Cities: Skylines

Discussion in 'PC Games' started by meDZ, Mar 8, 2015.

  1. G-PhresH

    G-PhresH Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Messages:
    9,462
    Location:
    Sydney NSW
    I was thinking of a way to force me to think outside my usual city planning ways.

    My thought is to not build any straight roads.
    Everything must be curve (unless it MUST be straight).

    I think it will result in an.....interesting looking city :p
     
  2. SupremeMoFo

    SupremeMoFo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    5,008
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Needs more freeway entrances but that's stunning! How do you get the circles so neat?
     
  3. PabloEscobar

    PabloEscobar Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    13,887
    I've tried that a few times, but it takes way to long for my city to settle, If I destroy a cross road so garbage trucks can't reach part of the city, then the garbage builds up, and then when the road is reconnected, A billion garbage trucks roll through that part of the city, causing traffic problems (and lack of garbage service) elsehwere, and my city just never returns to 'normal'.

    http://gfycat.com/ImpracticalDenseIslandcanary

    Is how I've done it.

    Build some in the Asset editor (or download from workshop), and just use them on your map.

    Search for 'modules' to get some pre-made grid layouts also, helps save time.
     
  4. FFC

    FFC Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    4,765
    Location:
    Sydney
    For a newbie getting started in this game, what mods are a necessity?
     
  5. Yerolo

    Yerolo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Messages:
    9,439
    Location:
    Newcastle
    I recommend the auto-demolish and autosave mods. The game is prone to crashes...and if you dont have that one, you will lose alot of progress when it happens (unless you are diligent with your manual saving)

    The auto demolish is nice so you dont have to micromanage the burnt/abandoned buildings (which can pile up)
     
  6. PabloEscobar

    PabloEscobar Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    13,887
    I don't know about anyone else, but I've not had any crashes, and I've left the game running at high speed for extended periods of time.
     
  7. G-PhresH

    G-PhresH Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Messages:
    9,462
    Location:
    Sydney NSW
    My wife has played a number of hours and she has never had a crash.
    Seems alot more stable than SimCity 2014
     
  8. sTeeLzor

    sTeeLzor Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Messages:
    2,431
    I've had like two crashes but when playing with dynamic resolution mod
     
  9. shizmo

    shizmo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    1,500
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Nude citizen mod - removes the blur
     
  10. PabloEscobar

    PabloEscobar Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    13,887
    I'm still on 100% vanilla, It would be interesting to see how many of the crashes are caused by Mods.
     
  11. G-PhresH

    G-PhresH Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Messages:
    9,462
    Location:
    Sydney NSW
    Probably the majority.
    The amount of mods out for this and its only been out for 2 weeks is staggering.

    I would say its suffering from a similar problem to Skyrim. Mods not playing nice together.
     
  12. FiShy

    FiShy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Messages:
    9,682
    I have not had one crash.
    The auto save/auto demo mod is a must and i honestly cant play with out the Unlock all 25 zones mod.
     
  13. sTeeLzor

    sTeeLzor Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Messages:
    2,431
    Ive put a lot of hours in so I wouldnt suggest its crash-buggy.

    Half the mods I just couldnt play without now.
    Auto-Bulldoze
    Auto-Empty
    Tree Paintbrush
    Extended Public Transport UI
    HideUI
    Dynamic Resolution
    Chirpy Exterminator
    Zonable Pedestrian Paths
     
  14. SupremeMoFo

    SupremeMoFo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    5,008
    Location:
    Adelaide
    No crashes here either.

    I find it funny how poorly the city works if you don't change anything. Say if you're working on a new suburb that isn't linked yet to the existing city, the rest of the city has resource issues while the population drops. Then you add the new suburb and the whole city improves.
     
  15. Yerolo

    Yerolo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Messages:
    9,439
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Hmm must be just my system then, I think my gfx card may be on the way out or its overheating. I'm not saying it has crashed alot, maybe once or twice....but I lost lots of progress both times before I decided to install the autosave mod
     
  16. bizarroking

    bizarroking Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    79
    Location:
    melb
    yeap, that's how i make circles too

    you can also use a pre-made roundabout and expand on that
     
  17. Imitation

    Imitation Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,859
    I've not had the game crash while playing it but it crashes every time I quit. Doesn't seem to be a problem though.

    I did leave it running all night though to see what would happen in terms of the city but it had crashed when I woke up.. whatev.
     
  18. whirlybomber

    whirlybomber Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Messages:
    297
    Location:
    Summer Hill
    Just downloaded this yesterday so not many hours into it yet, but I do have one question.

    When you upgrade a road to one-way, how do you determine which direction it is going to send the traffic?
     
  19. cccino

    cccino Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    751
    Right-click and it will flip direction.
     
  20. Iceman

    Iceman Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    6,647
    Location:
    Brisbane (nth), Australia
    What's driving me nuts at the moment is the way the streets connect. Two things:
    I want a *strict* snap to grid /angle. If i lay East West branch streets off a North south arterial, they're parallel as long as I'm laying them touching, as soon as i leave a gap, they might appear parallel until you fill in the gap and find one of the streets are 1 degree off and nothing is square now.
    The second is an extension of that, now i want another arterial to link the unconnected ends of these not quite parallel branches but they don't want to connect, i have to draw it a few squares away from the hanging ends and then do a mass of half unit roads to connect to the second arterial... What??

    Box cities unite!
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: