Chia Specific

Discussion in 'Blockchain & Cryptocurrency Mining' started by Slug69, Apr 6, 2021.

  1. 151528

    151528 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,243
    Location:
    Vic
    Bit of a de-evolution of the cabinet going on there, the gpu mining setup looks very well thought out compared to the server :lol:
     
  2. r3s

    r3s Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Messages:
    8,126
    Location:
    logan ( 4133 )
    It was a bit noisy when fans ramped up every now and then sitting on the desk next to the couch so i thought i'd have a look, 5 mins later it was plotting in the cabinet :lol:
     
    151528 likes this.
  3. Matthew kane

    Matthew kane Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    3,153
    So has this reached $1000usd per chia coin yet?
     
  4. r3s

    r3s Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Messages:
    8,126
    Location:
    logan ( 4133 )
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2021
  5. OP
    OP
    Slug69

    Slug69 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2002
    Messages:
    10,049
    Location:
    Sydney
    We are all waiting for Elon to eventually give in and announce this is the future Cryptocurrency. Someone is buying this coin in big numbers recently.
     
  6. Jaco

    Jaco Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    373
    Location:
    4114
    Big kick in the pants often seen is the people winning blocks are those that have the smallest setups

    https://maxiopool.io/coins

    Clicking onto each Farmer ID to view their average farm size

    I wonder if it comes down to the overall quantity of plots that system has to check and complete within the 30 second window, as they're so small it can get it done faster

    So does that mean to have a chance at winning a block you need 10x small setups compared to 1x big?
     
  7. OP
    OP
    Slug69

    Slug69 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2002
    Messages:
    10,049
    Location:
    Sydney
    No. It's based on the time to lookup the plot in question not the whole bunch you have.

    Try to keep your lookup times for individual plots under 5 seconds.
     
  8. Snoops

    Snoops Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Messages:
    1,888
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Also chia is not like ETH where the miner needs to be "first". All miners finding the same block will be paid the reward (so no uncles). As long as it happens within the required window.

    I was getting disheartened too seeing all the small miners win, but eventually the bigger ones start winning more blocks with the same plots - Just one of those things that takes time to see.
     
    Slug69 likes this.
  9. Jaco

    Jaco Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    373
    Location:
    4114

    Yeah when proofs are found, the times are usually 0.2s or less each time when monitoring logs
     
  10. OP
    OP
    Slug69

    Slug69 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2002
    Messages:
    10,049
    Location:
    Sydney
    Bram Cohen pushed some tweets today explaining difficulty level with pools. You do have a lower level of difficulty if you have a small amount of plots. It's not linear though and looks to be pretty fair.
     
  11. r3s

    r3s Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Messages:
    8,126
    Location:
    logan ( 4133 )
    Got my first 0.01 payout.... hey big spender :p
     
    Slug69 likes this.
  12. darknebula

    darknebula Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,302
    Location:
    Frankston
    from how many plots and which pool?

    I’ve been receiving 1 per day for 3 weeks now with spacepool and my 382 plots
     
  13. r3s

    r3s Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Messages:
    8,126
    Location:
    logan ( 4133 )
    Just got to 200 pool plots, adding about 40 a day currently ( still have around 540 plots total, solo mining was a total waste it seems , if i didn't have the server to replot for 0 nvme burnout i probably wouldnt be replotting to pools )

    Server is pumping out around 24 a day on the ramdrive and sas raid
    Gaming rig pumping out around 20~ a day using a combo of nvme's using a 512gb 1 as the main wear drive to save most of the wear on my good 1tb drives.
     
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2021
  14. 303-Acid

    303-Acid Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    2,879
    Location:
    Grantville, Vic
    .01 every second day for me and my 252 plots. If I see any large storage for cheap I might get some and plot more.
     
  15. r3s

    r3s Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Messages:
    8,126
    Location:
    logan ( 4133 )
  16. r3s

    r3s Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Messages:
    8,126
    Location:
    logan ( 4133 )
    Anyone have any issues with the client?

    I rebooted the pc the other day and now i cant get any plots to load on the plots/farm/pools tab at all, was giving me an error first that it didnt have permission to access a network drive so i deleted that from the config file but just doenst do anything now.

    Edit - copied the DB folder just in case, but uninstalled and reinstalled seemed to fix it.
     
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2021
  17. Jaco

    Jaco Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    373
    Location:
    4114
    I'm still on the initial client after pools came out, i noticed they're a couple of versions ahead now. I haven't experienced that though (try to leave the machine on unless absolutely necessary)
     
  18. Jaco

    Jaco Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    373
    Location:
    4114
  19. 303-Acid

    303-Acid Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    2,879
    Location:
    Grantville, Vic
    :eek:

    Hmmm... Where to now!
     
  20. Jaco

    Jaco Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    373
    Location:
    4114

Share This Page

Advertisement: