1. If you're receiving a message that you are banned from the Current Events or Politics forums, it's not you specifically: those forums have been hidden for all users. For more info, see here.
    Dismiss Notice

[WORKLOG] CaseLabs STH10 Build - it is finished

Discussion in 'Extreme and Water Cooling' started by Mrfocal, Jan 31, 2015.

  1. kEv_

    kEv_ Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2012
    Messages:
    560
    Location:
    Adelaide
    those cables look good:thumbup:, can you tell me what they cost you?
    i am going to get a full set either for my AX1200 or a full set for a replacement PSU in a couple of months

    moddiy quoted me roughly 200pp(US??) for all but 2 of the PCIe cables for my AX
     
  2. DTG

    DTG Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2002
    Messages:
    541
    Location:
    Melbourne, Aust
    PCCG sell them for $120 a set.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    Mrfocal

    Mrfocal (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    301
    and then if you message cablemod (I can give you there email) they will send you any other cables you need, like I needed some more 6+2 pin PCIE as I am running 4 cards and he just sent them out to me.
     
  4. OP
    OP
    Mrfocal

    Mrfocal (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    301
    Ok guys need your help I can not fir the life of me work out what fan's I should use need 8 120s and 8 140s. If anyone can help with some advice on matching fans I will send you some cable combs.
     
  5. mad_mic3

    mad_mic3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,741
    Location:
    Nulkaba
    Ill bite, is this a trick question ?, why you say, i say cause look at your sig DWPCM:eek:
     
  6. cheozuka

    cheozuka Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    389
    Cosair SP and HF matte.
    They will fit your build perfectly.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    Mrfocal

    Mrfocal (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    301
    I dont have a sig and just wonder what fans people would recommand that come in a matching 120 and 140 haha
     
  8. OP
    OP
    Mrfocal

    Mrfocal (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    301
    I didnt think AF quite editions where good for raditors.
     
  9. Kommandant33

    Kommandant33 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4,365
    Location:
    Cheltenham VIC
    If you've robbed a bank recently, the Noctua redux fans are available in 120 and 140 :D I have 4 in push/pull on my front 280 rad :thumbup:
     
  10. _slacker_

    _slacker_ Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,240
    Location:
    hiding from census dude!
    you want the SP not the AF. SP is static pressure and AF series are just case fans for free flow of air.

    Corsair do both 120 and 140mm fans you can match up im sure.:thumbup:
     
  11. kEv_

    kEv_ Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2012
    Messages:
    560
    Location:
    Adelaide
    i used to have an AF140 quiet ed on my 140mm rad, cause at the time it was the only thing that matched, SP120's on other rad,
    it will still work, but just not as well,
    corsair do make SP140's now but LED's only, not with the rings:thumbdn:
     
  12. ac87

    ac87 Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Location:
    The Sunburnt Country
    Subbed for pure awesomeness!!! Good luck with the build :thumbup:
     
  13. OP
    OP
    Mrfocal

    Mrfocal (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    301
    Yeah I just looked up the Red LED ones and they look really nice so looks like its SP120s and SP140s with red LED thanks guys.
     
  14. Modafroman

    Modafroman Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2002
    Messages:
    10,057
    Location:
    Brisbane
    When my rig was in a 750D, my front 280mm was strapped with AF140s. They were rubbish. I went for Noctua A14s in the R5, and they're much better. I'd go Noctuas over the SPs, TBH. Unless you want aesthetics to match. Noctua have the Reduxes and Industrials in better colours, but eh.

    As for 120s, i'd still go for the Gentle Typhoon, or now EKs variant of it, FWIW.
     
  15. frizzl

    frizzl Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,081
    You said AF140's if that's the case, yes they are rubbish for a radiator... AF = AirFlow SP = Static Pressure.

    The SP120/140 aren't a bad rad fan, but certainly aren't the best either.

    I have used both Noctuas and Gentle Typhoons with far better results (currently running GT's :) - and MUCH quieter)
     
  16. Modafroman

    Modafroman Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2002
    Messages:
    10,057
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Yea, AF140s, because that was what was in the case and I couldn't be bothered changing haha.

    I've now got a mix of 2xGT120s on the RX240, and 2xA14s on the SR280, downvolted and DC controlled via the Phanteks PWM Hub and a custom fancurve in Asus FanXpert. Works great, at idle, they're sitting there barely spinning, with decent idle temps (for summer), and then when CPU temp goes up they spin up to 100% :)
     
  17. OP
    OP
    Mrfocal

    Mrfocal (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    301
    I have used sp120 before and I can get them at a discounted price and I think they will match the build perfectly. I want performance but I also need them to match the build so the red LED will look great.
     
  18. havabeer

    havabeer Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,712
    the SP120's are good especially for the interchangeable rings that can be painted any color to match
     
  19. OP
    OP
    Mrfocal

    Mrfocal (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    301
    I will be using the LED ones they don't make SP140s with the rings
     
  20. OP
    OP
    Mrfocal

    Mrfocal (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    301
    Hey guys quick update.

    Here are the comb combs I had laser cut for the cablemod cables but they fit pretty much anything. Also the light box I had made for the bottom of the main section and did some brain storming of how I want the outside.

    What does everyone think.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: