Cocoon Create Touch / Aldi printer(s) / Wanhao Duplicator Plus

Discussion in 'Hobby Engineering' started by Mathuisella, May 13, 2017.

  1. Dr1fty

    Dr1fty Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    1,687
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Mine's goin great...

    Printed a different cooler and mounted a 50mm radial fan so it's all out the back and I can actually see the print happening easily.

    I had a 3mm glass bed, which was fine but we got a council clean up going on at the moment so picked up a fishtank and now I have 6mm glass bed. Overkill much I know, but we'll see how it goes.

    As for prints and quality.. Goin great... Printed a plastic clip for a mate which goes on his elec windows in the car to clamp on the glass with silicone etc.. Can't buy just the clip, had to be whole windows assembly so saved him 400 bucks.. (so he's buying a roll of petg for me)

    Running out of things to print that I actually need, but still printing fun things.
     
  2. darth_wolf

    darth_wolf Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,662
    Care to share a link to the cooler?
     
  3. bobfranklin

    bobfranklin Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2003
    Messages:
    766
    Location:
    Bendigo, Victoria
    I'm going to guess it's the CiiCooler that they're using (although the DiiCooler is better but is front mounted).

    https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:2004629

    First mods I made to the CCT:
    - Spool rollers instead of the holder
    - Filament Guide/cleaner (cleans filament of dust etc)
    - Fan shroud & radial fan
    - IR Sensor mount for autolevel mod
    - Peg to hold scraper
    - Mount for PS Eyetoy Camera
    - Bed spring washers

    Think that's about it other than immediately ditching Cura and switching to Repetier Host before recently buying Simplify3D
     
  4. Dr1fty

    Dr1fty Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    1,687
    Location:
    Brisbane

    Similar to the one you linked, but the touch is 24v and it has the wiring box out the back etc too.. So it's slightly different. Same concept tho, can view the extruder clearly from the front and actually see what it's doing.

    Other than that, I have a filament guide, z brace mod and tool holder. I have 6mm glass bed too.. lol

    :)
     
  5. bobfranklin

    bobfranklin Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2003
    Messages:
    766
    Location:
    Bendigo, Victoria
    Yeah it works fine with a 24v (I have a touch and that fan shroud/fan).

    Not worrying bout z brace, but I'll have to use a glass bed if I want to do the IR Sensor mod.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    Mathuisella

    Mathuisella Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Messages:
    4,498
    Location:
    in your gearbox...grindin
  7. Franc

    Franc Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Messages:
    4,581
    Location:
    Melbourne North Sub
    Just picked up another one for $350 (thanks to the facebook group).

    rapt, one for pla and one for abs etc in the shed.
     
  8. OP
    OP
    Mathuisella

    Mathuisella Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Messages:
    4,498
    Location:
    in your gearbox...grindin
    Ohhh, such a slap in the face to those who missed out on getting 1 :p
     
  9. Franc

    Franc Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Messages:
    4,581
    Location:
    Melbourne North Sub
    My apologies.

    That said, in all fairness I queued up for ages beforehand (and one maniac was there from 530am for some reason) and you could have got one for weeks afterward from one of the regional Aldis
     
  10. Dr1fty

    Dr1fty Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    1,687
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I got mine on the day...

    Got an anet a8 for abs in the shed..

    Still work in progress but the cct stays in the lounge room.

    :D
     
  11. echo_

    echo_ Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    Messages:
    38
    Location:
    Cooroy, Qld, Australia
    Do tell what is it like as there is another one on Gumtree!
     
  12. Franc

    Franc Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Messages:
    4,581
    Location:
    Melbourne North Sub
    I have both too.

    The A8 is a very average machine which you can upgrade your way to satisfactory and even very good with enough time and patience.

    Cocoon create touch was great out of the box.
     
  13. Dr1fty

    Dr1fty Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    1,687
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Exactly...

    So I sold the A8 and lost only 15 bucks... Was worth it for the experience in building a printer.. Knowing how stuff works makes it easier to understand when things aren't going to plan.

    :)
     
  14. OP
    OP
    Mathuisella

    Mathuisella Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Messages:
    4,498
    Location:
    in your gearbox...grindin
    Anyone found a certain portion of the build plate on their cocoon create doesn't print well no matter how well you've adjusted it to be flat.

    I'm thinking of moving to a glass bed.
     
  15. Franc

    Franc Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Messages:
    4,581
    Location:
    Melbourne North Sub
    Ill bet your the motor assembly isnt level
     
  16. OP
    OP
    Mathuisella

    Mathuisella Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Messages:
    4,498
    Location:
    in your gearbox...grindin
  17. rainwulf

    rainwulf Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    3,987
    Location:
    bris.qld.aus

    You can 3dprint a better extruder housing. I did one for my replicator 2. Its nearly impossible to screw up up feed now.

    Looks like its the same shape as the replicator 2 as well.

    Here is mine. I even have a small extrusion into the toothed wheel to prevent the filament from going around the wheel, and the wedge shape sits between the extruder bearing.

    [​IMG]
     
  18. OP
    OP
    Mathuisella

    Mathuisella Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Messages:
    4,498
    Location:
    in your gearbox...grindin
    since the initial setup, i have yet to have a filament feeding issue, but thank you :) this may help another with a feeding issue :)

    i tried to print nylon for the first time... didn't go well hahaha.... cries....


    Click to view full size!



    the thermistor needs replacing and possibly the heating element, unsure yet as the printer when it's supposed to be heating up doesn't and just reads 0 degrees. the heating element may be waiting for a signal from the temp sensor as to make sure it's heating appropriately, which would be a nice bit of programming ( safety)

    I picked up one of each today from the Bilby 3D play here in brisbane and we'll see how it goes tonight.
     
  19. akromatic

    akromatic Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Messages:
    430
    i had feed issue when i did flexible TPU. the filament would just roll inside the extruder housing.

    printed a replacement housing, drilled out the feed hole and used a snippet of PTFE tubing to fix it.

    issue was the bottom housing didnt touch the metal extruder plate and the filament found its way into the gap
     
  20. OP
    OP
    Mathuisella

    Mathuisella Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Messages:
    4,498
    Location:
    in your gearbox...grindin
    Printer is back up and running :) Printing nicely :)
     

Share This Page