1. OCAU Merchandise is available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion in this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

ClockTuner for Ryzen (CTR) by 1USMUS

Discussion in 'AMD x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by The Beast, Sep 30, 2020.

  1. SKITZ0_000

    SKITZ0_000 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,554
    Location:
    Tas
    I ran Hydra over my 5950X the other day, was such a breeze and the results were awesome. Takes about 5 hours to do though, but rock solid first go and better results than what I had with CTR.

    This is my OC profile (stress tested), I still need to run a low power profile for daily/always on operation and hotkey this one.

    The CPU still has single thread/partial load boosting beyond this, but overall the boosting is far more responsive and PC is actually noticeably snappier with the multitude of processes that I tend to have active, which is not something I was actually expecting (a perceivable difference on a 16 core CPU).

    I'm tempted to poke 25Mhz into it across the board and jimmy the volts, but only for the round numbers :p.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Aug 6, 2021
    pH@tTm@N likes this.
  2. scruffy1

    scruffy1 Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,024
    Location:
    northern beaches, sydney
    all well and good for 5-series, but us zen2 owners need to go with what's available to us

    i am sure there is room to move on my (100% stress stable) settings, but in truth i am too lazy to "fix" something that is certainly pretty sweet for my needs

    ps. not sure i'd be happy to offer 1.45v as the setting - my peak vcore is a cool 1.375v as recommended by amd

    if i was more courageous i could likely hit 4.7 easily - but why ? e-peen is no longer enough of an incentive for me
     
  3. nai

    nai Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    175
    Location:
    Sydney
    It's not e-peen, it's the consumers' right to get what we are supposed to buy.
     
  4. scruffy1

    scruffy1 Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,024
    Location:
    northern beaches, sydney
    what are we supposed to get ?

    despite a google-fu, the recommend vcore is not patently obvious

    happy for some guidance, but my understanding is that amd actually recommend 1.325 - 1.35v, although i have yet to see that other than on forums; i am not keen to push hard due to supposed degradation

    having seem my ancient 2600k rig lose the ability to top out the imc at 2133, i don't propse to burm my rather happy cpu

    unlike many, i keep the build until it is rather ancient before "upgrade"

    so, whaddya know ? and where does it say so ?
     
  5. SKITZ0_000

    SKITZ0_000 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,554
    Location:
    Tas
    Are you referring to my post? I run a 1.35v game clock, and less all core. The 1.45v is 1 - 4 thread, which is no different to out of the box operation.
     
  6. scruffy1

    scruffy1 Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,024
    Location:
    northern beaches, sydney
    nah, was asking nai what he meant

    if 1.45v is for 1-4 threads, then i probably have room to move, but no obvious place to define this parameter


    hydra isn't for zen2 ttbomk
     
  7. sammy_b0i

    sammy_b0i Laugh it up, fuzzball!

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    4,782
    Location:
    ACT 2905
    Figured I should give this a go... Is this... good?

    DIAGNOSTIC RESULTS
    AMD Ryzen 7 3700X 8-Core Processor
    CPU VID: 1088
    CPU TEL: 1075
    Max temperature: 55°
    Energy efficient: 3.77
    Your CPU is GOLDEN SAMPLE
    Recomended values for overclocking (P1 profile):
    Reference voltage: 1250 mV
    Reference frequency: 4325 MHz
    Recomended values for overclocking (P2 profile):
    Reference voltage: 1350 mV
    Reference frequency: 4475 MHz
    Recomended values for undervolting:
    Reference voltage: 1175 mV
    Reference frequency: 4175 MHz
     
  8. scruffy1

    scruffy1 Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,024
    Location:
    northern beaches, sydney
    late to the party sammy, but not too shabby
    if you didn't do it for starters, leave the computer unused while it does the auto stress testing, or you won't get the best assessment

    this was me :
    DIAGNOSTIC RESULTS

    AMD Ryzen 5 3600 6-Core Processor
    CPU VID: 1036
    CPU TEL: 997
    Max temperature: 64.6°
    Energy efficient: 4.06
    Your CPU is PLATINUM SAMPLE
    Recomended values for overclocking (P1 profile):
    Reference voltage: 1250 mV
    Reference frequency: 4400 MHz
    Recomended values for overclocking (P2 profile):
    Reference voltage: 1350 mV
    Reference frequency: 4550 MHz
    Recomended values for undervolting:
    Reference voltage: 1175 mV
    Reference frequency: 4250 MHz

    even if your cpu isn't as capable as mine proved to be, you will see your required voltages and idle temps drops significantly, and max clocks on the best core(s) peak higher for less volts than default settings

    it's free beer as in free beer

    have fun !

    this is how she runs as default for the last many months

    screenie.jpg
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2021
    sammy_b0i likes this.
  9. sammy_b0i

    sammy_b0i Laugh it up, fuzzball!

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    4,782
    Location:
    ACT 2905
    So I haven't quite figured out the right way to do it. I ran the diagnostic and got that result.

    Then hit the tune button and it seemed to fiddle around with the P1 profile info and landed on 4300mhz. I then manually put the P2 info into the profiles tab and saved them both as per that result.

    Do I also need to have Ryzen Master installed for this to write to, or will those values just take over now without having to do anything else?
     
  10. micsway123

    micsway123 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2020
    Messages:
    1,042
    Location:
    Melbourne
    yup install ryzen master, wouldn't worry about P1/P2 unless you plan to run CTR in the background 24/7 switching between low and high CPU utlisaiton.

    I've used it to get a baseline of where my voltage/all core OC sits (P2) then tune from there.
     
  11. scruffy1

    scruffy1 Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,024
    Location:
    northern beaches, sydney
    as micsway says - you need ryzen master

    i am too lazy to faff for the last several hz of clock, and let it automagically use ctr in the background to do dynamic throttling... works a treat

    there has been the very rare glitch, and when that occurred, a re-install and then inputting the magic parameters i have written here made it all awesome again

    i have little doubt there is headroom to use if i tweak the base voltage and play, but it is so capable versus stock at this level that it is a waste f my energies... i have other tasks to perform (like learning to use the laser cutter / engraver that arrived today :leet: )
     
    micsway123 likes this.
  12. micsway123

    micsway123 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2020
    Messages:
    1,042
    Location:
    Melbourne
    nice, where did you pick up the laser cutter out of curiosity?
     
  13. scruffy1

    scruffy1 Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,024
    Location:
    northern beaches, sydney
    aliexpress (my favourite) : https://www.aliexpress.com/item/1005001986302189.html?spm=a2g0s.9042311.0.0.255a4c4dkK6utr
    even cheaper from 11nov with sales i believe

    20w (nominal, actually ~ 5.5w optical)

    delivered ready to go in 9 days (!) for ~ $286aud on the current exchange rate, but i will probably have to pony us $60us for a lightburn licence to get maximal benefit

    in spite of my lack of any prior experience, i managed to burn this on some plywood as a test
    DSC00277.JPG
    the ultimate aim is formers in plywood and ribs from balsa, for model aeroplanes to fly (mostly gliders)
     
    micsway123 and kogi like this.
  14. joomax

    joomax Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2016
    Messages:
    155
    Location:
    Footscray
    wait, what? this isn't in the ctr guide. I got results basically identical to Sammy's on my 3700X - what do you *need* ryzen master for?
     
  15. scruffy1

    scruffy1 Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,024
    Location:
    northern beaches, sydney
    so it can do its stuff, is my simple understanding

    https://www.guru3d.com/articles-pages/clocktuner-for-ryzen-ctr-guide-download,2.html

    System requirements and preparation for work has a list in that link, but specifically : Ryzen Master 2.3 (uses the driver for monitoring)

    further reading suggests : It uses the AMD Ryzen Master libraries so you need to have that installed and it needs some other prerequisites that you can read below
    per here


    or not per the comments below that video :

    Tom Hayes
    7 months ago (edited)
    YOu do not need to install Ryzen Master in 2.0 CTR as it interferes. Confirmed with 1Usmus himself in Discord.



    FGtech Tips
    7 months ago (edited)
    I tried both with and without Ryzen master and works exactly the same , there is no reference about what you say in the official page on guru3d... Anyway yes the installation of Ryzen master is now optional as I mentioned in the video description

    just uninstalled it and the sdk and working still - maybe we'll see after a reboot :Paranoid:

    edit - nah, all still good - my experiment suggests ryzen master is not necessary
     
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2021
  16. Malakai

    Malakai Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,079
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    It required Ryzen Master previously as that is what it used to set the overclock. Apparently that is no longer the case, as above.
     
    joomax likes this.
  17. micsway123

    micsway123 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2020
    Messages:
    1,042
    Location:
    Melbourne
    5800x undervolt with CTR gave me 4400@1.125v

    keen to hear who this compares to others?
     
  18. scruffy1

    scruffy1 Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,024
    Location:
    northern beaches, sydney
    as above, my vanilla 3600 gives me 4250 @ 1.175v on all 6 cores stressed at 100%

    but much more on single or dual core at peak of 1.375v
     
    micsway123 likes this.
  19. Malakai

    Malakai Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,079
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    5950X @ 1100mv set (1096mv get)
    CCX 0 = 4350Mhz
    CCX 1 = 4125Mhz

    Bronze sample CPU :(
     
  20. scruffy1

    scruffy1 Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,024
    Location:
    northern beaches, sydney
    did you run the test with everything else shut ?
    doing background tasks castrates the run
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: