Clone HDD to SSD (software/duplicator recommend)

Discussion in 'Storage & Backup' started by Rubie, Feb 15, 2019.

1. Rubie

Rubie New Member

Hi guys,
    There is a question that is frequently asked, which is “how to clone hdd to ssd in the easiest way”, specially for those who want to upgrade there old HDD to SSD or those who needs to backup before reinstalling.
    I worked as a new techs, and I often have to copy or replace broken hard drives, and I've used some tools which are useful, so I thought it'll be helpful to share here to help someone who happened to have this kind of problem.
    First, there are different ways, depending what you needs, including backup software which claimed to be used specially for hdd to ssd or hardware like duplicator, so here are some suggestions for you.

About the software
    There are actually more and more companies provide free software online these days, and I have used EaseUs, AOMEI Backupper and Clonezilla(but it's Chinese website:p) for personal use before, because they're free. The pros not just because they're free, but also some of them can do ssd alignment. However, there is one thing you need to noticed before cloning, which is the capacity of the source cannot be bigger than the targets, so it would need another software to resize the source, and some of the software have both these function. Also, there is a problem that probably occurs when you copy the booting and restart hard drive to another, it's probably failed and needs usb to operate.

About hardware device
    There are two options, buying an external drive or buying a hard drive duplicator. I usually used to use a hard drive duplicator in company(BTW, I have used EZ Dupe duplicator, and it performed well so far.), although it might be a traditional way, and needs time to prying hard drives out of computers, but it did have some pros,