Cigarette plug off with it's head!

Discussion in 'Electronics & Electrics' started by manic311, Feb 5, 2009.

  1. manic311

    manic311 (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    570
    Location:
    East Perth
    I have a 12v charger that connects to the car via the cigarette thingo that charges my RC planes, thing is I don't have a car thus can't use it lol.

    Can I cut off the cigarette plug and hook it up to something else so I can use a normal socket?
     
  2. Pugs

    Pugs Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    9,248
    Location:
    Redwood Park, SA
    no casue it is 12V only... try finding power supply from Jaycar and such to power your device from mains power...
     
  3. jamesbond

    jamesbond Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Messages:
    591
    Location:
    Adelaide S.A.
    When I played with RC cars some years ago, I had a similar 12V ciggie plug charger. The measured current draw was over 7 Amps, so I ended up getting a 10 Amp 12 Volt power supply. It wasn't cheap either at around $120.

    You need to work out the current draw from your ciggy lighter plug and then go and buy a 12 Volt power supply with a sufficient Amp rating to power your charger.
     
  4. dohzer

    dohzer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Messages:
    5,450
    Location:
    Melbourne
    What current can computer PSUs supply on the 12V line?
    They'd be much cheaper than $120.
     
  5. isaaus

    isaaus Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,650
    So you got a car charger but not a car???

    Do u see the irony in that??

    Anyhow i used an old Comp PSU for the same thing and its been working flawlessly for few days now :thumbup:
     
  6. Taceo Corpus

    Taceo Corpus Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    3,251
    Location:
    Tokyo
    He got an RC plane charger to be used in a full-size, vroom vroom, drive to work, drop the kids off at school car.
     
  7. dohzer

    dohzer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Messages:
    5,450
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I thought it_inspector meant that manic311 has a charger that works in a car, but no car to use it with, and that is ironic.

    But I still wouldn't call that ironic.
     
  8. isaaus

    isaaus Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,650
    well it was more like a figure of speach
     
  9. OP
    OP
    manic311

    manic311 (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    570
    Location:
    East Perth
    LOL, you guys are funny. I have a few boxes of unused and unopened RC gear and happend to find this charger as I have lost my mains charger :(

    Oh well, guess it's time to switch to LIPOs and a digital RX + TX. :thumbup:
     
  10. LethalCorpse

    LethalCorpse Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Messages:
    3,760
    Location:
    Cambridge, Massachusetts
    Dude, you can use the charger just fine - use a computer PSU like dohzer said.
     
  11. OP
    OP
    manic311

    manic311 (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    570
    Location:
    East Perth
    Are you sure? I don't want to blow another psu and mobo, shit get's expensive :/
     
  12. petercr

    petercr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2002
    Messages:
    4,332
    Location:
    Northern Brisvegas (4504)
    Even a $50 YumCha PSU should be able to handle that sort of load easily...
     
  13. LethalCorpse

    LethalCorpse Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Messages:
    3,760
    Location:
    Cambridge, Massachusetts
    yup, any old psu you've got laying about, or $5 at the markets will do the job. It doesn't need to be attached to a mobo to do it though.
     
  14. Raktor

    Raktor Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Messages:
    92
    I made a molex -> cigarette lighter adapter from parts at Jaycar.

    Ran fine off the PSU, even while the PC was on.
     
  15. OP
    OP
    manic311

    manic311 (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    570
    Location:
    East Perth
    Okay then... keep your eyes on the news, darwin award here I come!
     
  16. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    146,235
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Yes I think try it and see how you go : )

    Err, no, don't.
     
  17. LethalCorpse

    LethalCorpse Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Messages:
    3,760
    Location:
    Cambridge, Massachusetts
    ¿
    Chilled? Why should he not? He's not going to kill himself wiring 12V and gnd to a battery charger.
     
  18. OP
    OP
    manic311

    manic311 (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    570
    Location:
    East Perth
    Are black and red cables universal? If so which is pos and neg?
     
  19. AManEatingDuck

    AManEatingDuck Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    284
    Location:
    Auckland, NZ
    red = 12v
    black = neg

    if you want to use a PSU without a motherboard, connect green wire to a black one on the atx plug. try it with a paperclip and the PSU should turn on when you flick the power switch.
     
  20. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    146,235
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Oh sorry, I thought he may have been hooking it up to mains...heh
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: