1. OCAU Merchandise now available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion here.
    Dismiss Notice

Catalyst 11.1 whql official drivers released

Discussion in 'Video Cards & Monitors' started by TaroT, Jan 27, 2011.

  1. spazowacky

    spazowacky Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    426
    Location:
    W.A.
    I just put 11.1a on and it's showing 10.11.


    Click to view full size!


    All I did was uninstall old drivers, reboot, install new ones, reboot. Never used a driver cleaner before.

    I've finally had the chance to try out morphological aa on my 5 series card and have to say that I like what it's doing in some games.
    Did a quick test, bioshock 2 and ut3 look alot nicer without those ugly jaggies. Didn't notice too much of an improvement in mass effect 2 or nfs:hp though.
     
  2. DiGiTaL MoNkEY

    DiGiTaL MoNkEY Inverted Monkey

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    26,894
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria
    Below is what i ended up doing this morning...since i don't uninstall previous drivers and just installed the latest on-top of each other, i went a bit overboard this time :) :) But it really ended up being a clean install, as no ATI drivers were left. Probably a good guide for those moving to NVIDIA without a clean install.

    1. Uninstalled all ATI/AMD drivers and software.

    2. Removed and ATI Logo'd entries in C:\Windows\Installer (you have to show hidden system files to view it)

    3. Run Guru3D's driver cleaner

    4. Reboot

    5. Windows will detect your cards again and look for existing drivers on the system. Check device manager to see if they show up as "Standard VGA Adapter.." or as "Radeon XXXXX". If it shows up as a standard adapter the cleaning is done. You can run DriverCleaner one final time before installing the new drivers.

    If the system is still detecting your hardware as Radeon XXXXX then go into the device manager, right click on the video card(s), and select uninstall, make sure the little box it ticked to remove the drivers.

    Next click the "scan for hardware changes button" let windows detect the cards. If it shows up as a standard adapter then the cleaning it done, and run Driver Cleaner for one last time.

    Otherwise right click on the video card once again, and make sure the box is ticked to remove the drivers as well. Continue the "scan for hardware changes" step and uninstalling the windows detected cards until "standard adapter" is shown.

    After that is done, ALL existing windows kept drivers for your card will be removed from the system. Run DriverCleaner for a final time before installing the latest drivers to remove the last of it.
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2011
  3. $3@N

    $3@N (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    5,985
    Location:
    Forever A Pwn
    I might just wait for 1.12 for my laptop, i dont feel like going through another round of broken drivers
     
  4. Alba

    Alba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    4,754
    Location:
    Shellharbour
    You mean 2.11 or 11.2

    Not having a good day are ya :lol:
     
  5. $3@N

    $3@N (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    5,985
    Location:
    Forever A Pwn
    Oh umm i meant 12.1 haha
     
  6. Alba

    Alba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    4,754
    Location:
    Shellharbour
    Oh ok, so Jan 2012 for your next driver update.
    Will you still have the laptop by then??
     
  7. WishBone17

    WishBone17 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Messages:
    4,487
    Location:
    Dundas (Sydney)
    can someone with a 5870 with these 11.1 installed try something for me.

    • 1. In 2D mode, can you please overclock your card (any speed as long as its not the default clock)
    • 2. Please inform me what your idle clocks are?
    • 3. is it 157/300mhz or is it 400/1000mhz... Im hoping for the later

    Thank you in advance and may god have mercy on your soul if its 157/300 mhz
     
  8. Archy

    Archy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,312
    Location:
    Glenhaven, Sydney
    So that's why the world's going to end. Perfect graphics drivers. :p
     
  9. $3@N

    $3@N (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    5,985
    Location:
    Forever A Pwn
    Doh i mean 11.2, lol not a good day haha
    Sandy Beach 4ghz 8 core, ddr4 8gb and ati 8670 4gb
     
  10. Rusty X5

    Rusty X5 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,134
    Location:
    A Very Cold Place
    Well, just confirmed that driver completely fooked my PC, rolled backed to 10.12 and PC back to "normal". Many more of these and definely going back to the green team.
     
  11. OP
    OP
    TaroT

    TaroT Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,720
    Location:
    Hazelbrook nsw 2779
    157/600 for me but i did fiddle my bios so my ram may be sitting higher
     
  12. OP
    OP
    TaroT

    TaroT Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,720
    Location:
    Hazelbrook nsw 2779
    also DM thats funny because i installed these on a brand new setup with nothing on it but windows and i got
    10.8 ccc

    mental pure mental
     
  13. Alba

    Alba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    4,754
    Location:
    Shellharbour
    Mine comes up the same as DM's, and I installed over the top of 10.12's.

    I rarely have driver issues of any kind with either AMD or nvidia.
     
  14. DiGiTaL MoNkEY

    DiGiTaL MoNkEY Inverted Monkey

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    26,894
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria
    Must be a bug then :(
     
  15. TOFUGil

    TOFUGil Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Messages:
    1,998
    Location:
    somewhere
    AMD really should remove "The Lord of The Rings" crap from default install.
     
  16. OP
    OP
    TaroT

    TaroT Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,720
    Location:
    Hazelbrook nsw 2779
    why i like the shortcut...it's cute and makes my games go faster
     
  17. Rusty X5

    Rusty X5 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,134
    Location:
    A Very Cold Place
    fukkk me...W7 is fukked, i cant even system restore back before i install these crappy driver. I'm looking t a complete fukkin reinstall. Looks like i'll be going back to vista and NV :mad:
     
  18. Ethan W

    Ethan W Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,736
    Location:
    NSW, 2155
    Why not? Did you set a restore point?
    About to try these now. Driver Sweeper first. :D
     
  19. OP
    OP
    TaroT

    TaroT Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,720
    Location:
    Hazelbrook nsw 2779
    i,m guessing you tried safe mode.

    the only time ati drivers did anything like that to me was when i used the ahci/radi drivers but safe mode sorted it out (running repair as well helps)

    the other thaing that can work is through some other cheap ass card in, nvidia and see if it boots then clean it up.
     
  20. ChinoPD

    ChinoPD Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Messages:
    13,092
    Location:
    Canberra
    Installed these recently, just installed over the previous CATs. IMaybe I'm lucky with my 5870 but no lockouts so far with COD:BLOPS, apart from that there's always been a memory leak with FarCry2 which I haven't tested yet.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: