CH341A BIOS programmer - Need help

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting Help' started by TiMOiD, Jun 15, 2019.

  1. TiMOiD

    TiMOiD Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    55
    Location:
    Bundamba
    I bought a CH341A - its a USB2 3.3v/5.0v BIOS programmer with an 1.8v daughter board.

    Looks pretty much like this one:
    https://www.banggood.com/EEPROM-BIO...Adapter-For-24-25-Series-Flash-p-1332376.html

    I need to reprogram a board because the bios update failed and it does not have a rescue bios.

    The chip on this board is 1.8v according to the spec sheet, so I hook it all up and it tells me that it can't detect the chip.

    Thinking the actual IC is cooked, I order some new ones off ebay.

    Doesn't detect those either.

    I go back to the vendor saying that the 1.8v daughter board isn't working. My methodology: I tested a HD5870 BIOS on the 3.3v part and it worked perfectly.

    They send me another one: Same problem. Chip on the board doesn't detect, chips from ebay don't detect.

    Can anyone help me diagnose this? Is it 3 crook chips or two crook 1.8v daughter boards?

    I've done everything I can think of. Voltages are correct (theres a few online posts about them being screwwy).
     
  2. waltermitty

    waltermitty Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2016
    Messages:
    1,033
    Location:
    BRISBANE
  3. waltermitty

    waltermitty Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2016
    Messages:
    1,033
    Location:
    BRISBANE
    What are you using to flash? Flashrom? Run it in verbose mode and dump the output somewhere
     
  4. OP
    OP
    TiMOiD

    TiMOiD Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    55
    Location:
    Bundamba
    I have multimetered out all of the SOIC clip pins they are OK.

    How do you mean "do you have everything wired up properly?"

    https://imgur.com/a/qPuib3I
     
  5. waltermitty

    waltermitty Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2016
    Messages:
    1,033
    Location:
    BRISBANE
    On the clip side, different chips have different pinouts, does your wiring match the spec sheet?
     
  6. Matthew kane

    Matthew kane Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    2,363
    Location:
    Melbourne
    It works fine, the red signifies pin 1 for a traditional SOIC8 chip aka your 5870 SMD SOIC8 bios chip. If the clip is wired wrong then you need to rectify that.

    I used to use my CH340A programmer on a daily basis and have no problems getting it to work with SOIC8 or DIP8 vbios chips. The program becomes limited when you started .cap format motherboard bios flash which then you need a different CH341A compatible programmer that recognises .cap format.
     
  7. demiurge3141

    demiurge3141 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Location:
    Melbourne 3073
    Is your BIOS chip soldered on the motherboard? Then the USB may not have enough current to drive it. You might need to do dodgy stuff like powering the motherboard on first.
     
  8. OP
    OP
    TiMOiD

    TiMOiD Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    55
    Location:
    Bundamba
    I removed the bios from the board, and also the new ebay ones are "loose"
     
  9. Matthew kane

    Matthew kane Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    2,363
    Location:
    Melbourne
    You don’t need to power on the motherboard at all for the bios chip to be detected. Make sure the clamp head makes contact all 8 pins of the soic8 chip and is in the right orientation to pin 1 and 8, refer to the datasheet if unsure.

    If using dip8 use the usb adapter instead of the clamp heads.
     
  10. OP
    OP
    TiMOiD

    TiMOiD Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    55
    Location:
    Bundamba
    if I run the base board in 3.3v mode (ie: no 1.8v adapter) i get FF as when I hit detect.
    When I load in the 1.8v adapter (connected to the bios chip or not, I get 00).
     
  11. OP
    OP
    TiMOiD

    TiMOiD Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    55
    Location:
    Bundamba
    I'm using the clip, with the dot to the first pin -> the SOP8 adapter -> 1.8v adapter, then all of that into the main CH341 board.
     
  12. Matthew kane

    Matthew kane Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    2,363
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Can you please post a picture of the chip and another picture of how you’ve connected everything.

    What ch341 programmer application you using?
     
  13. OP
    OP
    TiMOiD

    TiMOiD Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    55
    Location:
    Bundamba
  14. OP
    OP
    TiMOiD

    TiMOiD Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    55
    Location:
    Bundamba
    CH341A Programmer V1.34 (I have a bunch of versions but that appears to be the latest).
     
  15. OP
    OP
    TiMOiD

    TiMOiD Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    55
    Location:
    Bundamba
    I can only guess at this point that both of the 1.8v converters are crook - the original one and the one I purchased after.
     
  16. waltermitty

    waltermitty Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2016
    Messages:
    1,033
    Location:
    BRISBANE
    Multi-meter? Do you have a bench supply to confirm that is the issue?
     
  17. OP
    OP
    TiMOiD

    TiMOiD Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    55
    Location:
    Bundamba
    Its supplying 1.8v - I don't think its talking to the bios chips or the converter is failing to talk to the ch341a
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: