Chipsets

Discussion in 'AMD x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by mixsetup, Jun 21, 2015.

  1. mixsetup

    mixsetup Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,604
    Location:
    Wynyard Tasmania
    Okay I have the Asrock fatal1ty 990fx professional motherboard been pretty good has the 990FX/SB950 chipset. Thing is the ddr3 I have http://www.geil.com.tw/products/show/id/425
    can only go to 2133Mhz any higher I get the BSOD. The board has in the bios up to 2400 Mhz.
    So thought I would look for a better board. Seems most new ones have the AMD 970 & SB950 chipset.
    Whats up here you think they would be making boards with the 990FX chipset or a later one if they ever will.
    Or will this make no difference?
    Most boards I have seen say they support 2133mhz ddr3 any boards which support any higher?
     
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2015
  2. General_Cartman

    General_Cartman Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    2,698
    Location:
    The Confedaracah!
    It is possible it's the CPU? Remember it has an integrated memory controller. IIRC Bulldozer only supported DDR3 1600 in a dual channel configuration (assuming you're talking about the system in your sig).
     
  3. OP
    OP
    mixsetup

    mixsetup Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,604
    Location:
    Wynyard Tasmania
    Yeah same system as in sig. Better look at a new CPU then. Thanks
     
  4. newlife

    newlife Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Messages:
    2,153
    Location:
    Adelaide, SA
    To run more than 2133 you need to increase the nb/cpu volts (could be called something else) which can allow 2400+ but that does depend on the cpu and nb/cpu volts which can be run up to 1.4v with ambient cooling

    P.S. I've run 2500mhz with bulldozer and a cheap 760g (am3) board
     
  5. OP
    OP
    mixsetup

    mixsetup Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,604
    Location:
    Wynyard Tasmania

    Thanks I'll have a look at the voltages tomorrow and let you know.
     
  6. neRok

    neRok Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2,349
    Location:
    Perth NOR
    990FX is the best AFAIK. People spending that amount of coin probably go for an intel setup, thus 990FX gear is thin on the ground, and only midrange 970 are typically stocked. Thats my opinion of it.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    mixsetup

    mixsetup Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,604
    Location:
    Wynyard Tasmania
    Had a look and my voltages are all at default.

    Dram 1.650v
    NB 1.145v
    HT 1.180v
    CPU/VDDA 2.56v
    PCIE VDDA 1.81v
     
  8. newlife

    newlife Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Messages:
    2,153
    Location:
    Adelaide, SA
    For AM3+ 990fx is without a doubt the best but I reckon A88X is better because of native USB 3 and PCI-E 3

    Try increasing the NB to around 1.25v and see if it makes a difference

    Also your mems are total overkill for AMD and Intel even :lol:
     
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2015
  9. OP
    OP
    mixsetup

    mixsetup Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,604
    Location:
    Wynyard Tasmania
    Would have to change to an FM2+ for the A88X chipset. Looks like I might have to toss in and change to a new socket then.
    When I bought the memory just went for something higher than 1600. Need 16GB for graphics.

    I'll try increasing the NB as you said.
    Thanks
     
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2015
  10. Nian

    Nian Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    739
    Just to confirm, the newer AMD FX chips will easily go to 2400Mhz.
     
  11. OP
    OP
    mixsetup

    mixsetup Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,604
    Location:
    Wynyard Tasmania
    Thanks for that Like the FX chips didn't really want to go the FM2+ maybe sometime they will make a board which has pcie 3
     
  12. General_Cartman

    General_Cartman Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    2,698
    Location:
    The Confedaracah!
    You'd be better off getting a Piledriver CPU like the FX-8350 as it would shit all over anything on FM2+ as far as raw CPU performance is concerned.
     
  13. munchiies

    munchiies Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    Messages:
    32
    Location:
    Victoria
    I would suggest to keep what you have and dont go to fm2 you would be wasting money on no performance gain unless you go towards the i5/i7, not everything overclocks the same I guess its all luck on the chip and mobo.
     
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2015
  14. OP
    OP
    mixsetup

    mixsetup Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,604
    Location:
    Wynyard Tasmania
    Yeah think I will wait and buy 9590 or whatever is the latest in a few months.
     
  15. newlife

    newlife Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Messages:
    2,153
    Location:
    Adelaide, SA
    Don't get me wrong as I wasn't saying to get fm2+ but that I think it has a better chipset because it's newer. It would be best to keep what you got and if you want more CPU power you could get a 8350 or somethimg
     
  16. munchiies

    munchiies Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    Messages:
    32
    Location:
    Victoria
    Tbh I would suggest the 8350 not the 9590. The 8350 overclock really well close to the 9590 if not the same.
     
  17. General_Cartman

    General_Cartman Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    2,698
    Location:
    The Confedaracah!
    The 9590 is pretty much just a factory overclocked 8350 as the TDP is 220w or something stupid like that.
     
  18. OP
    OP
    mixsetup

    mixsetup Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,604
    Location:
    Wynyard Tasmania
    Yeah I get what your saying I would like it if my board had pcie 3 as my gpu is pcie3
     
  19. OP
    OP
    mixsetup

    mixsetup Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,604
    Location:
    Wynyard Tasmania
    May as well get the 8350 then overclock it. I am rebuilding my water cooling anyway.
     
  20. munchiies

    munchiies Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    Messages:
    32
    Location:
    Victoria
    Yeah thats pretty much it :)

    Yeah im planning on getting the 8350 aswell. Upgrading from 1090t :)
     

Share This Page