Catleap Q270 - 27" 2560*1440 IPS LED for ~$280

Discussion in 'Video Cards & Monitors' started by Tycn, Mar 14, 2012.

  1. fuXK

    fuXK Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    551
    Location:
    Melb
    Pull the trigger and bought one

    The DVI-D cable that comes with the monitor any good? or did u guys end up buying a different DVI-D cable?
     
  2. Kataton1c

    Kataton1c Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2002
    Messages:
    1,466
    Location:
    Adelaide
    It's fine. Maybe a bit short but that's about it.
     
  3. super kermit

    super kermit Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2002
    Messages:
    1,263
    Location:
    Sydney Lane Cove 2066
  4. flu!d

    flu!d Never perfect, always genuine

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    18,465
    The resolution of the Catleaps is seriously just too high consider using them for surround gaming, 2 x 670's won't cut it unless you like running really low graphical settings, you'll need tri or quad sli with 4gb of vram, and even then tri and quad surround has numerous scaling issues.

    Just my 10 cents worth. :thumbup:
     
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2012
  5. raX

    raX Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Messages:
    735
    Price varies.

    No.

    No, especially no if you're going to attempt anything over 2560x1440, you simply will not get a framerate anywhere near 120 thus rendering 120hz useless. (Unless there is something about this 120hz fad I do not understand)
     
  6. Bosisto

    Bosisto Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2002
    Messages:
    911
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Ive got an alienware laptop which has both a vga and HDMI connectors, Can I use this catleap as an external monitor ?
     
  7. aidz

    aidz Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    47
    Took the chance, arrived yesterdy, bought pixel perfect and that's what i got, had it for about 3 hours before severe screen and pixel flickering, used different power cables, dvi cables, different cards. all the same result.

    Anyone else had these problems and got them resolved with these monitors?

    Before i start thinking i bought a pixel perfect paper weight...
     
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2012
  8. raX

    raX Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Messages:
    735
    1x perfect pixel, 2x non-perfect, none of them have any defects or even dead pixels at all...

    I've seen the perfect pixel flicker once, but it was only when i was fucking around with refresh rates....
     
  9. ViperAMD

    ViperAMD Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    391
    Location:
    Sydney
    That sucks aidz.. What are you going to do? Could you tell us who you ordered from and which model you went with?

    Cheers
     
  10. aidz

    aidz Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    47
    bought the screen from dreamseller, must admit it is a amazing screen, well before the flickering.
    Just going through the usual channels of emailing, asking for an exchange, them asking if i have the dvi-d connected properly...??

    Into day 3 so far, no sign of them accepting a return or resolution.
     
  11. fuXK

    fuXK Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    551
    Location:
    Melb
    flickering is probably cause by a burnt BLUE mosfet PCB
     
  12. azalin79

    azalin79 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    435
    Location:
    Denmark WA
    The one I have from Greensum has stopped working with the flashing power button. tried a different cable but no luck. Asked Greensum and I have to pay freight both ways to get it fixed - so thats not happening lol.
     
  13. ThaitaniumXI

    ThaitaniumXI Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    123
    Location:
    Brisbane, Logan City
    Sounds like pot luck with everyone. Stuff that. I'll wait for the Dell deal.
     
  14. ViperAMD

    ViperAMD Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    391
    Location:
    Sydney
    Yeah, also gonna wait for Dell deal to resurface.

    Such a shame, if these were more reliable / sellers paid for delivery back i'd be all over it.
     
  15. Tattered

    Tattered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Location:
    Melbourne
    could anyone link me a 2m or so long dvi-d cable they have had luck with? I keep seeing ones with only 2000x1500 supported :S

    I'm sure someone has linked one somewhere in this thread but at around the 20 page mark i still haven't found it.

    Thanks
     
  16. MoJoMaN

    MoJoMaN Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2001
    Messages:
    568
    Location:
    Surfers Paradise
  17. BurntToast

    BurntToast Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    Messages:
    241
    Looks like Kogan is jumping on the bandwagon of packaging these same IPS panels: http://www.kogan.com/au/buy/27-wqhd-led-ips-monitor/

    Says that it won't ship until Xmas eve, but might be a decent option to get one of these panels on the cheap with a decent warranty. Other inputs like displayport are welcome as well.

    That said my Bright screen from DreamSeller is still going strong. I get the occasional green-snow when my '09 macbook pro wakes up from sleep, but turning the monitor off and on again seems to do the trick. Not sure if that is the screen or the apple displayport -> dual link DVI adaptor.
     
  18. ThaitaniumXI

    ThaitaniumXI Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    123
    Location:
    Brisbane, Logan City
    Once there is a comparison between the dell I'll probably purchase the Kogan if it is up to par.
     
  19. Snowblindnz

    Snowblindnz Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    156
    Interesting. Note the 113w power draw on the Kogan, vs ~63w for the Korean brands. I guess that must be the video processing for the extra display ports?

    [Edit] also $29 for shipping QLD way = $428.
     
  20. Toliandar

    Toliandar Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    226
    Problem with the Kogan monitor will be the extras increasing responsiveness. Would have been more interesting if they made a DVI-D or DP only no frills monitor.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: