Chinese electrical components

Discussion in 'Electronics & Electrics' started by whatdoesthisdo, Apr 1, 2019.

  1. OP
    OP
    whatdoesthisdo

    whatdoesthisdo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    8,080
    Location:
    Gold Coast

    I talking about AU sellers on amazon.

    I have been looking at these sonoffs, where did you buy yours from, nothing comes up googling Oiktek.
     
  2. Ahux

    Ahux Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2001
    Messages:
    506
    Location:
    Adelaide
    I was talking about 'AU' sellers on Ebay :) TBH, I'm completely sick of ebay for this exact reason. There is no regulation to make sure that a seller listing items as shipping from Australia, are actually in Australia. Instead they 'Express channel' the item to au so you get it in about 10 days but it's deceptive - Especially with things like we are talking about here.

    My Bad - Oikotek. They sell them via ebay but they are genuinely in Australia.

    I took a few mins to make a comparison between the 'import' vs 'approved' version and they are 99% identical. The only real difference is that it has a sticker over the standard sonoff screen printing and an extra sticker on the side that covers an access hole for the GPIO pins (so you can connect external buttons or sensors). I took photos if anyone is interested.
     
  3. kjparker

    kjparker Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    1,387
    Location:
    Sydney
    I'd be interested to see the differences
     
  4. Ahux

    Ahux Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2001
    Messages:
    506
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Here are the pics - The one with soldered header pins is the Oikotek one (added by me), the other is direct from China (Aliexpress)

    Differences that I can see on the china direct unit:
    Silicone between relays and transformer
    Hole is open on side of case for access to i/o
    Resistor close to the 2 big caps is in opposite orientation (electrically irrelevant)
    Transformer is covered with a different coloured tape (probably irrelevant too but could mean it is different in some way but looks the same)

    **I had limited time so I have not yet pulled the boards from the case for pics - I know there is extra solder on the main tracks of the AU unit, possibly not on the China (but my guess is they are the same)

    Also worth noting is the extreme closeness of the PCB mounting screw to the brass 'jumper' - It is less than 1mm in both. That to me would have ruled out these as being compliant but oh well.

    At $40 shipped for one Oikotek Dual R2 vs $13 for one from China when they are identical, it's hard to convince me that it's not safe to use these instead. I have also ordered a couple of 4 way Sonoff devices from Banggood on special for $22 ea!

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  5. OP
    OP
    whatdoesthisdo

    whatdoesthisdo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    8,080
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    So done a little more research into these sonoff's and people are saying that the shouldn't be mains wired but can be used in series with a powerboard or extension cable etc but why? Why wouldn't you just use on of those $15 smart plugs?

    Now back on topic lol. I contact one of these suppliers on Amazon and asked about their claimed AU certification and they provided me some pics

    upload_2019-6-26_20-53-9.png

    upload_2019-6-26_20-53-31.png

    So i ran their company name and the gma number through Global mark but I couldn't find anything. I could be doing it wrong though as it wasn't exactly clear process.

    But I am kinda getting the feeling it's fraudulent?
     
  6. Ahux

    Ahux Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2001
    Messages:
    506
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Most of them are (supposedly) 'certified' but only to fcc/ce. not the au tick (or rcm now)

    the second pic does not show the logo...

    sounds suss - why watermark the cert like that to make it illegible. Nor does it state what products it is approving (like it says it should).
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2019
  7. gdjacobs

    gdjacobs Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,505
    Location:
    MB, Canada
    So, certified for EMI compliance but not for electrical safety.
     
  8. Ahux

    Ahux Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2001
    Messages:
    506
    Location:
    Adelaide
    yes, although as/nzs 4417 is rcm which is technically what you are looking for but I would not trust that cert.
     
  9. gdjacobs

    gdjacobs Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,505
    Location:
    MB, Canada
    Indeed, much like our ICES documents.
    http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/smt-gst.nsf/eng/h_sf06127.html

    Like Australia, we require safety compliance as defined in the CSA C22.2 publications (there are many covering general and specialist applications). Where possible, these are homologated with IEC or other international standards.
     
  10. Ahux

    Ahux Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2001
    Messages:
    506
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Actually, you're not even allowed to do that **technically**.
     
  11. dephilile

    dephilile Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,873
    The only way it is policed is if someone reports them. I have done this a few times. Most people selling equipment are clueless as to their obligations.
     
  12. OP
    OP
    whatdoesthisdo

    whatdoesthisdo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    8,080
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Bought some of these today can you link me to a video guide or help me with the process. The only vid I found was one using a raspberry Pi which I don't own yet, surely there must be another way to do it?
     
  13. Ahux

    Ahux Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2001
    Messages:
    506
    Location:
    Adelaide
    I took pics of the whole process - I was going to add it to the Tasmota Wiki but I have not got to it yet.

    You will need a USB TTL adapter like this to program it **Make sure it is set to 3.3v!!!***

    *** Do not plug device into mains when the case is open!! ***

    3v, Gnd, Rx, Tx need to be connected to the programmer. Then solder a short wire to IO0 and have it so that you can short it to the usb port outer. Hold it on there, plug in the usb serial to your computer and it will be in programming mode - You can now release the ground wire and program it from the PC as per the Wiki instructions.

    [​IMG] [​IMG][​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2019

Share This Page

Advertisement: