1. OCAU Merchandise is available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion in this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

Chia Specific

Discussion in 'Blockchain & Cryptocurrency Mining' started by Slug69, Apr 6, 2021.

  1. fad

    fad Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Messages:
    2,654
    Location:
    City, Canberra, Australia
    I’m at 230 plots now, with around growth of 50 plots a day now. I seemed to be CPU bound atm. One E5 v4 server does 30 a day the rest is from 3 servers with single socket E5 v3 CPUs
     
  2. aussie-revhead

    aussie-revhead Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    19,962
    Location:
    St Clair 2759
    ok boys, Im late to the party but it looks like fun and I want to play too. At least Im not 8 years late like with btc .... :tired: :tired:

    What is the best way to have a decent shot at this? A good cpu will improve plot speed right? 4gb ram and 2 threads per plot? Are new Ryzens ok for this? Are you guys plotting to nvme then moving the plot to platters? Which platters are the ones to get (best value)? Do the plots get rewritten or written then held? Until when?

    Can you plot on a mining rig? Must be as I see some miner names in this thread. What about a gamer pc, can you game while plotting?

    Re selling plotted drives, I thought holding the plotted drives is what generates return? Or are they set up to plot fast and sell plotted drives at a profit to generate return?

    :)
     
    Last edited: May 28, 2021
  3. fad

    fad Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Messages:
    2,654
    Location:
    City, Canberra, Australia
    You plot to fast storage, but you need fast cpu and 3-4gb memory per plot.

    You hold on to the plots to solve blocks. This is slow bulk hdd storage.

    I can do 30 plots a day on a 48 core server with 50+gb mem and fast ssd. Running 10 plots on one drive and 10 plots on a raid 0 of 6 drives.

    I see 100% CPU on the 6 core running 8 plots to one drive.
     
  4. PiNoY

    PiNoY Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,382
    Location:
    doncaster east, vic
    4EBE54FB-35FD-4B14-B44B-B33E78AF7330.png

    Using a 3950x - 64gb ram - 2TB x 2 mp600 in raid0. Still testing atm using 6 threads per plot, 4500mb memory and 90min delay...

    Ssd’s are the bottle neck in my rig...!
     
  5. aussie-revhead

    aussie-revhead Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    19,962
    Location:
    St Clair 2759
    So what happens when they are all done? They just sit there plotted or do they replot? Or only replot if a plot gets used?

    :)
     
  6. flinchy

    flinchy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,376
    Location:
    Northlakes
    Once the file exists, it's good to go no matter what*... Think of it like a lotto ticket/bingo card that's valid for all future rounds even if it wins

    *until one day years or decades in the future they change the rules to demand larger bingo cards (larger minimum file size)
     
  7. OP
    OP
    Slug69

    Slug69 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2002
    Messages:
    10,346
    Location:
    Sydney
    I have seen images like this on my setup...it didn't end well. However, you do have 2TB SSD's. It's still an awesome screenshot of what prosumer computing is up to these days.
     
    PiNoY likes this.
  8. fad

    fad Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Messages:
    2,654
    Location:
    City, Canberra, Australia
    This is running 14 plots, 2 threads 4096gb, memory usage 144Gb.
    upload_2021-5-29_9-45-23.png
     
  9. darknebula

    darknebula Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,350
    Location:
    Frankston
    Been plotting for a month now, 382 plots and TTW has slipped past 3 months now
     
  10. illdrift

    illdrift Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    322
    Location:
    Perth
    I guess this gives some insight into the chia team taking so long to ensure their pooling protocols are correct :p

    https://www.hpool.com/help/bulletin

     
  11. aussie-revhead

    aussie-revhead Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    19,962
    Location:
    St Clair 2759
    Got it but once you have filled your available drives there is no more plotting? Or do they get rewritten constantly?
     
  12. 303-Acid

    303-Acid Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    2,975
    Location:
    Grantville, Vic
    You either stop plotting, or get more drives!
     
    PiNoY likes this.
  13. r3s

    r3s Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Messages:
    8,819
    Location:
    logan ( 4133 )
    Games over without pools, people talking about 10Eib being a reasonable ceiling to work rewards out on, its basically gone up 33% more in thr last 2-3 days with absolutely 0 signs of slowing down.
     
    alexc likes this.
  14. Jag_Guy

    Jag_Guy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Messages:
    541
    And when pooling does start everyone will jump on and the problem will be even worse. I wouldn’t be surprised if it jumped another 10EiB in the first week of pooling.
     
  15. Yak

    Yak Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    265
    Guess that's what you get when you monetize things..

    So much for being "green" and utilizing EXISTING spare space...
    Kinda like UBER was supposed to be "ride sharing" and be better for the environment so 2 ppls would travel instead of just one.
    Knew somebody who did this to/from work, but then got bumped out when the "professionals" moved in.

    Yak.
     
    gabgab1982 and dirkmirk like this.
  16. aussie-revhead

    aussie-revhead Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    19,962
    Location:
    St Clair 2759
    Ok so do you need to keep plotting? Or is that where the addiction sets in and you need to get more drives?
     
  17. 303-Acid

    303-Acid Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    2,975
    Location:
    Grantville, Vic
    No, you can just stop whenever, 1 plot, 10 plots, or fill your drives with plots. You just then need to keep a harvester running to validate your plots. Unless addiction/FOMO sets in, then more drives and more plotting! haha.
     
    gabgab1982 likes this.
  18. aussie-revhead

    aussie-revhead Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    19,962
    Location:
    St Clair 2759
    Cool, so there is minimal system strain to maintain plots? ie once plotted you can game without cpu being maxed and stuttering etc resulting?
     
  19. 303-Acid

    303-Acid Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    2,975
    Location:
    Grantville, Vic
    Very little CPU usage to maintain your farm when not plotting.
     
  20. Phalanx

    Phalanx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    6,803
    Location:
    3032
    I'd be surprised if it was only that. A single TB will make about $19AU a month at current network size*, at 25EiB it'll still be $10 a month. For anyone with some extra storage, why not setup 10-20 plots or so? Less than a week to setup, small enough wear that it won't really impact the life of a consumer SSD, done. Considering NiceHash alone has hundreds of thousands of users, I can see a lot of people adding it in as just another way to generate a bit of crypto.

    * Going off a basic calculation. Current Chia network payout is about $AU287.5M per month going off the current price of $800US per XCH, there's currently ~135 million plots so an average plot makes about $2.10 per month. At 250 million plots that becomes a little over a dollar. I can't see it easing up until it's 100EiB and a 8TB drive is only generating $20 a month. At that point it only really makes sense to maintain current storage and only add more as the price rises. There will be pooling fees in there somewhere of course, but I kept it simple.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: