Cat peeing everyone but in the Litter box

Discussion in 'Pets & Animals' started by Ravennoir, Mar 18, 2018.

1. Ravennoir

Ravennoir Member

Hey Everyone,

Im wondering if anyone has some good solutions for this

Our male cat has a habit of standing in the Litter box and peeing outside, normally he starts sitting and then stands as he is going so it goes everywhere

We have setup elaborate guards for the walls to protect them, but it doesnt stop it from ending up on the floor (we currently have newspaper under the boxes)

We did think about getting a fully enclosed litter box, but not sure how either of our cats would take it

Any tips to get him to stay sitting down :)

Thanks

2. mr626

mr626 Member

Is this something that has started recently? If yes, has anything changed recently at your place?

Have you changed brands of cat litter at all?

How do your two cats get along?

I'm no expert, but I've heard of all of the above being factors in this sort of thing.

Our ragdoll (male) would pee in random places around the house when my son was first born.

3. OP
    OP
    Ravennoir

Ravennoir Member

Its been going on for a while

Its not that he is peeing in random places, its always around the litter box

hes just not very good at getting it in the box

4. mareke

mareke Member

I use a very large black plastic box I bought at Bunnings for a litter tray. It measures around 65 cm long x 45 cm wide and 26 cm high. It's large enough for my cat to have plenty of room to do his business. I fill the box to about a third of the way up with litter consisting of recycled paper pellets. The tray is inside a large plastic dog kennel I bought at Bunnings and my cat has no problems going inside the dog kennel and jumping into the plastic box which is big enough for him to move around & dig in. If he peed outside the tray (which he has never done) it would land on the bottom of the plastic dog kennel.

5. broccoli

broccoli Member