[WIN10] Can't upgrade, tried everything, Error: 0x80004005

Discussion in 'Windows Operating Systems' started by spotted, Nov 10, 2020.

  1. spotted

    spotted Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    414
    Location:
    Sydney
    I haven't been able to get feature updates for a long time. I couldn't work out why. It's an old Win7 desktop, upgraded to Win10, MB/cpu etc have been changed in its lifetime. I don't want to do a clean reinstall.

    All my bios/drivers/etc all up to date. Deleted my AV. Turned off quick BIOS.
    Tried media creation tool on USB.

    I ran SetupDiag
    Operation failed: Update Boot Code. Error: 0x80004005

    I found C:\$WINDOWS.~BT\Sources\Panther\setuperr.log
    https://pastebin.com/t7BXHRiR

    Says a lot of BCD stuff at the end. What should I do?
     
  2. philquad

    philquad Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,571
    Location:
    nelson bay
    A Clean install lol
    sorry

    but if you do any sort of upgrade from usb etc, its only going to preserve your files, or offer a clean install, it wont save your programs, im pretty sure
     
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2020
  3. flu!d

    flu!d Never perfect, always genuine

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    19,268
    Do a malware scan. Of all the utilities out there claiming to stop Windows updates, nothing is as effective as malware.
     
  4. OP
    OP
    spotted

    spotted Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    414
    Location:
    Sydney
    I use eset eis, is that enough to scan?
     
  5. OP
    OP
    spotted

    spotted Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    414
    Location:
    Sydney
    I'm actually afraid it's some hardware thing, this is a desktop upgraded parts over the years. What if I end up with a machine I can't even install on?
    Also I don't know how to clean install. I no longer have a DVD drive :) not sure if I have the original dvd with codes that I upgraded from.
     
  6. philquad

    philquad Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,571
    Location:
    nelson bay
    is it a ssd drive? have you a new or spare drive you can use & keep old 1 in case. there cheap if you only need 256 or 512gb
    with a clean install you get the latest iso 2004 i think from m\soft, put it on usb with rufus, boot to it, install win 10 on the new drive if possible, then install other crap like chrome, office etc, & your done.
    as said, depends on your setup, drives, space etc etc
     
  7. Hater

    Hater Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,461
    Location:
    Canberra
    Just download the Microsoft boot USB creation tool and go from there, it does it all for you.
     
  8. OP
    OP
    spotted

    spotted Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    414
    Location:
    Sydney
    Yeah I'm on SSD now. I don't have a spare.
    I'm running a MSI Z370M Mortar so apparently I can add a nvme drive.
    Haven't done a clean install in so many years..
     
  9. philquad

    philquad Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,571
    Location:
    nelson bay
    suppoze most dont want to as you need to backup, & reinstall all them programs you never use. i do it a lot as most puters i see windows is stuffed or clogged beyond repair. i noticed mine just had a huge update, like a changed version update, so right now in getting the newest version through the tool https://www.microsoft.com/en-au/software-download/windows10 save as a iso (the upgrade option takes forever) then the next pos i have to fix will take like 30 minutes to install a fresh copy & load a few basic programs with minimal updates needed.
     
  10. adya

    adya Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    492
    Location:
    gold coast
    Im in a similar situation to you
    I have 2015 W10 version 1505
    Ive being trying to update to 1905 then 2HU etc
    Ive tried everything
    Freezes on reboot everytime
    Im worried that if i buy a new copy of W10 that it may not make a difference and probably wont update either
    Ive tried everything. Every single possible solution. Nothing works
     
  11. OP
    OP
    spotted

    spotted Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    414
    Location:
    Sydney
    So I got a new ssd, reinstlaled win10
    My MSI "live updater" has all these options like
    intel chipset, sgx, me, network drivers
    realtek hd universal driver

    Do I need these?
     
  12. philquad

    philquad Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,571
    Location:
    nelson bay
    EACH TO THEIR OWN, THE OLD Rule was you needed to install these or things didnt work or work at best, but win 10 has so much more compatability now. i use the "less is more" approach myself, less crap installed, less chances of error, works for me. maybe usb 3 or rapid storage drivers? but your lan, sound etc should "just work" anyway
     
  13. philquad

    philquad Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,571
    Location:
    nelson bay
    20H2 ? if its the same motherboard now on win 10 if you install a new version even a clean install it should reactivate automatically im pretty sure
    no need to buy more copies, just d-load latest virgin, which is 20h2, i used it the other day. https://www.microsoft.com/en-au/software-download/windows10
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: