1. OCAU Merchandise is available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion in this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

Chia Specific

Discussion in 'Blockchain & Cryptocurrency Mining' started by Slug69, Apr 6, 2021.

  1. r3s

    r3s Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,069
    Location:
    logan ( 4133 )
    It was a bit noisy when fans ramped up every now and then sitting on the desk next to the couch so i thought i'd have a look, 5 mins later it was plotting in the cabinet :lol:
     
    151528 likes this.
  2. Matthew kane

    Matthew kane Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    3,147
    So has this reached $1000usd per chia coin yet?
     
  3. r3s

    r3s Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,069
    Location:
    logan ( 4133 )
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2021
  4. OP
    OP
    Slug69

    Slug69 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2002
    Messages:
    10,401
    Location:
    Sydney
    We are all waiting for Elon to eventually give in and announce this is the future Cryptocurrency. Someone is buying this coin in big numbers recently.
     
  5. Jaco

    Jaco Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    465
    Location:
    QLD 4114
    Big kick in the pants often seen is the people winning blocks are those that have the smallest setups

    https://maxiopool.io/coins

    Clicking onto each Farmer ID to view their average farm size

    I wonder if it comes down to the overall quantity of plots that system has to check and complete within the 30 second window, as they're so small it can get it done faster

    So does that mean to have a chance at winning a block you need 10x small setups compared to 1x big?
     
  6. OP
    OP
    Slug69

    Slug69 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2002
    Messages:
    10,401
    Location:
    Sydney
    No. It's based on the time to lookup the plot in question not the whole bunch you have.

    Try to keep your lookup times for individual plots under 5 seconds.
     
  7. Snoops

    Snoops Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Messages:
    1,985
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Also chia is not like ETH where the miner needs to be "first". All miners finding the same block will be paid the reward (so no uncles). As long as it happens within the required window.

    I was getting disheartened too seeing all the small miners win, but eventually the bigger ones start winning more blocks with the same plots - Just one of those things that takes time to see.
     
    Slug69 likes this.
  8. Jaco

    Jaco Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    465
    Location:
    QLD 4114

    Yeah when proofs are found, the times are usually 0.2s or less each time when monitoring logs
     
  9. OP
    OP
    Slug69

    Slug69 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2002
    Messages:
    10,401
    Location:
    Sydney
    Bram Cohen pushed some tweets today explaining difficulty level with pools. You do have a lower level of difficulty if you have a small amount of plots. It's not linear though and looks to be pretty fair.
     
  10. r3s

    r3s Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,069
    Location:
    logan ( 4133 )
    Got my first 0.01 payout.... hey big spender :p
     
    Slug69 likes this.
  11. darknebula

    darknebula Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,433
    Location:
    Frankston
    from how many plots and which pool?

    I’ve been receiving 1 per day for 3 weeks now with spacepool and my 382 plots
     
  12. r3s

    r3s Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,069
    Location:
    logan ( 4133 )
    Just got to 200 pool plots, adding about 40 a day currently ( still have around 540 plots total, solo mining was a total waste it seems , if i didn't have the server to replot for 0 nvme burnout i probably wouldnt be replotting to pools )

    Server is pumping out around 24 a day on the ramdrive and sas raid
    Gaming rig pumping out around 20~ a day using a combo of nvme's using a 512gb 1 as the main wear drive to save most of the wear on my good 1tb drives.
     
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2021
  13. 303-Acid

    303-Acid Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    2,996
    Location:
    Grantville, Vic
    .01 every second day for me and my 252 plots. If I see any large storage for cheap I might get some and plot more.
     
  14. r3s

    r3s Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,069
    Location:
    logan ( 4133 )
  15. r3s

    r3s Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,069
    Location:
    logan ( 4133 )
    Anyone have any issues with the client?

    I rebooted the pc the other day and now i cant get any plots to load on the plots/farm/pools tab at all, was giving me an error first that it didnt have permission to access a network drive so i deleted that from the config file but just doenst do anything now.

    Edit - copied the DB folder just in case, but uninstalled and reinstalled seemed to fix it.
     
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2021
  16. Jaco

    Jaco Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    465
    Location:
    QLD 4114
    I'm still on the initial client after pools came out, i noticed they're a couple of versions ahead now. I haven't experienced that though (try to leave the machine on unless absolutely necessary)
     
  17. Jaco

    Jaco Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    465
    Location:
    QLD 4114
  18. 303-Acid

    303-Acid Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    2,996
    Location:
    Grantville, Vic
    :eek:

    Hmmm... Where to now!
     
  19. Jaco

    Jaco Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    465
    Location:
    QLD 4114
  20. Jaco

    Jaco Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    465
    Location:
    QLD 4114
    Supposedly the vulnerability was found on their attempts at building their own GUI like Flexpool has done, to avoid the Chia client altogether. I'm attempting to run 'Change Pool' now and it's a bit of a process the client reckons, takes a few block heights to process. Fingers crossed it can pick up all my plots and just keep going

    Maxios getting pretty wrecked on their Discord Chat channel about farmers believing it's an exit scam
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: