Certified Ethical Hacker, or Offensive Security

Discussion in 'Networking, Telephony & Internet' started by Yoodaa, Oct 19, 2009.

1. Yoodaa

Yoodaa Member

Hey all,

So I am currently studying for my CCIE security which my work is supporting me on, however another need has arisen that then want me to take on. They are saying, have a break from the Cisco world, and help us out. Fair enough I say, my head is going to explode!

They need penetration testing done and have offered me the opportunity to do the training and then conduct the testing. This serves them the benefit that the person who finds the holes, etc will also be the one fixing them....

So form my research I have found 2 courses that essentially start me down this path.

The first is the Certified Ethical Hacker, by EC-Council

http://www.eccouncil.org/ceh.htm

The second is Penetration Testing, by Offensive security (child training group of makers of backtrack)

http://www.offensive-security.com/penetration-testing-backtrack-online-training.php

I personally find security interesting obviously, so I will thoroughly enjoy ether of these, however i was wondering if anyone here has done either of these, or both and can make any recommendations?

I have the choice, and I wish to gain from whatever training I do personally so that it can be added to my current certification list. If following the EC-Council path, I would like to go on and do the Certified Security Analyst, and the licensed Penetration Tester.

If following the Offensive Security path, I would like to do all the courses they offer.

Any one had experience here?

2. joyufat

joyufat Member

What certs do you have already? Have you done any on the ISC2 track (SSCP, CISSP)?

3. OP
    OP
    Yoodaa

Yoodaa Member

I have my CCNA, NET+, SEC+, CCSP, ITIL, VCP, studying for CCIE-sec, and a few others that I cannot think of right now! To many damn acronyms!