)
    CPU – 3.1 GHz Intel Core i5
    RAM – 16 GB 2133 MHz LPDDR3
    Vmware Fusion (Version 8.5.9 (7098239)
     
  2. OP
    OP
    mitchamus

    mitchamus Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Messages:
    178
    Location:
    Elizabeth bay - Sydney
    anyone?
     
  3. Hater

    Hater Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    2,719
    Location:
    Canberra
    APFS vs. HFS incompatibility perhaps?
     
  4. Uranux

    Uranux Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2001
    Messages:
    117
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Try clearing the quarantine attribute to the application in Terminal

    https://derflounder.wordpress.com/2...ended-attribute-from-downloaded-applications/

    This happened to me as well with Fusion 10 and this is how I was able to get it to recognise the Bootcamp partition. I re-redownloaded Fusion 10, removed the quarantine from the .dmg file and then reinstalled. Was able to import the Bootcamp partition after that.
     
  5. knoted

    knoted Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,809
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I had to update to Fusion 10 to get Bootcamp working again. I couldn't get it to work after High Sierra and AFPS came in on Fusion 8.
     

Share This Page