Catleap Q270 - 27" 2560*1440 IPS LED for ~$280

Discussion in 'Video Cards & Monitors' started by Tycn, Mar 14, 2012.

  1. IzzehO

    IzzehO Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    936
    Location:
    4152
  2. yezzum

    yezzum Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    703
    Location:
    Launceston, TAS
    Just pulled the pin on the Shimian from green-sum :D

    Now, to upgrade the graphics card.
     
  3. DracZ

    DracZ Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2001
    Messages:
    871
    Location:
    Melb
    Catleap 2B Extreme .... 1440p @ 120hz...so much win
     
  4. Angusp

    Angusp Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Messages:
    171
    Location:
    Melbourne, AU
    I had a quick search of this thread, but the 63 pages didn't get me any results that didn't seem like they could be out of date by now.

    I'm was about the hit the button on a Catleap 2703 because of the VESA mount, but then I noticed a lot of people here are getting Achieva Shimians, which as far as I can tell, also have a VESA mount.

    Anyone want to give some experience on mounting either monitor with the VESA mounts?
     
  5. Kataton1c

    Kataton1c Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2002
    Messages:
    1,466
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Catleap is a pain in the ass. Shimian is much easier.
     
  6. Scarecrow_99

    Scarecrow_99 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Messages:
    296
    Location:
    Newcastle NSW
    Correct. Best I could find for a 3x28" monitor stand. Happy for anyone to recommend something better before I pull the tigger next week.
     
  7. EMupp

    EMupp Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,462
    How exactly?

    Also the Catleap build quality is leaps and bounds ahead of the Shimian.
     
  8. peetah

    peetah Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    2177
    The Q270 involved opening and removing pieces before you could use the VESA mounting if I'm not mistaken.

    The 2703 has exposed VESA mounting points.


    Angusp - Got the 2703 myself and have yet to find a dual mounting solution. Mounting point wise it was easy enough to do and seemed secure for the night I had it setup. Had some Bratek arms that worked OK but couldn't get them to line up perfectly. If you're considering Selby arms they won't work either. Was looking at Tyke supply ones but the shipping kills it many times over. Trying to find an Arctic Z2 monitor arm but no one seems to stock it locally. Can't bring myself to pay $200 when the monitor cost 300 lol.
     
  9. IzzehO

    IzzehO Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    936
    Location:
    4152
    Surely one could be made easily enough with some planks of wood? You'd have complete control of dimensions so they'd line up too, you'd just lose the adjustableness of a $200 arm =/
     
  10. peetah

    peetah Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    2177
    I started looking into making my own but I have a history of attempting a DIY and most of the time I just end up going out and buying the product anyway since I'm never very happy with the end result lol.:upset:
     
  11. Sahand

    Sahand Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011
    Messages:
    242
    Location:
    Sydney 2763
    Can you link that please? Would be interested in a look at that myself.
     
  12. Scarecrow_99

    Scarecrow_99 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Messages:
    296
    Location:
    Newcastle NSW
  13. Sahand

    Sahand Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011
    Messages:
    242
    Location:
    Sydney 2763
  14. ikonz0r

    ikonz0r Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    2,551
    Location:
    Brisvegas
    omgwtfbbq ...... o_O NEEED

    Sold out?

    Argh... where to GET!??
     
  15. IzzehO

    IzzehO Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    936
    Location:
    4152
    Just as a heads up for anyone that doesn't have one yet and might want something else to consider,

    http://www.ozbargain.com.au/node/80811

    Dell's new U2713HM, 27" 2560x1440 monitor is on special for $559.
     
  16. DracZ

    DracZ Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2001
    Messages:
    871
    Location:
    Melb
    THIS is pretty much the same thing, but being made by another company. Same panel / PCB, just a different (better) stand. Only issue is that there's a lengthy wait of about 6 weeks, whereas most of the 120hz.net orders have already been shipped out / received.

    I've had quite a number of screens over the years, but always had to compromise between desktop space and fluidity (had an AW2310, then a 3007). This screen is absolutely gorgeous, 1440p @ 120hz? best of both worlds.
     
  17. Rory K

    Rory K Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Messages:
    2,261
    Location:
    Melbourne, 3131
    Aaaand that's only 60Hz, with no mention of overclockability... Nevermind, saw the link at the side. Looks interesting :thumbup:
     
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2012
  18. ikonz0r

    ikonz0r Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    2,551
    Location:
    Brisvegas
    Yeh very excited. need one now,.

    however, how are you connecting it? hdmi 1.3? thought dual link dvi wasnt enough for that res @120hz
     
  19. aussie-revhead

    aussie-revhead Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    19,649
    Location:
    St Clair 2759
    I think its the other way around.

    :thumbup:
     
  20. DracZ

    DracZ Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2001
    Messages:
    871
    Location:
    Melb
    The Catleap Extreme 2B's only come with a single DVI connector which reduces the overall amount of input lag compared to monitors with multiple inputs and an in-built scaler. This monitor is probably the best gaming screen I've experienced thus far (besides my old Sony CRT), in terms of low-input lag, 120hz compatibility and overall image quality.

    Exactly right :thumbup:
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: